Chowan University vs. Geneva College
Deciding between Chowan University and Geneva College? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Chowan University
Geneva College
-
Overview
- Chowan University
- Geneva College
- Location
-
Chowan University Murfreesboro, NC
-
Geneva College Beaver Falls, PA
-
-
- Setting
-
Chowan University Remote Town
-
Geneva College Large Suburban
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Chowan University 675
-
Geneva College 1,366
-
-
- Type
-
Chowan University Private 4 Year
-
Geneva College Private 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
Chowan University
-
Geneva College
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
Chowan University Southern Baptist
-
Geneva College Reformed Presbyterian Church
-
-
- Status
-
Chowan University Non-profit
-
Geneva College Non-profit
-
-
- Website
-
Chowan University chowan.edu
-
Geneva College geneva.edu
-
-
- Team Colors
-
Chowan University
-
Geneva College
-
-
-
Cost
- Chowan University
- Geneva College
- Tuition (In State)
-
Chowan University $27,910
-
Geneva College $33,450
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
Chowan University $27,910
-
Geneva College $33,450
-
-
- Room & Board
-
Chowan University $10,734
-
Geneva College $11,330
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
Chowan University $15,206
-
Geneva College $23,528
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
Chowan University $23,831
-
Geneva College $21,913
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
Chowan University 100%
-
Geneva College 97%
-
-
-
Admissions
- Chowan University
- Geneva College
- Applied
-
Chowan University 2,124
-
Geneva College -
-
-
- Admitted
-
Chowan University 1,461
-
Geneva College -
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
Chowan University 68.8%
-
Geneva College
-
-
- Enrolled
-
Chowan University 12.3%
-
Geneva College
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Chowan University 1010
-
Geneva College
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Chowan University
-
Geneva College
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
Chowan University 2.89
-
Geneva College 3.64
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
Chowan University B
-
Geneva College A-
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
Chowan University Extremely Easy
-
Geneva College Unavailable
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
Chowan University Low
-
Geneva College
-
-
- ACT Range
-
Chowan University
-
Geneva College
-
-
- SAT Range
-
Chowan University 880/1145
-
Geneva College
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
Chowan University Test-free
-
Geneva College Not reported
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
Chowan University
-
Geneva College
-
-
-
Academics
- Chowan University
- Geneva College
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
Chowan University 15:1
-
Geneva College 15:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
Chowan University
- Psychology (13%)
- Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (12%)
- Biology (11%)
- Business (11%)
- Education (10%)
-
Geneva College
- Business (27%)
- Theology and Religious Vvocations (16%)
- Human Services (12%)
- Education (9%)
- Engineering (8%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Chowan University
- Geneva College
- Graduation Rate
-
Chowan University 30%
-
Geneva College 68%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
Chowan University $34,600
-
Geneva College $43,600
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
Chowan University 32%
-
Geneva College 70%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
Chowan University $35,150
-
Geneva College $25,250
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
Chowan University $363
-
Geneva College $261
-
-
-
Diversity
- Chowan University
- Geneva College
- % Men
-
Chowan University 57%
-
Geneva College 51%
-
-
- % Women
-
Chowan University 43%
-
Geneva College 49%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
Chowan University Medium
-
Geneva College Very Low
-
-
- HBCU
-
Chowan University No
-
Geneva College No
-
-
- % White
-
Chowan University 17%
-
Geneva College 84%
-
-
- % Asian
-
Chowan University 0%
-
Geneva College 0%
-
-
- % Black
-
Chowan University 71%
-
Geneva College 9%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
Chowan University 4%
-
Geneva College 1%
-
-
- % Native American
-
Chowan University 0%
-
Geneva College 0%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
Chowan University 0%
-
Geneva College 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
Chowan University 5%
-
Geneva College 3%
-
-
- % International
-
Chowan University 2%
-
Geneva College 1%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
Chowan University 1%
-
Geneva College 2%
-
-
-
Students
- Chowan University
- Geneva College
- % In-State
-
Chowan University 44%
-
Geneva College 70%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
Chowan University 49%
-
Geneva College 28%
-
-
-
Campus
- Chowan University
- Geneva College
- Campus Housing
-
Chowan University Yes
-
Geneva College Yes
-
-
- Freshman Dorm Required
-
Chowan University No
-
Geneva College No
-
-
- Meal Plan
-
Chowan University Yes
-
Geneva College Yes
-
-
- Weekend/Evening Classes
-
Chowan University Yes
-
Geneva College No
-
-
- Daycare Facility
-
Chowan University No
-
Geneva College No
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Chowan University in Murfreesboro, NC with Geneva College in Beaver Falls, PA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Geneva College is larger than Chowan University based on total student enrollment (1,366 students vs. 675 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Chowan University is located in Murfreesboro, NC (Remote Town setting); Geneva College is in Beaver Falls, PA (Large Suburban setting).
- Chowan University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Geneva College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Chowan University 15:1; Geneva College 15:1.
Chowan University vs. Geneva College Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, Chowan University or Geneva College? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Chowan University than Geneva College ($15,206 vs. $23,528).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Chowan University are 5.3% lower than at Geneva College ($10,734 vs. $11,330).
- Geneva College is 19.8% more expensive for in-state tuition than Chowan University (about $5,540 more per year; $33,450.00 vs. $27,910.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 19.8% higher at Geneva College than at Chowan University (about $5,540 more per year; $33,450.00 vs. $27,910.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Chowan University than at Geneva College (100% vs. 97%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Chowan University students is 8.8% larger than aid received by Geneva College students ($23,831 vs. $21,913).
Chowan University vs. Geneva College Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, Chowan University or Geneva College? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Geneva College and Chowan University.
- Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Chowan University 880/1145.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Chowan University - Test-free; Geneva College - Not reported.
- Accepted freshman Geneva College students have a 0.75 point higher average high school GPA (3.64) than students at Chowan University (2.89).
Chowan University vs. Geneva College Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for Chowan University and Geneva College? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Geneva College's six-year graduation rate (68%) is higher than Chowan University's (30%).
- Graduates from Geneva College earn a median of about $9,000 more per year than Chowan University graduates about ten years after starting college ($43,600 vs. $34,600), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Geneva College graduates have a $9,900 lower median loan debt than Chowan University graduates ($25,250 vs. $35,150).
- Among borrowers, Geneva College graduates have an estimated $102 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Chowan University graduates ($261 vs. $363).
- More Geneva College graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Chowan University students, three years after graduation. (70% vs. 32%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.