CCSJ vs. MIAD
Deciding between Calumet College of Saint Joseph and Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Calumet College of Saint Joseph
Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design
-
Overview
- CCSJ
- MIAD
- Location
-
CCSJ Whiting, IN
-
MIAD Milwaukee, WI
-
-
- Setting
-
CCSJ Large Suburban
-
MIAD Large City
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
CCSJ 658
-
MIAD 838
-
-
- Type
-
CCSJ Private 4 Year
-
MIAD Private 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
CCSJ
-
MIAD
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
CCSJ Roman Catholic
-
MIAD -
-
-
- Status
-
CCSJ Non-profit
-
MIAD Non-profit
-
-
- Team Colors
-
CCSJ
-
MIAD
-
-
-
Cost
- CCSJ
- MIAD
- Tuition (In State)
-
CCSJ $23,850
-
MIAD $43,743
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
CCSJ $23,850
-
MIAD $43,743
-
-
- Room & Board
-
CCSJ $9,600
-
MIAD $10,955
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
CCSJ $16,765
-
MIAD $27,579
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
CCSJ $16,181
-
MIAD $26,015
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
CCSJ 96%
-
MIAD 100%
-
-
-
Admissions
- CCSJ
- MIAD
- Applied
-
CCSJ -
-
MIAD 1,039
-
-
- Admitted
-
CCSJ -
-
MIAD 629
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
CCSJ
-
MIAD 60.5%
-
-
- Enrolled
-
CCSJ
-
MIAD 33.2%
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
CCSJ
-
MIAD 1040
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
CCSJ
-
MIAD 24
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
CCSJ 2.75
-
MIAD 3.08
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
CCSJ B-
-
MIAD B
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
CCSJ Unavailable
-
MIAD Moderate
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
CCSJ
-
MIAD Low
-
-
- ACT Range
-
CCSJ
-
MIAD 20/28
-
-
- SAT Range
-
CCSJ
-
MIAD 940/1140
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
CCSJ Not reported
-
MIAD Test optional
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
CCSJ
-
MIAD Aug 31, 2027
-
-
-
Academics
- CCSJ
- MIAD
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
CCSJ 11:1
-
MIAD 11:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
CCSJ
- Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (41%)
- Business (26%)
- Education (12%)
- Legal Professions (4%)
- Liberal Arts and Humanities (4%)
-
MIAD
- Visual and Performing Arts (87%)
- Communications Technology (7%)
- Architecture (6%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- CCSJ
- MIAD
- Graduation Rate
-
CCSJ 28%
-
MIAD 57%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
CCSJ $46,800
-
MIAD $36,000
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
CCSJ 36%
-
MIAD 59%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
CCSJ $19,750
-
MIAD $27,000
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
CCSJ $204
-
MIAD $279
-
-
-
Diversity
- CCSJ
- MIAD
- % Men
-
CCSJ 66%
-
MIAD 19%
-
-
- % Women
-
CCSJ 34%
-
MIAD 81%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
CCSJ High
-
MIAD Medium
-
-
- HBCU
-
CCSJ No
-
MIAD No
-
-
- % White
-
CCSJ 43%
-
MIAD 68%
-
-
- % Asian
-
CCSJ 1%
-
MIAD 4%
-
-
- % Black
-
CCSJ 24%
-
MIAD 8%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
CCSJ 31%
-
MIAD 13%
-
-
- % Native American
-
CCSJ 0%
-
MIAD 0%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
CCSJ 0%
-
MIAD 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
CCSJ 1%
-
MIAD 5%
-
-
- % International
-
CCSJ 0%
-
MIAD 1%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
CCSJ 0%
-
MIAD 0%
-
-
-
Students
- CCSJ
- MIAD
- % In-State
-
CCSJ 58%
-
MIAD 61%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
CCSJ 41%
-
MIAD 37%
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Calumet College of Saint Joseph in Whiting, IN with Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design in Milwaukee, WI on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design is larger than CCSJ based on total student enrollment (838 students vs. 658 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Calumet College of Saint Joseph is located in Whiting, IN (Large Suburban setting); Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design is in Milwaukee, WI (Large City setting).
- Calumet College of Saint Joseph is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Calumet College of Saint Joseph 11:1; Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design 11:1.
CCSJ vs. MIAD Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, CCSJ or MIAD? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Calumet College of Saint Joseph than MIAD ($16,765 vs. $27,579).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Calumet College of Saint Joseph are 12.4% lower than at Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design ($9,600 vs. $10,955).
- Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design is 83.4% more expensive for in-state tuition than CCSJ (about $19,893 more per year; $43,743.00 vs. $23,850.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 83.4% higher at MIAD than at Calumet College of Saint Joseph (about $19,893 more per year; $43,743.00 vs. $23,850.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design than at Calumet College of Saint Joseph (100% vs. 96%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design students is 60.8% larger than aid received by Calumet College of Saint Joseph students ($26,015 vs. $16,181).
CCSJ vs. MIAD Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, CCSJ or MIAD? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between MIAD and CCSJ.
- Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsMilwaukee Institute of Art & Design 940/1140.
- Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsMilwaukee Institute of Art & Design 20/28.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: CCSJ - Not reported; MIAD - Test optional.
- Typical fall application deadline: MIAD Aug 31, 2027.
- Accepted freshman MIAD students have a 0.33 point higher average high school GPA (3.08) than students at CCSJ (2.75).
CCSJ vs. MIAD Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for CCSJ and MIAD? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design's six-year graduation rate (57%) is higher than Calumet College of Saint Joseph's (28%).
- Graduates from Calumet College of Saint Joseph earn a median of about $10,800 more per year than MIAD graduates about ten years after starting college ($46,800 vs. $36,000), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Calumet College of Saint Joseph graduates have a $7,250 lower median loan debt than MIAD graduates ($19,750 vs. $27,000).
- Among borrowers, CCSJ graduates have an estimated $75 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than MIAD graduates ($204 vs. $279).
- More MIAD graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former CCSJ students, three years after graduation. (59% vs. 36%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.