Delaware State University vs. University of Maryland, Baltimore

Deciding between Delaware State University and University of Maryland, Baltimore? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Delaware State University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Delaware State University Dover, DE
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Baltimore, MD
  • Setting
  • Delaware State University Small City
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Large City
  • Total enrollment
  • Delaware State University 5,327
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 6,636
  • Type
  • Delaware State University Public 4 Year
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Public 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Delaware State University #953
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Delaware State University -
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Status
  • Delaware State University Non-profit
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Delaware State University
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Admission Chances
  • Delaware State University My Chances
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore My Chances
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Delaware State University $10,670
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $0
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Delaware State University $20,634
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $0
  • Room & Board
  • Delaware State University $16,664
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $0
  • Average Net Price
  • Delaware State University $13,953
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Delaware State University $13,309
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $0
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Delaware State University 89%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 0%
  • Admissions

  • Admission Chances
  • Delaware State University My Chances
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore My Chances
  • Applied
  • Delaware State University 8,445
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Admitted
  • Delaware State University 3,934
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Delaware State University 46.6%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Enrolled
  • Delaware State University 33.7%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Typical SAT score
  • Delaware State University 910
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Typical ACT score
  • Delaware State University 22
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Average High School GPA
  • Delaware State University 3.09
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Delaware State University B
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Admissions Standards
  • Delaware State University Extremely Easy
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • Delaware State University Low
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • ACT Range
  • Delaware State University 20/24
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • SAT Range
  • Delaware State University 800/1020
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Delaware State University Test optional
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • Delaware State University Feb 1, 2027
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Delaware State University 17:1
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 5:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Delaware State University
    • Business (15%)
    • Psychology (13%)
    • Communication (12%)
    • Social Sciences (10%)
    • Health Professions (10%)
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Delaware State University 35%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Delaware State University $36,600
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $102,900
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Delaware State University 32%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 85%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Delaware State University $28,500
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $15,000
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Delaware State University $294
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $155
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Delaware State University 34%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 28%
  • % Women
  • Delaware State University 66%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 72%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Delaware State University Low
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore High
  • HBCU
  • Delaware State University Yes
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore No
  • % White
  • Delaware State University 11%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 56%
  • % Asian
  • Delaware State University 1%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 13%
  • % Black
  • Delaware State University 75%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 19%
  • % Hispanic
  • Delaware State University 6%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 5%
  • % Native American
  • Delaware State University 0%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Delaware State University 0%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Delaware State University 5%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 3%
  • % International
  • Delaware State University 2%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 2%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Delaware State University 1%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 2%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Delaware State University 49%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • % Out-of-State
  • Delaware State University 46%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Delaware State University Yes
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Delaware State University No
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Meal Plan
  • Delaware State University Yes
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore No
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Delaware State University No
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • Delaware State University No
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Learn More
  • Delaware State University Details
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Details

Comparable Facts

Compare Delaware State University in Dover, DE with University of Maryland, Baltimore in Baltimore, MD on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

University of Maryland, Baltimore is larger than Delaware State University based on total student enrollment (6,636 students vs. 5,327 students).

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Delaware State University is located in Dover, DE (Small City setting); University of Maryland, Baltimore is in Baltimore, MD (Large City setting).
  • Delaware State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. University of Maryland, Baltimore is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Delaware State University 17:1; University of Maryland, Baltimore 5:1.

Delaware State University vs. University of Maryland, Baltimore Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Delaware State University or University of Maryland, Baltimore? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • In-state tuition differs between Delaware State University and University of Maryland, Baltimore ($10,670.00 vs. $0.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition differs between Delaware State University and University of Maryland, Baltimore ($20,634.00 vs. $0.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Delaware State University than at University of Maryland, Baltimore (89% vs. 0%).

Delaware State University vs. University of Maryland, Baltimore Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Delaware State University or University of Maryland, Baltimore? Typical SAT and ACT scores (midpoint estimates from the mid-50% ranges in the table above), enrolled-tester score ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between University of Maryland, Baltimore and Delaware State University.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) among enrolled freshmen who submitted scores: Delaware State University 800/1020.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) among enrolled freshmen who submitted scores: Delaware State University 20/24.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Delaware State University - Test optional; University of Maryland, Baltimore - Not reported.
  • Typical fall application deadline: Delaware State University Feb 1, 2027.

Delaware State University vs. University of Maryland, Baltimore Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Delaware State University and University of Maryland, Baltimore? Where federal data is available for both schools, the bullets below compare graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt using the same College Scorecard / IPEDS fields as the comparison table. If a metric is missing for one school, that school is noted separately.

  • Delaware State University's six-year graduation rate is 35%. Comparable graduation rate data is not available for University of Maryland, Baltimore.
  • Graduates from University of Maryland, Baltimore earn a median of about $66,300 more per year than Delaware State University graduates about ten years after starting college ($102,900 vs. $36,600), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, University of Maryland, Baltimore graduates have a $13,500 lower median loan debt than Delaware State University graduates ($15,000 vs. $28,500).
  • Among borrowers, University of Maryland, Baltimore graduates have an estimated $139 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Delaware State University graduates ($155 vs. $294).
  • More University of Maryland, Baltimore graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Delaware State University students, three years after graduation. (85% vs. 32%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.