CBC vs. PSC
Deciding between Central Baptist College and Philander Smith University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Central Baptist College
Philander Smith University
-
Overview
- CBC
- PSC
- Location
-
CBC Conway, AR
-
PSC Little Rock, AR
-
-
- Setting
-
CBC Distant Town
-
PSC Midsize City
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
CBC 547
-
PSC 780
-
-
- Type
-
CBC Private 4 Year
-
PSC Private 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
CBC
-
PSC
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
CBC Baptist
-
PSC United Methodist
-
-
- Status
-
CBC Non-profit
-
PSC Non-profit
-
-
- Website
-
CBC cbc.edu
-
PSC philander.edu
-
-
- Team Colors
-
CBC
-
PSC
-
-
-
Cost
- CBC
- PSC
- Tuition (In State)
-
CBC $21,330
-
PSC $13,014
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
CBC $21,330
-
PSC $13,014
-
-
- Room & Board
-
CBC $8,500
-
PSC $10,000
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
CBC $17,469
-
PSC $14,082
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
CBC $13,240
-
PSC $14,283
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
CBC 99%
-
PSC 99%
-
-
-
Admissions
- CBC
- PSC
- Applied
-
CBC 260
-
PSC -
-
-
- Admitted
-
CBC 165
-
PSC -
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
CBC 63.5%
-
PSC
-
-
- Enrolled
-
CBC 66.1%
-
PSC
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
CBC 1000
-
PSC
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
CBC 20
-
PSC
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
CBC 3.15
-
PSC 3.04
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
CBC B+
-
PSC B
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
CBC Extremely Easy
-
PSC Unavailable
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
CBC Low
-
PSC
-
-
- ACT Range
-
CBC 17/23
-
PSC
-
-
- SAT Range
-
CBC 883/1121
-
PSC
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
CBC Required
-
PSC Not reported
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
CBC Aug 15, 2027
-
PSC
-
-
-
Academics
- CBC
- PSC
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
CBC 9:1
-
PSC 11:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
CBC
- Business (33%)
- Liberal Arts and Humanities (22%)
- Theology and Religious Vvocations (18%)
- Computer and Information Sciences (9%)
- Human Services (8%)
-
PSC
- Business (30%)
- Social Sciences (18%)
- Biology (10%)
- Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (9%)
- Human Services (9%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- CBC
- PSC
- Graduation Rate
-
CBC 35%
-
PSC 31%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
CBC $40,100
-
PSC $26,800
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
CBC 55%
-
PSC 35%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
CBC $25,000
-
PSC $31,000
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
CBC $258
-
PSC $320
-
-
-
Diversity
- CBC
- PSC
- % Men
-
CBC 55%
-
PSC 48%
-
-
- % Women
-
CBC 45%
-
PSC 52%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
CBC Medium
-
PSC Very Low
-
-
- HBCU
-
CBC No
-
PSC Yes
-
-
- % White
-
CBC 67%
-
PSC 0%
-
-
- % Asian
-
CBC 0%
-
PSC 1%
-
-
- % Black
-
CBC 24%
-
PSC 91%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
CBC 3%
-
PSC 1%
-
-
- % Native American
-
CBC 2%
-
PSC 0%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
CBC 0%
-
PSC 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
CBC 1%
-
PSC 2%
-
-
- % International
-
CBC 4%
-
PSC 5%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
CBC 0%
-
PSC 0%
-
-
-
Students
- CBC
- PSC
- % In-State
-
CBC 65%
-
PSC 40%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
CBC 27%
-
PSC 29%
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Central Baptist College in Conway, AR with Philander Smith University in Little Rock, AR on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Philander Smith University is larger than CBC based on total student enrollment (780 students vs. 547 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Central Baptist College is located in Conway, AR (Distant Town setting); Philander Smith University is in Little Rock, AR (Midsize City setting).
- Central Baptist College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Philander Smith University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Central Baptist College 9:1; Philander Smith University 11:1.
CBC vs. PSC Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, CBC or PSC? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Philander Smith University than CBC ($14,082 vs. $17,469).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Central Baptist College are 15% lower than at Philander Smith University ($8,500 vs. $10,000).
- Central Baptist College is 63.9% more expensive for in-state tuition than PSC (about $8,316 more per year; $21,330.00 vs. $13,014.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 63.9% higher at CBC than at Philander Smith University (about $8,316 more per year; $21,330.00 vs. $13,014.00).
- The same share of students receive grant aid at Central Baptist College as at Philander Smith University (99% vs. 99%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Philander Smith University students is 7.9% larger than aid received by Central Baptist College students ($14,283 vs. $13,240).
CBC vs. PSC Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, CBC or PSC? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between PSC and CBC.
- Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Central Baptist College 883/1121.
- Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Central Baptist College 17/23.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: CBC - Required; PSC - Not reported.
- Typical fall application deadline: CBC Aug 15, 2027.
- Accepted freshman CBC students have a 0.11 point higher average high school GPA (3.15) than students at PSC (3.04).
CBC vs. PSC Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for CBC and PSC? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Central Baptist College's six-year graduation rate (35%) is higher than Philander Smith University's (31%).
- Graduates from Central Baptist College earn a median of about $13,300 more per year than PSC graduates about ten years after starting college ($40,100 vs. $26,800), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Central Baptist College graduates have a $6,000 lower median loan debt than PSC graduates ($25,000 vs. $31,000).
- Among borrowers, CBC graduates have an estimated $62 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than PSC graduates ($258 vs. $320).
- More CBC graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former PSC students, three years after graduation. (55% vs. 35%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.