Columbus State vs. RSU

Deciding between Columbus State University and Rogers State University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Columbus State University
Rogers State University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Columbus State Columbus, GA
  • RSU Claremore, OK
  • Setting
  • Columbus State Midsize City
  • RSU Distant Town
  • Total enrollment
  • Columbus State 7,913
  • RSU 3,272
  • Type
  • Columbus State Public 4 Year
  • RSU Public 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Columbus State #1007
  • RSU
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Columbus State -
  • RSU -
  • Status
  • Columbus State Non-profit
  • RSU Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Columbus State
  • RSU
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Columbus State $5,898
  • RSU $7,750
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Columbus State $17,610
  • RSU $16,410
  • Room & Board
  • Columbus State $11,720
  • RSU $9,882
  • Average Net Price
  • Columbus State $12,420
  • RSU $15,314
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Columbus State $9,003
  • RSU $7,040
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Columbus State 89%
  • RSU 65%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Columbus State 3,648
  • RSU -
  • Admitted
  • Columbus State 3,616
  • RSU -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Columbus State 99.1%
  • RSU
  • Enrolled
  • Columbus State 31.8%
  • RSU
  • Typical SAT score
  • Columbus State 930
  • RSU
  • Typical ACT score
  • Columbus State 19
  • RSU
  • Average High School GPA
  • Columbus State 3.07
  • RSU 3.4
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Columbus State B
  • RSU B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • Columbus State Extremely Easy
  • RSU Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • Columbus State
  • RSU
  • ACT Range
  • Columbus State 16/22
  • RSU
  • SAT Range
  • Columbus State 800/1060
  • RSU
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Columbus State Test optional
  • RSU Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • Columbus State Jun 30, 2027
  • RSU
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Columbus State 16:1
  • RSU 18:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Columbus State
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (24%)
    • Business (19%)
    • Education (14%)
    • Health Professions (14%)
    • English and Literature (4%)
  • RSU
    • Business (30%)
    • Health Professions (17%)
    • Education (9%)
    • Biology (8%)
    • Engineering Technology (6%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Columbus State 31%
  • RSU 23%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Columbus State $37,400
  • RSU $37,300
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Columbus State 37%
  • RSU 46%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Columbus State $26,000
  • RSU $16,150
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Columbus State $268
  • RSU $166
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Columbus State 41%
  • RSU 39%
  • % Women
  • Columbus State 59%
  • RSU 61%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Columbus State High
  • RSU High
  • HBCU
  • Columbus State No
  • RSU No
  • % White
  • Columbus State 51%
  • RSU 58%
  • % Asian
  • Columbus State 2%
  • RSU 1%
  • % Black
  • Columbus State 37%
  • RSU 3%
  • % Hispanic
  • Columbus State 6%
  • RSU 5%
  • % Native American
  • Columbus State 0%
  • RSU 11%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Columbus State 0%
  • RSU 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Columbus State 2%
  • RSU 19%
  • % International
  • Columbus State 1%
  • RSU 2%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Columbus State 0%
  • RSU 0%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Columbus State 92%
  • RSU 89%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Columbus State 7%
  • RSU 3%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Columbus State Yes
  • RSU Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Columbus State No
  • RSU No
  • Meal Plan
  • Columbus State Yes
  • RSU Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Columbus State No
  • RSU No
  • Daycare Facility
  • Columbus State No
  • RSU No

Comparable Facts

Compare Columbus State University in Columbus, GA with Rogers State University in Claremore, OK on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Columbus State University is larger than RSU based on total student enrollment (7,913 students vs. 3,272 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Columbus State University is located in Columbus, GA (Midsize City setting); Rogers State University is in Claremore, OK (Distant Town setting).
  • Columbus State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. Rogers State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Columbus State University 16:1; Rogers State University 18:1.

Columbus State vs. RSU Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Columbus State or RSU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Columbus State University than RSU ($12,420 vs. $15,314).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Rogers State University are 15.7% lower than at Columbus State University ($9,882 vs. $11,720).
  • Rogers State University is 31.4% more expensive for in-state tuition than Columbus State (about $1,852 more per year; $7,750.00 vs. $5,898.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 7.3% higher at Columbus State than at Rogers State University (about $1,200 more per year; $17,610.00 vs. $16,410.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Columbus State University than at Rogers State University (89% vs. 65%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Columbus State University students is 27.9% larger than aid received by Rogers State University students ($9,003 vs. $7,040).

Columbus State vs. RSU Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Columbus State or RSU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between RSU and Columbus State.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Columbus State University 800/1060.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Columbus State University 16/22.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Columbus State - Test optional; RSU - Not reported.
  • Typical fall application deadline: Columbus State Jun 30, 2027.
  • Accepted freshman RSU students have a 0.33 point higher average high school GPA (3.4) than students at Columbus State (3.07).

Columbus State vs. RSU Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Columbus State and RSU? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Columbus State University's six-year graduation rate (31%) is higher than Rogers State University's (23%).
  • Graduates from Columbus State University earn a median of about $100 more per year than RSU graduates about ten years after starting college ($37,400 vs. $37,300), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Rogers State University graduates have a $9,850 lower median loan debt than Columbus State graduates ($16,150 vs. $26,000).
  • Among borrowers, RSU graduates have an estimated $102 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Columbus State graduates ($166 vs. $268).
  • More RSU graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Columbus State students, three years after graduation. (46% vs. 37%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.