Central College vs. Fontbonne University

Deciding between Central College and Fontbonne University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Central College

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Central College Pella, IA
  • Fontbonne University Saint Louis, MO
  • Setting
  • Central College Distant Town
  • Fontbonne University Large Suburban
  • Total enrollment
  • Central College 1,084
  • Fontbonne University 332
  • Type
  • Central College Private 4 Year
  • Fontbonne University Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Central College #506
  • Fontbonne University
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Central College Reformed Church in America
  • Fontbonne University Roman Catholic
  • Status
  • Central College Non-profit
  • Fontbonne University Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Central College
  • Fontbonne University
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Central College $20,988
  • Fontbonne University $28,276
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Central College $20,988
  • Fontbonne University $28,276
  • Room & Board
  • Central College $12,060
  • Fontbonne University $11,232
  • Average Net Price
  • Central College $23,848
  • Fontbonne University -
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Central College $13,925
  • Fontbonne University $23,147
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Central College 100%
  • Fontbonne University 100%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Central College 1,706
  • Fontbonne University -
  • Admitted
  • Central College 1,470
  • Fontbonne University -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Central College 86.2%
  • Fontbonne University
  • Enrolled
  • Central College 21%
  • Fontbonne University
  • Typical SAT score
  • Central College 1090
  • Fontbonne University
  • Typical ACT score
  • Central College 23
  • Fontbonne University 20
  • Average High School GPA
  • Central College 3.52
  • Fontbonne University 3.3
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Central College A-
  • Fontbonne University B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • Central College Easy
  • Fontbonne University Extremely Easy
  • Applicant Competition
  • Central College
  • Fontbonne University
  • ACT Range
  • Central College 20/26
  • Fontbonne University 17/23
  • SAT Range
  • Central College 1056/1120
  • Fontbonne University
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Central College Test optional
  • Fontbonne University Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • Central College
  • Fontbonne University
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Central College 11:1
  • Fontbonne University 5:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Central College
    • Business (17%)
    • Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (13%)
    • Social Sciences (12%)
    • Biology (8%)
    • Foreign Languages (7%)
  • Fontbonne University
    • Business (48%)
    • Education (14%)
    • Communication (9%)
    • Health Professions (5%)
    • Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (5%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Central College 63%
  • Fontbonne University 43%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Central College $48,000
  • Fontbonne University $46,400
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Central College 78%
  • Fontbonne University 59%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Central College $27,000
  • Fontbonne University $26,000
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Central College $279
  • Fontbonne University $268
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Central College 55%
  • Fontbonne University 41%
  • % Women
  • Central College 45%
  • Fontbonne University 59%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Central College Very Low
  • Fontbonne University Medium
  • HBCU
  • Central College No
  • Fontbonne University No
  • % White
  • Central College 87%
  • Fontbonne University 71%
  • % Asian
  • Central College 1%
  • Fontbonne University 1%
  • % Black
  • Central College 2%
  • Fontbonne University 15%
  • % Hispanic
  • Central College 4%
  • Fontbonne University 2%
  • % Native American
  • Central College 0%
  • Fontbonne University 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Central College 0%
  • Fontbonne University 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Central College 1%
  • Fontbonne University 2%
  • % International
  • Central College 0%
  • Fontbonne University 7%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Central College 3%
  • Fontbonne University 1%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Central College 75%
  • Fontbonne University 73%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Central College 25%
  • Fontbonne University 26%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Central College Yes
  • Fontbonne University Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Central College No
  • Fontbonne University No
  • Meal Plan
  • Central College Yes
  • Fontbonne University Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Central College No
  • Fontbonne University Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • Central College No
  • Fontbonne University No

Comparable Facts

Compare Central College in Pella, IA with Fontbonne University in Saint Louis, MO on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Central College is larger than Fontbonne University based on total student enrollment (1,084 students vs. 332 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Central College is located in Pella, IA (Distant Town setting); Fontbonne University is in Saint Louis, MO (Large Suburban setting).
  • Central College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Fontbonne University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Central College 11:1; Fontbonne University 5:1.

Central College vs. Fontbonne University Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Central College or Fontbonne University? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Fontbonne University are 6.9% lower than at Central College ($11,232 vs. $12,060).
  • Fontbonne University is 34.7% more expensive for in-state tuition than Central College (about $7,288 more per year; $28,276.00 vs. $20,988.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 34.7% higher at Fontbonne University than at Central College (about $7,288 more per year; $28,276.00 vs. $20,988.00).
  • The same share of students receive grant aid at Central College as at Fontbonne University (100% vs. 100%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Fontbonne University students is 66.2% larger than aid received by Central College students ($23,147 vs. $13,925).

Central College vs. Fontbonne University Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Central College or Fontbonne University? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Fontbonne University and Central College.

  • Incoming Central College students have a 3 point higher typical ACT composite (median estimate) (23 vs. 20 at Fontbonne University).
  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Central College 1056/1120.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Central College 20/26; Fontbonne University 17/23.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Central College - Test optional; Fontbonne University - Not reported.
  • Accepted freshman Central College students have a 0.22 point higher average high school GPA (3.52) than students at Fontbonne University (3.3).

Central College vs. Fontbonne University Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Central College and Fontbonne University? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Central College's six-year graduation rate (63%) is higher than Fontbonne University's (43%).
  • Graduates from Central College earn a median of about $1,600 more per year than Fontbonne University graduates about ten years after starting college ($48,000 vs. $46,400), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Fontbonne University graduates have a $1,000 lower median loan debt than Central College graduates ($26,000 vs. $27,000).
  • Among borrowers, Fontbonne University graduates have an estimated $11 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Central College graduates ($268 vs. $279).
  • More Central College graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Fontbonne University students, three years after graduation. (78% vs. 59%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.