CIIS vs. San Jose State
Deciding between California Institute of Integral Studies and San Jose State University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
California Institute of Integral Studies
San Jose State University
-
Overview
- CIIS
- San Jose State
- Location
-
CIIS San Francisco, CA
-
San Jose State San Jose, CA
-
-
- Setting
-
CIIS Large City
-
San Jose State Large City
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
CIIS 1,874
-
San Jose State 37,661
-
-
- Type
-
CIIS Private 4 Year
-
San Jose State Public 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
CIIS
-
San Jose State #594
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
CIIS -
-
San Jose State -
-
-
- Status
-
CIIS Non-profit
-
San Jose State Non-profit
-
-
- Team Colors
-
CIIS
-
San Jose State
-
-
-
Cost
- CIIS
- San Jose State
- Tuition (In State)
-
CIIS $0
-
San Jose State $8,410
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
CIIS $0
-
San Jose State $21,010
-
-
- Room & Board
-
CIIS $0
-
San Jose State $20,971
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
CIIS -
-
San Jose State $13,892
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
CIIS $0
-
San Jose State $12,353
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
CIIS 0%
-
San Jose State 63%
-
-
-
Admissions
- CIIS
- San Jose State
- Applied
-
CIIS -
-
San Jose State 37,132
-
-
- Admitted
-
CIIS -
-
San Jose State 31,419
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
CIIS
-
San Jose State 84.6%
-
-
- Enrolled
-
CIIS
-
San Jose State 14.7%
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
CIIS
-
San Jose State 1130
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
CIIS
-
San Jose State 22
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
CIIS -
-
San Jose State 3.35
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
CIIS -
-
San Jose State B+
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
CIIS Unavailable
-
San Jose State Moderate
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
CIIS
-
San Jose State
-
-
- ACT Range
-
CIIS
-
San Jose State 19/26
-
-
- SAT Range
-
CIIS
-
San Jose State 1010/1240
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
CIIS Not reported
-
San Jose State Test-free
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
CIIS
-
San Jose State Dec 15, 2026
-
-
-
Academics
- CIIS
- San Jose State
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
CIIS 15:1
-
San Jose State 25:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
CIIS
-
San Jose State
- Business (30%)
- Visual and Performing Arts (8%)
- Health Professions (8%)
- Social Sciences (7%)
- Engineering (7%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- CIIS
- San Jose State
- Graduation Rate
-
CIIS -
-
San Jose State 46%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
CIIS N/A
-
San Jose State $59,900
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
CIIS 45%
-
San Jose State 73%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
CIIS $18,750
-
San Jose State $15,000
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
CIIS $193
-
San Jose State $155
-
-
-
Diversity
- CIIS
- San Jose State
- % Men
-
CIIS 19%
-
San Jose State 49%
-
-
- % Women
-
CIIS 81%
-
San Jose State 51%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
CIIS High
-
San Jose State Very High
-
-
- HBCU
-
CIIS No
-
San Jose State No
-
-
- % White
-
CIIS 47%
-
San Jose State 19%
-
-
- % Asian
-
CIIS 5%
-
San Jose State 36%
-
-
- % Black
-
CIIS 9%
-
San Jose State 3%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
CIIS 19%
-
San Jose State 26%
-
-
- % Native American
-
CIIS 1%
-
San Jose State 0%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
CIIS 1%
-
San Jose State 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
CIIS 10%
-
San Jose State 5%
-
-
- % International
-
CIIS 4%
-
San Jose State 6%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
CIIS 3%
-
San Jose State 4%
-
-
-
Students
- CIIS
- San Jose State
- % In-State
-
CIIS -
-
San Jose State 97%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
CIIS -
-
San Jose State 1%
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare California Institute of Integral Studies in San Francisco, CA with San Jose State University in San Jose, CA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
San Jose State University is larger than CIIS based on total student enrollment (37,661 students vs. 1,874 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- California Institute of Integral Studies is located in San Francisco, CA (Large City setting); San Jose State University is in San Jose, CA (Large City setting).
- California Institute of Integral Studies is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. San Jose State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: California Institute of Integral Studies 15:1; San Jose State University 25:1.
CIIS vs. San Jose State Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, CIIS or San Jose State? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- In-state tuition differs between San Jose State University and CIIS ($8,410.00 vs. $0.00).
- Out-of-state tuition differs between San Jose State and California Institute of Integral Studies ($21,010.00 vs. $0.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at San Jose State University than at California Institute of Integral Studies (63% vs. 0%).
CIIS vs. San Jose State Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, CIIS or San Jose State? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between San Jose State and CIIS.
- Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsSan Jose State University 1010/1240.
- Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsSan Jose State University 19/26.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: CIIS - Not reported; San Jose State - Test-free.
- Typical fall application deadline: San Jose State Dec 15, 2026.
CIIS vs. San Jose State Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for CIIS and San Jose State? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Among federal student loan borrowers, San Jose State University graduates have a $3,750 lower median loan debt than CIIS graduates ($15,000 vs. $18,750).
- Among borrowers, San Jose State graduates have an estimated $38 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than CIIS graduates ($155 vs. $193).
- More San Jose State graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former CIIS students, three years after graduation. (73% vs. 45%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.