CCSJ vs. Centra College

Deciding between Calumet College of Saint Joseph and Centra College? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • CCSJ Whiting, IN
  • Centra College Lynchburg, VA
  • Setting
  • CCSJ Large Suburban
  • Centra College Small City
  • Total enrollment
  • CCSJ 658
  • Centra College 219
  • Type
  • CCSJ Private 4 Year
  • Centra College Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • CCSJ
  • Centra College
  • Religious Affiliation
  • CCSJ Roman Catholic
  • Centra College -
  • Status
  • CCSJ Non-profit
  • Centra College Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • CCSJ
  • Centra College
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • CCSJ $23,850
  • Centra College $12,983
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • CCSJ $23,850
  • Centra College $12,983
  • Room & Board
  • CCSJ $9,600
  • Centra College $12,424
  • Average Net Price
  • CCSJ $16,765
  • Centra College -
  • Average Grant Aid
  • CCSJ $16,181
  • Centra College $0
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • CCSJ 96%
  • Centra College 0%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • CCSJ -
  • Centra College 2
  • Admitted
  • CCSJ -
  • Centra College 2
  • Acceptance Rate
  • CCSJ
  • Centra College 100%
  • Enrolled
  • CCSJ
  • Centra College 0%
  • Typical SAT score
  • CCSJ
  • Centra College
  • Typical ACT score
  • CCSJ
  • Centra College
  • Average High School GPA
  • CCSJ 2.75
  • Centra College -
  • Typical High School Grades
  • CCSJ B-
  • Centra College -
  • Admissions Standards
  • CCSJ Unavailable
  • Centra College Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • CCSJ
  • Centra College
  • ACT Range
  • CCSJ
  • Centra College
  • SAT Range
  • CCSJ
  • Centra College
  • Submit Test Scores
  • CCSJ Not reported
  • Centra College Test-free
  • Application Deadline
  • CCSJ
  • Centra College
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • CCSJ 11:1
  • Centra College 3:1
  • Popular Majors
  • CCSJ
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (41%)
    • Business (26%)
    • Education (12%)
    • Legal Professions (4%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (4%)
  • Centra College
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • CCSJ 28%
  • Centra College -
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • CCSJ $46,800
  • Centra College $44,800
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • CCSJ 36%
  • Centra College 66%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • CCSJ $19,750
  • Centra College $12,042
  • Median Loan Payment
  • CCSJ $204
  • Centra College $124
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • CCSJ 66%
  • Centra College 9%
  • % Women
  • CCSJ 34%
  • Centra College 91%
  • Racial Diversity
  • CCSJ High
  • Centra College Very High
  • HBCU
  • CCSJ No
  • Centra College No
  • % White
  • CCSJ 43%
  • Centra College 65%
  • % Asian
  • CCSJ 1%
  • Centra College 0%
  • % Black
  • CCSJ 24%
  • Centra College 35%
  • % Hispanic
  • CCSJ 31%
  • Centra College 0%
  • % Native American
  • CCSJ 0%
  • Centra College 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • CCSJ 0%
  • Centra College 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • CCSJ 1%
  • Centra College 0%
  • % International
  • CCSJ 0%
  • Centra College 0%
  • % Unknown Race
  • CCSJ 0%
  • Centra College 0%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • CCSJ 58%
  • Centra College 100%
  • % Out-of-State
  • CCSJ 41%
  • Centra College 0%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • CCSJ No
  • Centra College No
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • CCSJ No
  • Centra College
  • Meal Plan
  • CCSJ No
  • Centra College No
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • CCSJ No
  • Centra College No
  • Daycare Facility
  • CCSJ No
  • Centra College

Comparable Facts

Compare Calumet College of Saint Joseph in Whiting, IN with Centra College in Lynchburg, VA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Calumet College of Saint Joseph is larger than Centra College based on total student enrollment (658 students vs. 219 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Calumet College of Saint Joseph is located in Whiting, IN (Large Suburban setting); Centra College is in Lynchburg, VA (Small City setting).
  • Calumet College of Saint Joseph is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Centra College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Calumet College of Saint Joseph 11:1; Centra College 3:1.

CCSJ vs. Centra College Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, CCSJ or Centra College? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Calumet College of Saint Joseph are 22.7% lower than at Centra College ($9,600 vs. $12,424).
  • Calumet College of Saint Joseph is 83.7% more expensive for in-state tuition than Centra College (about $10,867 more per year; $23,850.00 vs. $12,983.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 83.7% higher at CCSJ than at Centra College (about $10,867 more per year; $23,850.00 vs. $12,983.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Calumet College of Saint Joseph than at Centra College (96% vs. 0%).

CCSJ vs. Centra College Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, CCSJ or Centra College? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Centra College and CCSJ.

  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: CCSJ - Not reported; Centra College - Test-free.

CCSJ vs. Centra College Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for CCSJ and Centra College? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Graduates from Calumet College of Saint Joseph earn a median of about $2,000 more per year than Centra College graduates about ten years after starting college ($46,800 vs. $44,800), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Centra College graduates have a $7,708 lower median loan debt than CCSJ graduates ($12,042 vs. $19,750).
  • Among borrowers, Centra College graduates have an estimated $80 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than CCSJ graduates ($124 vs. $204).
  • More Centra College graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former CCSJ students, three years after graduation. (66% vs. 36%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.