CCSJ vs. Franklin Institute of Boston

Deciding between Calumet College of Saint Joseph and Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • CCSJ Whiting, IN
  • Franklin Institute of Boston Boston, MA
  • Setting
  • CCSJ Large Suburban
  • Franklin Institute of Boston Large City
  • Total enrollment
  • CCSJ 658
  • Franklin Institute of Boston 744
  • Type
  • CCSJ Private 4 Year
  • Franklin Institute of Boston Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • CCSJ
  • Franklin Institute of Boston
  • Religious Affiliation
  • CCSJ Roman Catholic
  • Franklin Institute of Boston -
  • Status
  • CCSJ Non-profit
  • Franklin Institute of Boston Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • CCSJ
  • Franklin Institute of Boston
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • CCSJ $23,850
  • Franklin Institute of Boston $18,906
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • CCSJ $23,850
  • Franklin Institute of Boston $18,906
  • Room & Board
  • CCSJ $9,600
  • Franklin Institute of Boston $13,500
  • Average Net Price
  • CCSJ $16,765
  • Franklin Institute of Boston $14,841
  • Average Grant Aid
  • CCSJ $16,181
  • Franklin Institute of Boston $15,180
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • CCSJ 96%
  • Franklin Institute of Boston 85%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • CCSJ -
  • Franklin Institute of Boston -
  • Admitted
  • CCSJ -
  • Franklin Institute of Boston -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • CCSJ
  • Franklin Institute of Boston Open
  • Enrolled
  • CCSJ
  • Franklin Institute of Boston Open
  • Typical SAT score
  • CCSJ
  • Franklin Institute of Boston
  • Typical ACT score
  • CCSJ
  • Franklin Institute of Boston
  • Average High School GPA
  • CCSJ 2.75
  • Franklin Institute of Boston 2.32
  • Typical High School Grades
  • CCSJ B-
  • Franklin Institute of Boston C+
  • Admissions Standards
  • CCSJ Unavailable
  • Franklin Institute of Boston Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • CCSJ
  • Franklin Institute of Boston
  • ACT Range
  • CCSJ
  • Franklin Institute of Boston
  • SAT Range
  • CCSJ
  • Franklin Institute of Boston
  • Submit Test Scores
  • CCSJ Not reported
  • Franklin Institute of Boston Open admission
  • Application Deadline
  • CCSJ
  • Franklin Institute of Boston
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • CCSJ 11:1
  • Franklin Institute of Boston 10:1
  • Popular Majors
  • CCSJ
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (41%)
    • Business (26%)
    • Education (12%)
    • Legal Professions (4%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (4%)
  • Franklin Institute of Boston
    • Mechanic and Repair Technologies (36%)
    • Engineering Technology (33%)
    • Health Professions (19%)
    • Construction Trades (11%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • CCSJ 28%
  • Franklin Institute of Boston -
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • CCSJ $46,800
  • Franklin Institute of Boston $41,700
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • CCSJ 36%
  • Franklin Institute of Boston 43%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • CCSJ $19,750
  • Franklin Institute of Boston $12,000
  • Median Loan Payment
  • CCSJ $204
  • Franklin Institute of Boston $124
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • CCSJ 66%
  • Franklin Institute of Boston 78%
  • % Women
  • CCSJ 34%
  • Franklin Institute of Boston 22%
  • Racial Diversity
  • CCSJ High
  • Franklin Institute of Boston Very High
  • HBCU
  • CCSJ No
  • Franklin Institute of Boston No
  • % White
  • CCSJ 43%
  • Franklin Institute of Boston 30%
  • % Asian
  • CCSJ 1%
  • Franklin Institute of Boston 7%
  • % Black
  • CCSJ 24%
  • Franklin Institute of Boston 28%
  • % Hispanic
  • CCSJ 31%
  • Franklin Institute of Boston 23%
  • % Native American
  • CCSJ 0%
  • Franklin Institute of Boston 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • CCSJ 0%
  • Franklin Institute of Boston 1%
  • % Two or More Races
  • CCSJ 1%
  • Franklin Institute of Boston 4%
  • % International
  • CCSJ 0%
  • Franklin Institute of Boston 0%
  • % Unknown Race
  • CCSJ 0%
  • Franklin Institute of Boston 6%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • CCSJ 58%
  • Franklin Institute of Boston 100%
  • % Out-of-State
  • CCSJ 41%
  • Franklin Institute of Boston 0%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • CCSJ No
  • Franklin Institute of Boston Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • CCSJ No
  • Franklin Institute of Boston No
  • Meal Plan
  • CCSJ No
  • Franklin Institute of Boston Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • CCSJ No
  • Franklin Institute of Boston Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • CCSJ No
  • Franklin Institute of Boston No

Comparable Facts

Compare Calumet College of Saint Joseph in Whiting, IN with Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology in Boston, MA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology is larger than CCSJ based on total student enrollment (744 students vs. 658 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Calumet College of Saint Joseph is located in Whiting, IN (Large Suburban setting); Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology is in Boston, MA (Large City setting).
  • Calumet College of Saint Joseph is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Calumet College of Saint Joseph 11:1; Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology 10:1.

CCSJ vs. Franklin Institute of Boston Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, CCSJ or Franklin Institute of Boston? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology than CCSJ ($14,841 vs. $16,765).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Calumet College of Saint Joseph are 28.9% lower than at Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology ($9,600 vs. $13,500).
  • Calumet College of Saint Joseph is 26.2% more expensive for in-state tuition than Franklin Institute of Boston (about $4,944 more per year; $23,850.00 vs. $18,906.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 26.2% higher at CCSJ than at Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology (about $4,944 more per year; $23,850.00 vs. $18,906.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Calumet College of Saint Joseph than at Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology (96% vs. 85%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Calumet College of Saint Joseph students is 6.6% larger than aid received by Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology students ($16,181 vs. $15,180).

CCSJ vs. Franklin Institute of Boston Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, CCSJ or Franklin Institute of Boston? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Franklin Institute of Boston and CCSJ.

  • Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology reports an open admissions policy.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: CCSJ - Not reported; Franklin Institute of Boston - Open admission.
  • Accepted freshman CCSJ students have a 0.43 point higher average high school GPA (2.75) than students at Franklin Institute of Boston (2.32).

CCSJ vs. Franklin Institute of Boston Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for CCSJ and Franklin Institute of Boston? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Graduates from Calumet College of Saint Joseph earn a median of about $5,100 more per year than Franklin Institute of Boston graduates about ten years after starting college ($46,800 vs. $41,700), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology graduates have a $7,750 lower median loan debt than CCSJ graduates ($12,000 vs. $19,750).
  • Among borrowers, Franklin Institute of Boston graduates have an estimated $80 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than CCSJ graduates ($124 vs. $204).
  • More Franklin Institute of Boston graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former CCSJ students, three years after graduation. (43% vs. 36%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.