CDU vs. Lane College

Deciding between Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science and Lane College? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Lane College

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • CDU Los Angeles, CA
  • Lane College Jackson, TN
  • Setting
  • CDU Large Suburban
  • Lane College Small City
  • Total enrollment
  • CDU 852
  • Lane College 738
  • Type
  • CDU Private 4 Year
  • Lane College Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • CDU
  • Lane College
  • Religious Affiliation
  • CDU -
  • Lane College Christian Methodist Episcopal
  • Status
  • CDU Non-profit
  • Lane College Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • CDU
  • Lane College
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • CDU $23,000
  • Lane College $11,790
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • CDU $23,000
  • Lane College $11,790
  • Room & Board
  • CDU $33,090
  • Lane College $7,610
  • Average Net Price
  • CDU $35,558
  • Lane College $11,803
  • Average Grant Aid
  • CDU $4,276
  • Lane College $11,689
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • CDU 100%
  • Lane College 88%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • CDU 808
  • Lane College -
  • Admitted
  • CDU 313
  • Lane College -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • CDU 38.7% Open
  • Lane College
  • Enrolled
  • CDU 3.5% Open
  • Lane College
  • Typical SAT score
  • CDU
  • Lane College
  • Typical ACT score
  • CDU
  • Lane College
  • Average High School GPA
  • CDU 3.26
  • Lane College 2.57
  • Typical High School Grades
  • CDU B+
  • Lane College B-
  • Admissions Standards
  • CDU Unavailable
  • Lane College Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • CDU High
  • Lane College
  • ACT Range
  • CDU
  • Lane College
  • SAT Range
  • CDU
  • Lane College
  • Submit Test Scores
  • CDU Open admission
  • Lane College Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • CDU Jul 30, 2027
  • Lane College Aug 21, 2027
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • CDU 4:1
  • Lane College 15:1
  • Popular Majors
  • CDU
    • Health Professions (100%)
  • Lane College
    • Business (18%)
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (17%)
    • Social Sciences (17%)
    • Biology (14%)
    • Education (9%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • CDU -
  • Lane College 34%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • CDU $70,900
  • Lane College $25,000
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • CDU 56%
  • Lane College 12%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • CDU $21,319
  • Lane College $36,464
  • Median Loan Payment
  • CDU $220
  • Lane College $377
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • CDU 31%
  • Lane College 55%
  • % Women
  • CDU 69%
  • Lane College 45%
  • Racial Diversity
  • CDU Very High
  • Lane College Extremely Low
  • HBCU
  • CDU No
  • Lane College Yes
  • % White
  • CDU 9%
  • Lane College 1%
  • % Asian
  • CDU 9%
  • Lane College 0%
  • % Black
  • CDU 39%
  • Lane College 97%
  • % Hispanic
  • CDU 13%
  • Lane College 0%
  • % Native American
  • CDU 0%
  • Lane College 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • CDU 1%
  • Lane College 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • CDU 25%
  • Lane College 1%
  • % International
  • CDU 0%
  • Lane College 0%
  • % Unknown Race
  • CDU 4%
  • Lane College 0%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • CDU 100%
  • Lane College 58%
  • % Out-of-State
  • CDU 0%
  • Lane College 40%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • CDU No
  • Lane College Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • CDU No
  • Lane College No
  • Meal Plan
  • CDU No
  • Lane College Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • CDU Yes
  • Lane College Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • CDU No
  • Lane College No

Comparable Facts

Compare Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science in Los Angeles, CA with Lane College in Jackson, TN on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science is larger than Lane College based on total student enrollment (852 students vs. 738 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science is located in Los Angeles, CA (Large Suburban setting); Lane College is in Jackson, TN (Small City setting).
  • Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Lane College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science 4:1; Lane College 15:1.

CDU vs. Lane College Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, CDU or Lane College? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Lane College than CDU ($11,803 vs. $35,558).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Lane College are 77% lower than at Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science ($7,610 vs. $33,090).
  • Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science is 95.1% more expensive for in-state tuition than Lane College (about $11,210 more per year; $23,000.00 vs. $11,790.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 95.1% higher at CDU than at Lane College (about $11,210 more per year; $23,000.00 vs. $11,790.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science than at Lane College (100% vs. 88%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Lane College students is 173.4% larger than aid received by Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science students ($11,689 vs. $4,276).

CDU vs. Lane College Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, CDU or Lane College? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Lane College and CDU.

  • Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science reports an open admissions policy.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: CDU - Open admission; Lane College - Not reported.
  • Typical fall application deadline: CDU Jul 30, 2027; Lane College Aug 21, 2027.
  • Accepted freshman CDU students have a 0.69 point higher average high school GPA (3.26) than students at Lane College (2.57).

CDU vs. Lane College Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for CDU and Lane College? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Graduates from Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science earn a median of about $45,900 more per year than Lane College graduates about ten years after starting college ($70,900 vs. $25,000), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science graduates have a $15,145 lower median loan debt than Lane College graduates ($21,319 vs. $36,464).
  • Among borrowers, CDU graduates have an estimated $157 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Lane College graduates ($220 vs. $377).
  • More CDU graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Lane College students, three years after graduation. (56% vs. 12%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.