CSE vs. SCU
Deciding between Saint Elizabeth University and Southwestern Christian University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Saint Elizabeth University
Southwestern Christian University
-
Overview
- CSE
- SCU
- Location
-
CSE Morristown, NJ
-
SCU Bethany, OK
-
-
- Setting
-
CSE Large Suburban
-
SCU Large Suburban
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
CSE 871
-
SCU 399
-
-
- Type
-
CSE Private 4 Year
-
SCU Private 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
CSE
-
SCU
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
CSE Roman Catholic
-
SCU Pentecostal Holiness Church
-
-
- Status
-
CSE Non-profit
-
SCU Non-profit
-
-
- Team Colors
-
CSE
-
SCU
-
-
-
Cost
- CSE
- SCU
- Tuition (In State)
-
CSE $36,741
-
SCU $21,900
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
CSE $36,741
-
SCU $21,900
-
-
- Room & Board
-
CSE $13,652
-
SCU $10,100
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
CSE $23,437
-
SCU $20,528
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
CSE $29,755
-
SCU $12,784
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
CSE 96%
-
SCU 100%
-
-
-
Admissions
- CSE
- SCU
- Applied
-
CSE 2,216
-
SCU -
-
-
- Admitted
-
CSE 1,574
-
SCU -
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
CSE 71%
-
SCU
-
-
- Enrolled
-
CSE 7.6%
-
SCU
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
CSE
-
SCU
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
CSE
-
SCU
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
CSE 3.12
-
SCU 3.22
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
CSE B
-
SCU B+
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
CSE Unavailable
-
SCU Unavailable
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
CSE Low
-
SCU
-
-
- ACT Range
-
CSE
-
SCU
-
-
- SAT Range
-
CSE
-
SCU
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
CSE Test optional
-
SCU Not reported
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
CSE
-
SCU
-
-
-
Academics
- CSE
- SCU
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
CSE 8:1
-
SCU 13:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
CSE
- Health Professions (30%)
- General Studies (15%)
- Business (11%)
- Education (8%)
- Psychology (7%)
-
SCU
- Human Services (34%)
- Business (27%)
- Philosophy and Religious Studies (16%)
- Liberal Arts and Humanities (10%)
- Theology and Religious Vvocations (9%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- CSE
- SCU
- Graduation Rate
-
CSE 58%
-
SCU 28%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
CSE $45,500
-
SCU $27,400
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
CSE 57%
-
SCU 38%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
CSE $25,000
-
SCU $27,000
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
CSE $258
-
SCU $279
-
-
-
Diversity
- CSE
- SCU
- % Men
-
CSE 35%
-
SCU 61%
-
-
- % Women
-
CSE 65%
-
SCU 39%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
CSE Very High
-
SCU High
-
-
- HBCU
-
CSE No
-
SCU No
-
-
- % White
-
CSE 32%
-
SCU 44%
-
-
- % Asian
-
CSE 3%
-
SCU 1%
-
-
- % Black
-
CSE 28%
-
SCU 25%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
CSE 21%
-
SCU 8%
-
-
- % Native American
-
CSE 0%
-
SCU 4%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
CSE 0%
-
SCU 1%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
CSE 2%
-
SCU 3%
-
-
- % International
-
CSE 3%
-
SCU 10%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
CSE 10%
-
SCU 4%
-
-
-
Students
- CSE
- SCU
- % In-State
-
CSE 90%
-
SCU 72%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
CSE 10%
-
SCU 15%
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Saint Elizabeth University in Morristown, NJ with Southwestern Christian University in Bethany, OK on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Saint Elizabeth University is larger than SCU based on total student enrollment (871 students vs. 399 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Saint Elizabeth University is located in Morristown, NJ (Large Suburban setting); Southwestern Christian University is in Bethany, OK (Large Suburban setting).
- Saint Elizabeth University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Southwestern Christian University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Saint Elizabeth University 8:1; Southwestern Christian University 13:1.
CSE vs. SCU Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, CSE or SCU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Southwestern Christian University than CSE ($20,528 vs. $23,437).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Southwestern Christian University are 26% lower than at Saint Elizabeth University ($10,100 vs. $13,652).
- Saint Elizabeth University is 67.8% more expensive for in-state tuition than SCU (about $14,841 more per year; $36,741.00 vs. $21,900.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 67.8% higher at CSE than at Southwestern Christian University (about $14,841 more per year; $36,741.00 vs. $21,900.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Southwestern Christian University than at Saint Elizabeth University (100% vs. 96%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Saint Elizabeth University students is 132.8% larger than aid received by Southwestern Christian University students ($29,755 vs. $12,784).
CSE vs. SCU Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, CSE or SCU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between SCU and CSE.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: CSE - Test optional; SCU - Not reported.
- Accepted freshman SCU students have a 0.1 point higher average high school GPA (3.22) than students at CSE (3.12).
CSE vs. SCU Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for CSE and SCU? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Saint Elizabeth University's six-year graduation rate (58%) is higher than Southwestern Christian University's (28%).
- Graduates from Saint Elizabeth University earn a median of about $18,100 more per year than SCU graduates about ten years after starting college ($45,500 vs. $27,400), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Saint Elizabeth University graduates have a $2,000 lower median loan debt than SCU graduates ($25,000 vs. $27,000).
- Among borrowers, CSE graduates have an estimated $21 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than SCU graduates ($258 vs. $279).
- More CSE graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former SCU students, three years after graduation. (57% vs. 38%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.