CCS vs. SCU

Deciding between College for Creative Studies and Southwestern Christian University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

College for Creative Studies

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • CCS Detroit, MI
  • SCU Bethany, OK
  • Setting
  • CCS Large City
  • SCU Large Suburban
  • Total enrollment
  • CCS 1,433
  • SCU 399
  • Type
  • CCS Private 4 Year
  • SCU Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • CCS
  • SCU
  • Religious Affiliation
  • CCS -
  • SCU Pentecostal Holiness Church
  • Status
  • CCS Non-profit
  • SCU Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • CCS
  • SCU
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • CCS $53,350
  • SCU $21,900
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • CCS $53,350
  • SCU $21,900
  • Room & Board
  • CCS $15,272
  • SCU $10,100
  • Average Net Price
  • CCS $36,055
  • SCU $20,528
  • Average Grant Aid
  • CCS $30,108
  • SCU $12,784
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • CCS 98%
  • SCU 100%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • CCS 1,079
  • SCU -
  • Admitted
  • CCS 992
  • SCU -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • CCS 91.9%
  • SCU
  • Enrolled
  • CCS 24.9%
  • SCU
  • Typical SAT score
  • CCS
  • SCU
  • Typical ACT score
  • CCS
  • SCU
  • Average High School GPA
  • CCS 3.19
  • SCU 3.22
  • Typical High School Grades
  • CCS B+
  • SCU B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • CCS Unavailable
  • SCU Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • CCS
  • SCU
  • ACT Range
  • CCS
  • SCU
  • SAT Range
  • CCS
  • SCU
  • Submit Test Scores
  • CCS Test-free
  • SCU Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • CCS
  • SCU
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • CCS 10:1
  • SCU 13:1
  • Popular Majors
  • CCS
    • Visual and Performing Arts (87%)
    • Communications Technology (13%)
  • SCU
    • Human Services (34%)
    • Business (27%)
    • Philosophy and Religious Studies (16%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (10%)
    • Theology and Religious Vvocations (9%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • CCS 57%
  • SCU 28%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • CCS $46,100
  • SCU $27,400
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • CCS 60%
  • SCU 38%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • CCS $27,000
  • SCU $27,000
  • Median Loan Payment
  • CCS $279
  • SCU $279
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • CCS 34%
  • SCU 61%
  • % Women
  • CCS 66%
  • SCU 39%
  • Racial Diversity
  • CCS Medium
  • SCU High
  • HBCU
  • CCS No
  • SCU No
  • % White
  • CCS 58%
  • SCU 44%
  • % Asian
  • CCS 4%
  • SCU 1%
  • % Black
  • CCS 10%
  • SCU 25%
  • % Hispanic
  • CCS 4%
  • SCU 8%
  • % Native American
  • CCS 0%
  • SCU 4%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • CCS 0%
  • SCU 1%
  • % Two or More Races
  • CCS 4%
  • SCU 3%
  • % International
  • CCS 7%
  • SCU 10%
  • % Unknown Race
  • CCS 11%
  • SCU 4%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • CCS 78%
  • SCU 72%
  • % Out-of-State
  • CCS 19%
  • SCU 15%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • CCS Yes
  • SCU Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • CCS No
  • SCU No
  • Meal Plan
  • CCS Yes
  • SCU Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • CCS No
  • SCU Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • CCS No
  • SCU No

Comparable Facts

Compare College for Creative Studies in Detroit, MI with Southwestern Christian University in Bethany, OK on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

College for Creative Studies is larger than SCU based on total student enrollment (1,433 students vs. 399 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • College for Creative Studies is located in Detroit, MI (Large City setting); Southwestern Christian University is in Bethany, OK (Large Suburban setting).
  • College for Creative Studies is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Southwestern Christian University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: College for Creative Studies 10:1; Southwestern Christian University 13:1.

CCS vs. SCU Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, CCS or SCU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Southwestern Christian University than CCS ($20,528 vs. $36,055).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Southwestern Christian University are 33.9% lower than at College for Creative Studies ($10,100 vs. $15,272).
  • College for Creative Studies is 143.6% more expensive for in-state tuition than SCU (about $31,450 more per year; $53,350.00 vs. $21,900.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 143.6% higher at CCS than at Southwestern Christian University (about $31,450 more per year; $53,350.00 vs. $21,900.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Southwestern Christian University than at College for Creative Studies (100% vs. 98%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by College for Creative Studies students is 135.5% larger than aid received by Southwestern Christian University students ($30,108 vs. $12,784).

CCS vs. SCU Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, CCS or SCU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between SCU and CCS.

  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: CCS - Test-free; SCU - Not reported.
  • Accepted freshman SCU students have a 0.03 point higher average high school GPA (3.22) than students at CCS (3.19).

CCS vs. SCU Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for CCS and SCU? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • College for Creative Studies's six-year graduation rate (57%) is higher than Southwestern Christian University's (28%).
  • Graduates from College for Creative Studies earn a median of about $18,700 more per year than SCU graduates about ten years after starting college ($46,100 vs. $27,400), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Southwestern Christian University and CCS graduates have the same median loan debt ($27,000 vs. $27,000).
  • Among borrowers in the federal data, Southwestern Christian University and CCS graduates have the same median monthly federal student loan payment ($279 vs. $279).
  • More CCS graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former SCU students, three years after graduation. (60% vs. 38%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.