Divine Word College vs. Washburn University

Deciding between Divine Word College and Washburn University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Divine Word College Epworth, IA
  • Washburn University Topeka, KS
  • Setting
  • Divine Word College Distant Rural
  • Washburn University Midsize City
  • Total enrollment
  • Divine Word College 64
  • Washburn University 6,033
  • Type
  • Divine Word College Private 4 Year
  • Washburn University Public 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Divine Word College
  • Washburn University
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Divine Word College Roman Catholic
  • Washburn University -
  • Status
  • Divine Word College Non-profit
  • Washburn University Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Divine Word College
  • Washburn University
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Divine Word College $15,600
  • Washburn University $9,945
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Divine Word College $15,600
  • Washburn University $20,949
  • Room & Board
  • Divine Word College $4,400
  • Washburn University $11,501
  • Average Net Price
  • Divine Word College $3,083
  • Washburn University $11,488
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Divine Word College $19,417
  • Washburn University $9,781
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Divine Word College 100%
  • Washburn University 95%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Divine Word College -
  • Washburn University -
  • Admitted
  • Divine Word College -
  • Washburn University -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Divine Word College
  • Washburn University
  • Enrolled
  • Divine Word College
  • Washburn University
  • Typical SAT score
  • Divine Word College
  • Washburn University
  • Typical ACT score
  • Divine Word College
  • Washburn University
  • Average High School GPA
  • Divine Word College -
  • Washburn University 3.46
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Divine Word College -
  • Washburn University B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • Divine Word College Unavailable
  • Washburn University Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • Divine Word College
  • Washburn University
  • ACT Range
  • Divine Word College
  • Washburn University
  • SAT Range
  • Divine Word College
  • Washburn University
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Divine Word College Not reported
  • Washburn University Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • Divine Word College Jul 15, 2027
  • Washburn University
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Divine Word College 5:1
  • Washburn University 15:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Divine Word College
    • Philosophy and Religious Studies (60%)
    • Social Sciences (40%)
  • Washburn University
    • Health Professions (38%)
    • Business (18%)
    • Education (6%)
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (6%)
    • Communication (5%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Divine Word College 17%
  • Washburn University 37%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Divine Word College N/A
  • Washburn University $42,300
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Divine Word College -
  • Washburn University 49%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Divine Word College N/A
  • Washburn University $16,900
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Divine Word College N/A
  • Washburn University $174
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Divine Word College 52%
  • Washburn University 35%
  • % Women
  • Divine Word College 48%
  • Washburn University 65%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Divine Word College Medium
  • Washburn University Low
  • HBCU
  • Divine Word College No
  • Washburn University No
  • % White
  • Divine Word College 1%
  • Washburn University 64%
  • % Asian
  • Divine Word College 22%
  • Washburn University 1%
  • % Black
  • Divine Word College 1%
  • Washburn University 6%
  • % Hispanic
  • Divine Word College 8%
  • Washburn University 8%
  • % Native American
  • Divine Word College 0%
  • Washburn University 1%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Divine Word College 0%
  • Washburn University 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Divine Word College 0%
  • Washburn University 4%
  • % International
  • Divine Word College 68%
  • Washburn University 3%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Divine Word College 0%
  • Washburn University 14%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Divine Word College 0%
  • Washburn University 87%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Divine Word College 50%
  • Washburn University 2%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Divine Word College Yes
  • Washburn University Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Divine Word College Yes
  • Washburn University No
  • Meal Plan
  • Divine Word College Yes
  • Washburn University Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Divine Word College No
  • Washburn University Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • Divine Word College No
  • Washburn University No

Comparable Facts

Compare Divine Word College in Epworth, IA with Washburn University in Topeka, KS on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Washburn University is larger than Divine Word College based on total student enrollment (6,033 students vs. 64 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Divine Word College is located in Epworth, IA (Distant Rural setting); Washburn University is in Topeka, KS (Midsize City setting).
  • Divine Word College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Washburn University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Divine Word College 5:1; Washburn University 15:1.

Divine Word College vs. Washburn University Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Divine Word College or Washburn University? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Divine Word College than Washburn University ($3,083 vs. $11,488).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Divine Word College are 61.7% lower than at Washburn University ($4,400 vs. $11,501).
  • Divine Word College is 56.9% more expensive for in-state tuition than Washburn University (about $5,655 more per year; $15,600.00 vs. $9,945.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 34.3% higher at Washburn University than at Divine Word College (about $5,349 more per year; $20,949.00 vs. $15,600.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Divine Word College than at Washburn University (100% vs. 95%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Divine Word College students is 98.5% larger than aid received by Washburn University students ($19,417 vs. $9,781).

Divine Word College vs. Washburn University Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Divine Word College or Washburn University? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Washburn University and Divine Word College.

  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Divine Word College - Not reported; Washburn University - Not reported.
  • Typical fall application deadline: Divine Word College Jul 15, 2027.

Divine Word College vs. Washburn University Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Divine Word College and Washburn University? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Washburn University's six-year graduation rate (37%) is higher than Divine Word College's (17%).

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.