CIIS vs. UC Merced
Deciding between California Institute of Integral Studies and University of California Merced? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
California Institute of Integral Studies
University of California Merced
-
Overview
- CIIS
- UC Merced
- Location
-
CIIS San Francisco, CA
-
UC Merced Merced, CA
-
-
- Setting
-
CIIS Large City
-
UC Merced Rural Fringe
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
CIIS 1,874
-
UC Merced 9,110
-
-
- Type
-
CIIS Private 4 Year
-
UC Merced Public 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
CIIS
-
UC Merced #642
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
CIIS -
-
UC Merced -
-
-
- Status
-
CIIS Non-profit
-
UC Merced Non-profit
-
-
- Website
-
CIIS ciis.edu
-
UC Merced ucmerced.edu
-
-
- Team Colors
-
CIIS
-
UC Merced
-
-
-
Cost
- CIIS
- UC Merced
- Tuition (In State)
-
CIIS $0
-
UC Merced $15,623
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
CIIS $0
-
UC Merced $49,823
-
-
- Room & Board
-
CIIS $0
-
UC Merced $21,445
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
CIIS -
-
UC Merced $13,690
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
CIIS $0
-
UC Merced $27,292
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
CIIS 0%
-
UC Merced 89%
-
-
-
Admissions
- CIIS
- UC Merced
- Applied
-
CIIS -
-
UC Merced 31,928
-
-
- Admitted
-
CIIS -
-
UC Merced 28,906
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
CIIS
-
UC Merced 90.5%
-
-
- Enrolled
-
CIIS
-
UC Merced 7.2%
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
CIIS
-
UC Merced 1050
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
CIIS
-
UC Merced 21
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
CIIS -
-
UC Merced 3.55
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
CIIS -
-
UC Merced A-
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
CIIS Unavailable
-
UC Merced Very Easy
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
CIIS
-
UC Merced
-
-
- ACT Range
-
CIIS
-
UC Merced 19/24
-
-
- SAT Range
-
CIIS
-
UC Merced 960/1140
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
CIIS Not reported
-
UC Merced Test-free
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
CIIS
-
UC Merced Nov 30, 2026
-
-
-
Academics
- CIIS
- UC Merced
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
CIIS 15:1
-
UC Merced 20:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
CIIS
-
UC Merced
- Psychology (22%)
- Biology (21%)
- Engineering (14%)
- Social Sciences (13%)
- Business (12%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- CIIS
- UC Merced
- Graduation Rate
-
CIIS -
-
UC Merced 58%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
CIIS N/A
-
UC Merced N/A
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
CIIS 45%
-
UC Merced 64%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
CIIS $18,750
-
UC Merced $19,899
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
CIIS $193
-
UC Merced $205
-
-
-
Diversity
- CIIS
- UC Merced
- % Men
-
CIIS 19%
-
UC Merced 55%
-
-
- % Women
-
CIIS 81%
-
UC Merced 45%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
CIIS High
-
UC Merced High
-
-
- HBCU
-
CIIS No
-
UC Merced No
-
-
- % White
-
CIIS 47%
-
UC Merced 13%
-
-
- % Asian
-
CIIS 5%
-
UC Merced 23%
-
-
- % Black
-
CIIS 9%
-
UC Merced 5%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
CIIS 19%
-
UC Merced 48%
-
-
- % Native American
-
CIIS 1%
-
UC Merced 0%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
CIIS 1%
-
UC Merced 1%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
CIIS 10%
-
UC Merced 4%
-
-
- % International
-
CIIS 4%
-
UC Merced 5%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
CIIS 3%
-
UC Merced 1%
-
-
-
Students
- CIIS
- UC Merced
- % In-State
-
CIIS -
-
UC Merced 98%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
CIIS -
-
UC Merced 1%
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare California Institute of Integral Studies in San Francisco, CA with University of California Merced in Merced, CA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
University of California Merced is larger than CIIS based on total student enrollment (9,110 students vs. 1,874 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- California Institute of Integral Studies is located in San Francisco, CA (Large City setting); University of California Merced is in Merced, CA (Rural Fringe setting).
- California Institute of Integral Studies is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. University of California Merced is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: California Institute of Integral Studies 15:1; University of California Merced 20:1.
CIIS vs. UC Merced Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, CIIS or UC Merced? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- In-state tuition differs between University of California Merced and CIIS ($15,623.00 vs. $0.00).
- Out-of-state tuition differs between UC Merced and California Institute of Integral Studies ($49,823.00 vs. $0.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at University of California Merced than at California Institute of Integral Studies (89% vs. 0%).
CIIS vs. UC Merced Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, CIIS or UC Merced? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between UC Merced and CIIS.
- Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsUniversity of California Merced 960/1140.
- Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsUniversity of California Merced 19/24.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: CIIS - Not reported; UC Merced - Test-free.
- Typical fall application deadline: UC Merced Nov 30, 2026.
CIIS vs. UC Merced Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for CIIS and UC Merced? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Among federal student loan borrowers, California Institute of Integral Studies graduates have a $1,149 lower median loan debt than UC Merced graduates ($18,750 vs. $19,899).
- Among borrowers, CIIS graduates have an estimated $12 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than UC Merced graduates ($193 vs. $205).
- More UC Merced graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former CIIS students, three years after graduation. (64% vs. 45%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.