DSC vs. AIU Atlanta

Deciding between Dalton State College and American InterContinental University Atlanta? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Dalton State College

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • DSC Dalton, GA
  • AIU Atlanta Atlanta, GA
  • Setting
  • DSC Small City
  • AIU Atlanta Small City
  • Total enrollment
  • DSC 5,135
  • AIU Atlanta 801
  • Type
  • DSC Public 4 Year
  • AIU Atlanta Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • DSC
  • AIU Atlanta
  • Religious Affiliation
  • DSC -
  • AIU Atlanta -
  • Status
  • DSC Non-profit
  • AIU Atlanta For-profit
  • Team Colors
  • DSC
  • AIU Atlanta
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • DSC $3,336
  • AIU Atlanta $13,527
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • DSC $10,656
  • AIU Atlanta $13,527
  • Room & Board
  • DSC $10,419
  • AIU Atlanta $9,044
  • Average Net Price
  • DSC $5,625
  • AIU Atlanta $16,482
  • Average Grant Aid
  • DSC $6,654
  • AIU Atlanta $7,261
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • DSC 92%
  • AIU Atlanta 90%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • DSC -
  • AIU Atlanta -
  • Admitted
  • DSC -
  • AIU Atlanta -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • DSC Open
  • AIU Atlanta
  • Enrolled
  • DSC Open
  • AIU Atlanta
  • Typical SAT score
  • DSC
  • AIU Atlanta
  • Typical ACT score
  • DSC
  • AIU Atlanta
  • Average High School GPA
  • DSC 3.1
  • AIU Atlanta -
  • Typical High School Grades
  • DSC B
  • AIU Atlanta -
  • Admissions Standards
  • DSC Unavailable
  • AIU Atlanta Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • DSC
  • AIU Atlanta
  • ACT Range
  • DSC
  • AIU Atlanta
  • SAT Range
  • DSC
  • AIU Atlanta
  • Submit Test Scores
  • DSC Open admission
  • AIU Atlanta Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • DSC Jul 1, 2027
  • AIU Atlanta
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • DSC 21:1
  • AIU Atlanta 8:1
  • Popular Majors
  • DSC
    • Health Professions (25%)
    • Business (25%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (23%)
    • Education (12%)
    • Engineering Technology (7%)
  • AIU Atlanta
    • Business (67%)
    • Visual and Performing Arts (12%)
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (11%)
    • Communications Technology (7%)
    • Computer and Information Sciences (3%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • DSC 16%
  • AIU Atlanta 16%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • DSC $32,500
  • AIU Atlanta $47,400
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • DSC 42%
  • AIU Atlanta 23%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • DSC $14,887
  • AIU Atlanta $32,981
  • Median Loan Payment
  • DSC $153
  • AIU Atlanta $341
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • DSC 36%
  • AIU Atlanta 30%
  • % Women
  • DSC 64%
  • AIU Atlanta 70%
  • Racial Diversity
  • DSC Medium
  • AIU Atlanta Very Low
  • HBCU
  • DSC No
  • AIU Atlanta No
  • % White
  • DSC 64%
  • AIU Atlanta 4%
  • % Asian
  • DSC 1%
  • AIU Atlanta 1%
  • % Black
  • DSC 4%
  • AIU Atlanta 80%
  • % Hispanic
  • DSC 22%
  • AIU Atlanta 2%
  • % Native American
  • DSC 0%
  • AIU Atlanta 1%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • DSC 0%
  • AIU Atlanta 1%
  • % Two or More Races
  • DSC 1%
  • AIU Atlanta 1%
  • % International
  • DSC 3%
  • AIU Atlanta 0%
  • % Unknown Race
  • DSC 4%
  • AIU Atlanta 11%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • DSC 98%
  • AIU Atlanta 100%
  • % Out-of-State
  • DSC 1%
  • AIU Atlanta 0%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • DSC Yes
  • AIU Atlanta No
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • DSC No
  • AIU Atlanta No
  • Meal Plan
  • DSC Yes
  • AIU Atlanta No
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • DSC Yes
  • AIU Atlanta Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • DSC No
  • AIU Atlanta No

Comparable Facts

Compare Dalton State College in Dalton, GA with American InterContinental University Atlanta in Atlanta, GA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Dalton State College is larger than AIU Atlanta based on total student enrollment (5,135 students vs. 801 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Dalton State College is located in Dalton, GA (Small City setting); American InterContinental University Atlanta is in Atlanta, GA (Small City setting).
  • Dalton State College is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. American InterContinental University Atlanta is a private, for-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Dalton State College 21:1; American InterContinental University Atlanta 8:1.

DSC vs. AIU Atlanta Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, DSC or AIU Atlanta? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Dalton State College than AIU Atlanta ($5,625 vs. $16,482).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at American InterContinental University Atlanta are 13.2% lower than at Dalton State College ($9,044 vs. $10,419).
  • American InterContinental University Atlanta is 305.5% more expensive for in-state tuition than DSC (about $10,191 more per year; $13,527.00 vs. $3,336.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 26.9% higher at AIU Atlanta than at Dalton State College (about $2,871 more per year; $13,527.00 vs. $10,656.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Dalton State College than at American InterContinental University Atlanta (92% vs. 90%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by American InterContinental University Atlanta students is 9.1% larger than aid received by Dalton State College students ($7,261 vs. $6,654).

DSC vs. AIU Atlanta Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, DSC or AIU Atlanta? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between AIU Atlanta and DSC.

  • Dalton State College reports an open admissions policy.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: DSC - Open admission; AIU Atlanta - Not reported.
  • Typical fall application deadline: DSC Jul 1, 2027.

DSC vs. AIU Atlanta Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for DSC and AIU Atlanta? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • The graduation rate at DSC is the same as at American InterContinental University Atlanta (16% vs. 16%).
  • Graduates from American InterContinental University Atlanta earn a median of about $14,900 more per year than DSC graduates about ten years after starting college ($47,400 vs. $32,500), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Dalton State College graduates have a $18,094 lower median loan debt than AIU Atlanta graduates ($14,887 vs. $32,981).
  • Among borrowers, DSC graduates have an estimated $188 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than AIU Atlanta graduates ($153 vs. $341).
  • More DSC graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former AIU Atlanta students, three years after graduation. (42% vs. 23%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.