CCSJ vs. Central College

Deciding between Calumet College of Saint Joseph and Central College? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Central College

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • CCSJ Whiting, IN
  • Central College Pella, IA
  • Setting
  • CCSJ Large Suburban
  • Central College Distant Town
  • Total enrollment
  • CCSJ 658
  • Central College 1,084
  • Type
  • CCSJ Private 4 Year
  • Central College Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • CCSJ
  • Central College #506
  • Religious Affiliation
  • CCSJ Roman Catholic
  • Central College Reformed Church in America
  • Status
  • CCSJ Non-profit
  • Central College Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • CCSJ
  • Central College
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • CCSJ $23,850
  • Central College $20,988
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • CCSJ $23,850
  • Central College $20,988
  • Room & Board
  • CCSJ $9,600
  • Central College $12,060
  • Average Net Price
  • CCSJ $16,765
  • Central College $23,848
  • Average Grant Aid
  • CCSJ $16,181
  • Central College $13,925
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • CCSJ 96%
  • Central College 100%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • CCSJ -
  • Central College 1,706
  • Admitted
  • CCSJ -
  • Central College 1,470
  • Acceptance Rate
  • CCSJ
  • Central College 86.2%
  • Enrolled
  • CCSJ
  • Central College 21%
  • Typical SAT score
  • CCSJ
  • Central College 1090
  • Typical ACT score
  • CCSJ
  • Central College 23
  • Average High School GPA
  • CCSJ 2.75
  • Central College 3.52
  • Typical High School Grades
  • CCSJ B-
  • Central College A-
  • Admissions Standards
  • CCSJ Unavailable
  • Central College Easy
  • Applicant Competition
  • CCSJ
  • Central College
  • ACT Range
  • CCSJ
  • Central College 20/26
  • SAT Range
  • CCSJ
  • Central College 1056/1120
  • Submit Test Scores
  • CCSJ Not reported
  • Central College Test optional
  • Application Deadline
  • CCSJ
  • Central College
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • CCSJ 11:1
  • Central College 11:1
  • Popular Majors
  • CCSJ
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (41%)
    • Business (26%)
    • Education (12%)
    • Legal Professions (4%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (4%)
  • Central College
    • Business (17%)
    • Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (13%)
    • Social Sciences (12%)
    • Biology (8%)
    • Foreign Languages (7%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • CCSJ 28%
  • Central College 63%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • CCSJ $46,800
  • Central College $48,000
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • CCSJ 36%
  • Central College 78%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • CCSJ $19,750
  • Central College $27,000
  • Median Loan Payment
  • CCSJ $204
  • Central College $279
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • CCSJ 66%
  • Central College 55%
  • % Women
  • CCSJ 34%
  • Central College 45%
  • Racial Diversity
  • CCSJ High
  • Central College Very Low
  • HBCU
  • CCSJ No
  • Central College No
  • % White
  • CCSJ 43%
  • Central College 87%
  • % Asian
  • CCSJ 1%
  • Central College 1%
  • % Black
  • CCSJ 24%
  • Central College 2%
  • % Hispanic
  • CCSJ 31%
  • Central College 4%
  • % Native American
  • CCSJ 0%
  • Central College 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • CCSJ 0%
  • Central College 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • CCSJ 1%
  • Central College 1%
  • % International
  • CCSJ 0%
  • Central College 0%
  • % Unknown Race
  • CCSJ 0%
  • Central College 3%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • CCSJ 58%
  • Central College 75%
  • % Out-of-State
  • CCSJ 41%
  • Central College 25%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • CCSJ No
  • Central College Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • CCSJ No
  • Central College No
  • Meal Plan
  • CCSJ No
  • Central College Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • CCSJ No
  • Central College No
  • Daycare Facility
  • CCSJ No
  • Central College No

Comparable Facts

Compare Calumet College of Saint Joseph in Whiting, IN with Central College in Pella, IA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Central College is larger than CCSJ based on total student enrollment (1,084 students vs. 658 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Calumet College of Saint Joseph is located in Whiting, IN (Large Suburban setting); Central College is in Pella, IA (Distant Town setting).
  • Calumet College of Saint Joseph is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Central College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Calumet College of Saint Joseph 11:1; Central College 11:1.

CCSJ vs. Central College Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, CCSJ or Central College? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Calumet College of Saint Joseph than Central College ($16,765 vs. $23,848).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Calumet College of Saint Joseph are 20.4% lower than at Central College ($9,600 vs. $12,060).
  • Calumet College of Saint Joseph is 13.6% more expensive for in-state tuition than Central College (about $2,862 more per year; $23,850.00 vs. $20,988.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 13.6% higher at CCSJ than at Central College (about $2,862 more per year; $23,850.00 vs. $20,988.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Central College than at Calumet College of Saint Joseph (100% vs. 96%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Calumet College of Saint Joseph students is 16.2% larger than aid received by Central College students ($16,181 vs. $13,925).

CCSJ vs. Central College Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, CCSJ or Central College? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Central College and CCSJ.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsCentral College 1056/1120.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsCentral College 20/26.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: CCSJ - Not reported; Central College - Test optional.
  • Accepted freshman Central College students have a 0.77 point higher average high school GPA (3.52) than students at CCSJ (2.75).

CCSJ vs. Central College Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for CCSJ and Central College? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Central College's six-year graduation rate (63%) is higher than Calumet College of Saint Joseph's (28%).
  • Graduates from Central College earn a median of about $1,200 more per year than CCSJ graduates about ten years after starting college ($48,000 vs. $46,800), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Calumet College of Saint Joseph graduates have a $7,250 lower median loan debt than Central College graduates ($19,750 vs. $27,000).
  • Among borrowers, CCSJ graduates have an estimated $75 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Central College graduates ($204 vs. $279).
  • More Central College graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former CCSJ students, three years after graduation. (78% vs. 36%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.