Calvary University vs. SCU
Deciding between Calvary University and Southwestern Christian University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Calvary University
Southwestern Christian University
-
Overview
- Calvary University
- SCU
- Location
-
Calvary University Kansas City, MO
-
SCU Bethany, OK
-
-
- Setting
-
Calvary University Large City
-
SCU Large Suburban
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Calvary University 244
-
SCU 399
-
-
- Type
-
Calvary University Private 4 Year
-
SCU Private 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
Calvary University
-
SCU
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
Calvary University Other Protestant
-
SCU Pentecostal Holiness Church
-
-
- Status
-
Calvary University Non-profit
-
SCU Non-profit
-
-
- Website
-
Calvary University calvary.edu
-
SCU swcu.edu
-
-
- Team Colors
-
Calvary University
-
SCU
-
-
-
Cost
- Calvary University
- SCU
- Tuition (In State)
-
Calvary University $14,094
-
SCU $21,900
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
Calvary University $14,094
-
SCU $21,900
-
-
- Room & Board
-
Calvary University $6,492
-
SCU $10,100
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
Calvary University $17,066
-
SCU $20,528
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
Calvary University $4,836
-
SCU $12,784
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
Calvary University 88%
-
SCU 100%
-
-
-
Admissions
- Calvary University
- SCU
- Applied
-
Calvary University 46
-
SCU -
-
-
- Admitted
-
Calvary University 33
-
SCU -
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
Calvary University 71.7%
-
SCU
-
-
- Enrolled
-
Calvary University 81.8%
-
SCU
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Calvary University 1060
-
SCU
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Calvary University 20
-
SCU
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
Calvary University 3.37
-
SCU 3.22
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
Calvary University B+
-
SCU B+
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
Calvary University Very Easy
-
SCU Unavailable
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
Calvary University Low
-
SCU
-
-
- ACT Range
-
Calvary University 17/24
-
SCU
-
-
- SAT Range
-
Calvary University 980/1140
-
SCU
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
Calvary University Required
-
SCU Not reported
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
Calvary University
-
SCU
-
-
-
Academics
- Calvary University
- SCU
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
Calvary University 7:1
-
SCU 13:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
Calvary University
- Theology and Religious Vvocations (66%)
- General Studies (13%)
- Business (8%)
- Education (7%)
- Visual and Performing Arts (3%)
-
SCU
- Human Services (34%)
- Business (27%)
- Philosophy and Religious Studies (16%)
- Liberal Arts and Humanities (10%)
- Theology and Religious Vvocations (9%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Calvary University
- SCU
- Graduation Rate
-
Calvary University 43%
-
SCU 28%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
Calvary University $36,100
-
SCU $27,400
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
Calvary University 56%
-
SCU 38%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
Calvary University $20,946
-
SCU $27,000
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
Calvary University $216
-
SCU $279
-
-
-
Diversity
- Calvary University
- SCU
- % Men
-
Calvary University 54%
-
SCU 61%
-
-
- % Women
-
Calvary University 46%
-
SCU 39%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
Calvary University Low
-
SCU High
-
-
- HBCU
-
Calvary University No
-
SCU No
-
-
- % White
-
Calvary University 80%
-
SCU 44%
-
-
- % Asian
-
Calvary University 2%
-
SCU 1%
-
-
- % Black
-
Calvary University 11%
-
SCU 25%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
Calvary University 3%
-
SCU 8%
-
-
- % Native American
-
Calvary University 1%
-
SCU 4%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
Calvary University 0%
-
SCU 1%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
Calvary University 3%
-
SCU 3%
-
-
- % International
-
Calvary University 0%
-
SCU 10%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
Calvary University 0%
-
SCU 4%
-
-
-
Students
- Calvary University
- SCU
- % In-State
-
Calvary University 22%
-
SCU 72%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
Calvary University 74%
-
SCU 15%
-
-
-
Campus
- Calvary University
- SCU
- Campus Housing
-
Calvary University Yes
-
SCU Yes
-
-
- Freshman Dorm Required
-
Calvary University No
-
SCU No
-
-
- Meal Plan
-
Calvary University Yes
-
SCU Yes
-
-
- Weekend/Evening Classes
-
Calvary University Yes
-
SCU Yes
-
-
- Daycare Facility
-
Calvary University No
-
SCU No
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Calvary University in Kansas City, MO with Southwestern Christian University in Bethany, OK on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Southwestern Christian University is larger than Calvary University based on total student enrollment (399 students vs. 244 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Calvary University is located in Kansas City, MO (Large City setting); Southwestern Christian University is in Bethany, OK (Large Suburban setting).
- Calvary University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Southwestern Christian University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Calvary University 7:1; Southwestern Christian University 13:1.
Calvary University vs. SCU Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, Calvary University or SCU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Calvary University than SCU ($17,066 vs. $20,528).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Calvary University are 35.7% lower than at Southwestern Christian University ($6,492 vs. $10,100).
- Southwestern Christian University is 55.4% more expensive for in-state tuition than Calvary University (about $7,806 more per year; $21,900.00 vs. $14,094.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 55.4% higher at SCU than at Calvary University (about $7,806 more per year; $21,900.00 vs. $14,094.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Southwestern Christian University than at Calvary University (100% vs. 88%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Southwestern Christian University students is 164.4% larger than aid received by Calvary University students ($12,784 vs. $4,836).
Calvary University vs. SCU Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, Calvary University or SCU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between SCU and Calvary University.
- Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Calvary University 980/1140.
- Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Calvary University 17/24.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Calvary University - Required; SCU - Not reported.
- Accepted freshman Calvary University students have a 0.15 point higher average high school GPA (3.37) than students at SCU (3.22).
Calvary University vs. SCU Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for Calvary University and SCU? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Calvary University's six-year graduation rate (43%) is higher than Southwestern Christian University's (28%).
- Graduates from Calvary University earn a median of about $8,700 more per year than SCU graduates about ten years after starting college ($36,100 vs. $27,400), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Calvary University graduates have a $6,054 lower median loan debt than SCU graduates ($20,946 vs. $27,000).
- Among borrowers, Calvary University graduates have an estimated $63 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than SCU graduates ($216 vs. $279).
- More Calvary University graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former SCU students, three years after graduation. (56% vs. 38%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.