Central College vs. Palmer College of Chiropractic

Deciding between Central College and Palmer College of Chiropractic? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Central College

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Central College Pella, IA
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic Davenport, IA
  • Setting
  • Central College Distant Town
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic Small City
  • Total enrollment
  • Central College 1,084
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic 2,161
  • Type
  • Central College Private 4 Year
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Central College #506
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Central College Reformed Church in America
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic -
  • Status
  • Central College Non-profit
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Central College
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Central College $20,988
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic $9,120
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Central College $20,988
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic $9,120
  • Room & Board
  • Central College $12,060
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic $8,744
  • Average Net Price
  • Central College $23,848
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic -
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Central College $13,925
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic $0
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Central College 100%
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic 0%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Central College 1,706
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic -
  • Admitted
  • Central College 1,470
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Central College 86.2%
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic
  • Enrolled
  • Central College 21%
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic
  • Typical SAT score
  • Central College 1090
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic
  • Typical ACT score
  • Central College 23
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic
  • Average High School GPA
  • Central College 3.52
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic -
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Central College A-
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic -
  • Admissions Standards
  • Central College Easy
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • Central College
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic
  • ACT Range
  • Central College 20/26
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic
  • SAT Range
  • Central College 1056/1120
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Central College Test optional
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • Central College
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Central College 11:1
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic 9:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Central College
    • Business (17%)
    • Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (13%)
    • Social Sciences (12%)
    • Biology (8%)
    • Foreign Languages (7%)
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic
    • General Studies (90%)
    • Health Professions (10%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Central College 63%
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic 93%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Central College $48,000
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic $50,000
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Central College 78%
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic 38%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Central College $27,000
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic $7,500
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Central College $279
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic $77
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Central College 55%
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic 54%
  • % Women
  • Central College 45%
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic 46%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Central College Very Low
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic Low
  • HBCU
  • Central College No
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic No
  • % White
  • Central College 87%
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic 78%
  • % Asian
  • Central College 1%
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic 9%
  • % Black
  • Central College 2%
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic 3%
  • % Hispanic
  • Central College 4%
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic 6%
  • % Native American
  • Central College 0%
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Central College 0%
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Central College 1%
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic 0%
  • % International
  • Central College 0%
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic 0%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Central College 3%
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic 3%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Central College 75%
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic -
  • % Out-of-State
  • Central College 25%
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic -
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Central College Yes
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Central College No
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic No
  • Meal Plan
  • Central College Yes
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic No
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Central College No
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic No
  • Daycare Facility
  • Central College No
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic No
  • Learn More
  • Central College Details
  • Palmer College of Chiropractic Details

Comparable Facts

Compare Central College in Pella, IA with Palmer College of Chiropractic in Davenport, IA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Palmer College of Chiropractic is larger than Central College based on total student enrollment (2,161 students vs. 1,084 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Central College is located in Pella, IA (Distant Town setting); Palmer College of Chiropractic is in Davenport, IA (Small City setting).
  • Central College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Palmer College of Chiropractic is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Central College 11:1; Palmer College of Chiropractic 9:1.

Central College vs. Palmer College of Chiropractic Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Central College or Palmer College of Chiropractic? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Palmer College of Chiropractic are 27.5% lower than at Central College ($8,744 vs. $12,060).
  • Central College is 130.1% more expensive for in-state tuition than Palmer College of Chiropractic (about $11,868 more per year; $20,988.00 vs. $9,120.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 130.1% higher at Central College than at Palmer College of Chiropractic (about $11,868 more per year; $20,988.00 vs. $9,120.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Central College than at Palmer College of Chiropractic (100% vs. 0%).

Central College vs. Palmer College of Chiropractic Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Central College or Palmer College of Chiropractic? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Palmer College of Chiropractic and Central College.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Central College 1056/1120.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Central College 20/26.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Central College - Test optional; Palmer College of Chiropractic - Not reported.

Central College vs. Palmer College of Chiropractic Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Central College and Palmer College of Chiropractic? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Palmer College of Chiropractic's six-year graduation rate (93%) is higher than Central College's (63%).
  • Graduates from Palmer College of Chiropractic earn a median of about $2,000 more per year than Central College graduates about ten years after starting college ($50,000 vs. $48,000), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Palmer College of Chiropractic graduates have a $19,500 lower median loan debt than Central College graduates ($7,500 vs. $27,000).
  • Among borrowers, Palmer College of Chiropractic graduates have an estimated $202 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Central College graduates ($77 vs. $279).
  • More Central College graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Palmer College of Chiropractic students, three years after graduation. (78% vs. 38%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.