Central College vs. Northwestern Health Sciences University
Deciding between Central College and Northwestern Health Sciences University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Central College
Northwestern Health Sciences University
-
Overview
- Central College
- Northwestern Health Sciences University
- Location
-
Central College Pella, IA
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University Bloomington, MN
-
-
- Setting
-
Central College Distant Town
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University Small City
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Central College 1,084
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University 1,101
-
-
- Type
-
Central College Private 4 Year
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University Private 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
Central College #506
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
Central College Reformed Church in America
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University -
-
-
- Status
-
Central College Non-profit
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University Non-profit
-
-
- Website
-
Central College central.edu
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University nwhealth.edu
-
-
- Team Colors
-
Central College
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University
-
-
-
Cost
- Central College
- Northwestern Health Sciences University
- Tuition (In State)
-
Central College $20,988
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University $12,015
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
Central College $20,988
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University $12,015
-
-
- Room & Board
-
Central College $12,060
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University $14,962
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
Central College $23,848
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University $36,272
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
Central College $13,925
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University $3,591
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
Central College 100%
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University 50%
-
-
-
Admissions
- Central College
- Northwestern Health Sciences University
- Applied
-
Central College 1,706
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University -
-
-
- Admitted
-
Central College 1,470
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University -
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
Central College 86.2%
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University
-
-
- Enrolled
-
Central College 21%
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Central College 1090
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Central College 23
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
Central College 3.52
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University -
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
Central College A-
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University -
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
Central College Easy
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University Unavailable
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
Central College
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University
-
-
- ACT Range
-
Central College 20/26
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University
-
-
- SAT Range
-
Central College 1056/1120
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
Central College Test optional
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University Not reported
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
Central College
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University
-
-
-
Academics
- Central College
- Northwestern Health Sciences University
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
Central College 11:1
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University 6:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
Central College
- Business (17%)
- Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (13%)
- Social Sciences (12%)
- Biology (8%)
- Foreign Languages (7%)
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University
- Biology (56%)
- Health Professions (44%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Central College
- Northwestern Health Sciences University
- Graduation Rate
-
Central College 63%
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University -
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
Central College $48,000
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University $53,600
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
Central College 78%
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University 60%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
Central College $27,000
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University $8,300
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
Central College $279
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University $85
-
-
-
Diversity
- Central College
- Northwestern Health Sciences University
- % Men
-
Central College 55%
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University 36%
-
-
- % Women
-
Central College 45%
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University 64%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
Central College Very Low
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University Medium
-
-
- HBCU
-
Central College No
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University No
-
-
- % White
-
Central College 87%
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University 44%
-
-
- % Asian
-
Central College 1%
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University 7%
-
-
- % Black
-
Central College 2%
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University 4%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
Central College 4%
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University 2%
-
-
- % Native American
-
Central College 0%
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University 1%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
Central College 0%
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
Central College 1%
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University 1%
-
-
- % International
-
Central College 0%
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University 1%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
Central College 3%
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University 40%
-
-
-
Students
- Central College
- Northwestern Health Sciences University
- % In-State
-
Central College 75%
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University 100%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
Central College 25%
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University 0%
-
-
-
Campus
- Central College
- Northwestern Health Sciences University
- Campus Housing
-
Central College Yes
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University No
-
-
- Freshman Dorm Required
-
Central College No
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University No
-
-
- Meal Plan
-
Central College Yes
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University No
-
-
- Weekend/Evening Classes
-
Central College No
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University Yes
-
-
- Daycare Facility
-
Central College No
-
Northwestern Health Sciences University No
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Central College in Pella, IA with Northwestern Health Sciences University in Bloomington, MN on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Northwestern Health Sciences University is larger than Central College based on total student enrollment (1,101 students vs. 1,084 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Central College is located in Pella, IA (Distant Town setting); Northwestern Health Sciences University is in Bloomington, MN (Small City setting).
- Central College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Northwestern Health Sciences University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Central College 11:1; Northwestern Health Sciences University 6:1.
Central College vs. Northwestern Health Sciences University Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, Central College or Northwestern Health Sciences University? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Central College than Northwestern Health Sciences University ($23,848 vs. $36,272).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Central College are 19.4% lower than at Northwestern Health Sciences University ($12,060 vs. $14,962).
- Central College is 74.7% more expensive for in-state tuition than Northwestern Health Sciences University (about $8,973 more per year; $20,988.00 vs. $12,015.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 74.7% higher at Central College than at Northwestern Health Sciences University (about $8,973 more per year; $20,988.00 vs. $12,015.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Central College than at Northwestern Health Sciences University (100% vs. 50%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Central College students is 287.8% larger than aid received by Northwestern Health Sciences University students ($13,925 vs. $3,591).
Central College vs. Northwestern Health Sciences University Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, Central College or Northwestern Health Sciences University? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Northwestern Health Sciences University and Central College.
- Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Central College 1056/1120.
- Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Central College 20/26.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Central College - Test optional; Northwestern Health Sciences University - Not reported.
Central College vs. Northwestern Health Sciences University Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for Central College and Northwestern Health Sciences University? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Graduates from Northwestern Health Sciences University earn a median of about $5,600 more per year than Central College graduates about ten years after starting college ($53,600 vs. $48,000), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Northwestern Health Sciences University graduates have a $18,700 lower median loan debt than Central College graduates ($8,300 vs. $27,000).
- Among borrowers, Northwestern Health Sciences University graduates have an estimated $194 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Central College graduates ($85 vs. $279).
- More Central College graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Northwestern Health Sciences University students, three years after graduation. (78% vs. 60%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.