Cogswell College vs. AULA

Deciding between University of Silicon Valley and Antioch University Los Angeles? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Cogswell College San Jose, CA
  • AULA Culver City, CA
  • Setting
  • Cogswell College Rural Fringe
  • AULA Large Suburban
  • Total enrollment
  • Cogswell College 477
  • AULA 910
  • Type
  • Cogswell College Private 4 Year
  • AULA Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Cogswell College
  • AULA
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Cogswell College -
  • AULA -
  • Status
  • Cogswell College For-profit
  • AULA Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Cogswell College
  • AULA
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Cogswell College $22,480
  • AULA $0
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Cogswell College $22,480
  • AULA $0
  • Room & Board
  • Cogswell College $19,926
  • AULA $0
  • Average Net Price
  • Cogswell College $31,594
  • AULA -
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Cogswell College $6,293
  • AULA $0
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Cogswell College 85%
  • AULA 0%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Cogswell College 340
  • AULA -
  • Admitted
  • Cogswell College 174
  • AULA -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Cogswell College 51.2%
  • AULA
  • Enrolled
  • Cogswell College 42%
  • AULA
  • Typical SAT score
  • Cogswell College
  • AULA
  • Typical ACT score
  • Cogswell College
  • AULA
  • Average High School GPA
  • Cogswell College 2.77
  • AULA -
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Cogswell College B-
  • AULA -
  • Admissions Standards
  • Cogswell College Unavailable
  • AULA Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • Cogswell College Low
  • AULA
  • ACT Range
  • Cogswell College
  • AULA
  • SAT Range
  • Cogswell College
  • AULA
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Cogswell College Test-free
  • AULA Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • Cogswell College
  • AULA
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Cogswell College 13:1
  • AULA 3:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Cogswell College
    • Communications Technology (43%)
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (34%)
    • Visual and Performing Arts (15%)
    • Engineering (9%)
  • AULA
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Cogswell College 43%
  • AULA -
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Cogswell College $68,800
  • AULA $39,000
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Cogswell College 60%
  • AULA 50%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Cogswell College $31,163
  • AULA $28,375
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Cogswell College $322
  • AULA $293
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Cogswell College 70%
  • AULA 33%
  • % Women
  • Cogswell College 30%
  • AULA 67%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Cogswell College Very High
  • AULA High
  • HBCU
  • Cogswell College No
  • AULA No
  • % White
  • Cogswell College 42%
  • AULA 45%
  • % Asian
  • Cogswell College 16%
  • AULA 2%
  • % Black
  • Cogswell College 5%
  • AULA 14%
  • % Hispanic
  • Cogswell College 18%
  • AULA 19%
  • % Native American
  • Cogswell College 1%
  • AULA 2%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Cogswell College 2%
  • AULA 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Cogswell College 9%
  • AULA 5%
  • % International
  • Cogswell College 0%
  • AULA 0%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Cogswell College 7%
  • AULA 13%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Cogswell College 89%
  • AULA -
  • % Out-of-State
  • Cogswell College 11%
  • AULA -
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Cogswell College Yes
  • AULA No
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Cogswell College No
  • AULA
  • Meal Plan
  • Cogswell College No
  • AULA No
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Cogswell College No
  • AULA Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • Cogswell College No
  • AULA

Comparable Facts

Compare University of Silicon Valley in San Jose, CA with Antioch University Los Angeles in Culver City, CA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Antioch University Los Angeles is larger than Cogswell College based on total student enrollment (910 students vs. 477 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • University of Silicon Valley is located in San Jose, CA (Rural Fringe setting); Antioch University Los Angeles is in Culver City, CA (Large Suburban setting).
  • University of Silicon Valley is a private, for-profit 4-year institution. Antioch University Los Angeles is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: University of Silicon Valley 13:1; Antioch University Los Angeles 3:1.

Cogswell College vs. AULA Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Cogswell College or AULA? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • In-state tuition differs between University of Silicon Valley and AULA ($22,480.00 vs. $0.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition differs between Cogswell College and Antioch University Los Angeles ($22,480.00 vs. $0.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at University of Silicon Valley than at Antioch University Los Angeles (85% vs. 0%).

Cogswell College vs. AULA Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Cogswell College or AULA? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between AULA and Cogswell College.

  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Cogswell College - Test-free; AULA - Not reported.

Cogswell College vs. AULA Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Cogswell College and AULA? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Graduates from University of Silicon Valley earn a median of about $29,800 more per year than AULA graduates about ten years after starting college ($68,800 vs. $39,000), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Antioch University Los Angeles graduates have a $2,788 lower median loan debt than Cogswell College graduates ($28,375 vs. $31,163).
  • Among borrowers, AULA graduates have an estimated $29 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Cogswell College graduates ($293 vs. $322).
  • More Cogswell College graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former AULA students, three years after graduation. (60% vs. 50%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.