Eastern vs. Walsh

Deciding between Eastern Kentucky University and Walsh College? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Eastern Kentucky University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Eastern Richmond, KY
  • Walsh Troy, MI
  • Setting
  • Eastern Distant Town
  • Walsh Small City
  • Total enrollment
  • Eastern 15,673
  • Walsh 908
  • Type
  • Eastern Public 4 Year
  • Walsh Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Eastern #886
  • Walsh
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Eastern -
  • Walsh -
  • Status
  • Eastern Non-profit
  • Walsh Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Eastern
  • Walsh
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Eastern $10,320
  • Walsh $0
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Eastern $21,230
  • Walsh $0
  • Room & Board
  • Eastern $12,268
  • Walsh $0
  • Average Net Price
  • Eastern $12,279
  • Walsh -
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Eastern $11,468
  • Walsh $0
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Eastern 98%
  • Walsh 0%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Eastern 17,024
  • Walsh -
  • Admitted
  • Eastern 13,212
  • Walsh -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Eastern 77.6%
  • Walsh
  • Enrolled
  • Eastern 19.9%
  • Walsh
  • Typical SAT score
  • Eastern 980
  • Walsh
  • Typical ACT score
  • Eastern 22
  • Walsh
  • Average High School GPA
  • Eastern 3.39
  • Walsh -
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Eastern B+
  • Walsh -
  • Admissions Standards
  • Eastern Very Easy
  • Walsh Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • Eastern
  • Walsh
  • ACT Range
  • Eastern 19/25
  • Walsh
  • SAT Range
  • Eastern 880/1080
  • Walsh
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Eastern Test optional
  • Walsh Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • Eastern Aug 1, 2027
  • Walsh
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Eastern 17:1
  • Walsh 12:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Eastern
    • Health Professions (16%)
    • Education (16%)
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (14%)
    • Business (9%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (8%)
  • Walsh
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Eastern 38%
  • Walsh -
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Eastern $37,900
  • Walsh $57,800
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Eastern 49%
  • Walsh 65%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Eastern $23,695
  • Walsh $15,832
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Eastern $245
  • Walsh $163
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Eastern 39%
  • Walsh 48%
  • % Women
  • Eastern 61%
  • Walsh 52%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Eastern Very Low
  • Walsh Very Low
  • HBCU
  • Eastern No
  • Walsh No
  • % White
  • Eastern 85%
  • Walsh 83%
  • % Asian
  • Eastern 1%
  • Walsh 3%
  • % Black
  • Eastern 6%
  • Walsh 6%
  • % Hispanic
  • Eastern 2%
  • Walsh 2%
  • % Native American
  • Eastern 0%
  • Walsh 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Eastern 0%
  • Walsh 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Eastern 2%
  • Walsh 1%
  • % International
  • Eastern 2%
  • Walsh 3%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Eastern 1%
  • Walsh 2%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Eastern 91%
  • Walsh -
  • % Out-of-State
  • Eastern 9%
  • Walsh -
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Eastern Yes
  • Walsh No
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Eastern No
  • Walsh
  • Meal Plan
  • Eastern Yes
  • Walsh No
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Eastern No
  • Walsh Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • Eastern No
  • Walsh

Comparable Facts

Compare Eastern Kentucky University in Richmond, KY with Walsh College in Troy, MI on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Eastern Kentucky University is larger than Walsh based on total student enrollment (15,673 students vs. 908 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Eastern Kentucky University is located in Richmond, KY (Distant Town setting); Walsh College is in Troy, MI (Small City setting).
  • Eastern Kentucky University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. Walsh College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Eastern Kentucky University 17:1; Walsh College 12:1.

Eastern vs. Walsh Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Eastern or Walsh? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • In-state tuition differs between Eastern Kentucky University and Walsh ($10,320.00 vs. $0.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition differs between Eastern and Walsh College ($21,230.00 vs. $0.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Eastern Kentucky University than at Walsh College (98% vs. 0%).

Eastern vs. Walsh Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Eastern or Walsh? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Walsh and Eastern.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Eastern Kentucky University 880/1080.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Eastern Kentucky University 19/25.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Eastern - Test optional; Walsh - Not reported.
  • Typical fall application deadline: Eastern Aug 1, 2027.

Eastern vs. Walsh Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Eastern and Walsh? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Graduates from Walsh College earn a median of about $19,900 more per year than Eastern graduates about ten years after starting college ($57,800 vs. $37,900), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Walsh College graduates have a $7,863 lower median loan debt than Eastern graduates ($15,832 vs. $23,695).
  • Among borrowers, Walsh graduates have an estimated $82 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Eastern graduates ($163 vs. $245).
  • More Walsh graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Eastern students, three years after graduation. (65% vs. 49%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.