CIIS vs. Ringling College of Art and Design

Deciding between California Institute of Integral Studies and Ringling College of Art and Design? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • CIIS San Francisco, CA
  • Ringling College of Art and Design Sarasota, FL
  • Setting
  • CIIS Large City
  • Ringling College of Art and Design Small City
  • Total enrollment
  • CIIS 1,874
  • Ringling College of Art and Design 1,666
  • Type
  • CIIS Private 4 Year
  • Ringling College of Art and Design Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • CIIS
  • Ringling College of Art and Design
  • Religious Affiliation
  • CIIS -
  • Ringling College of Art and Design -
  • Status
  • CIIS Non-profit
  • Ringling College of Art and Design Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • CIIS
  • Ringling College of Art and Design
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • CIIS $0
  • Ringling College of Art and Design $57,900
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • CIIS $0
  • Ringling College of Art and Design $57,900
  • Room & Board
  • CIIS $0
  • Ringling College of Art and Design $19,100
  • Average Net Price
  • CIIS -
  • Ringling College of Art and Design $62,012
  • Average Grant Aid
  • CIIS $0
  • Ringling College of Art and Design $18,442
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • CIIS 0%
  • Ringling College of Art and Design 100%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • CIIS -
  • Ringling College of Art and Design 2,244
  • Admitted
  • CIIS -
  • Ringling College of Art and Design 1,563
  • Acceptance Rate
  • CIIS
  • Ringling College of Art and Design 69.7%
  • Enrolled
  • CIIS
  • Ringling College of Art and Design 23.5%
  • Typical SAT score
  • CIIS
  • Ringling College of Art and Design
  • Typical ACT score
  • CIIS
  • Ringling College of Art and Design
  • Average High School GPA
  • CIIS -
  • Ringling College of Art and Design 3.48
  • Typical High School Grades
  • CIIS -
  • Ringling College of Art and Design B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • CIIS Unavailable
  • Ringling College of Art and Design Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • CIIS
  • Ringling College of Art and Design Low
  • ACT Range
  • CIIS
  • Ringling College of Art and Design
  • SAT Range
  • CIIS
  • Ringling College of Art and Design
  • Submit Test Scores
  • CIIS Not reported
  • Ringling College of Art and Design Test-free
  • Application Deadline
  • CIIS
  • Ringling College of Art and Design
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • CIIS 15:1
  • Ringling College of Art and Design 11:1
  • Popular Majors
  • CIIS
  • Ringling College of Art and Design
    • Visual and Performing Arts (84%)
    • Communications Technology (16%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • CIIS -
  • Ringling College of Art and Design 66%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • CIIS N/A
  • Ringling College of Art and Design $41,800
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • CIIS 45%
  • Ringling College of Art and Design 67%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • CIIS $18,750
  • Ringling College of Art and Design $27,000
  • Median Loan Payment
  • CIIS $193
  • Ringling College of Art and Design $279
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • CIIS 19%
  • Ringling College of Art and Design 25%
  • % Women
  • CIIS 81%
  • Ringling College of Art and Design 75%
  • Racial Diversity
  • CIIS High
  • Ringling College of Art and Design High
  • HBCU
  • CIIS No
  • Ringling College of Art and Design No
  • % White
  • CIIS 47%
  • Ringling College of Art and Design 49%
  • % Asian
  • CIIS 5%
  • Ringling College of Art and Design 9%
  • % Black
  • CIIS 9%
  • Ringling College of Art and Design 3%
  • % Hispanic
  • CIIS 19%
  • Ringling College of Art and Design 16%
  • % Native American
  • CIIS 1%
  • Ringling College of Art and Design 1%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • CIIS 1%
  • Ringling College of Art and Design 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • CIIS 10%
  • Ringling College of Art and Design 2%
  • % International
  • CIIS 4%
  • Ringling College of Art and Design 15%
  • % Unknown Race
  • CIIS 3%
  • Ringling College of Art and Design 4%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • CIIS -
  • Ringling College of Art and Design 30%
  • % Out-of-State
  • CIIS -
  • Ringling College of Art and Design 47%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • CIIS No
  • Ringling College of Art and Design Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • CIIS
  • Ringling College of Art and Design No
  • Meal Plan
  • CIIS No
  • Ringling College of Art and Design Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • CIIS Yes
  • Ringling College of Art and Design No
  • Daycare Facility
  • CIIS
  • Ringling College of Art and Design No

Comparable Facts

Compare California Institute of Integral Studies in San Francisco, CA with Ringling College of Art and Design in Sarasota, FL on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

California Institute of Integral Studies is larger than Ringling College of Art and Design based on total student enrollment (1,874 students vs. 1,666 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • California Institute of Integral Studies is located in San Francisco, CA (Large City setting); Ringling College of Art and Design is in Sarasota, FL (Small City setting).
  • California Institute of Integral Studies is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Ringling College of Art and Design is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: California Institute of Integral Studies 15:1; Ringling College of Art and Design 11:1.

CIIS vs. Ringling College of Art and Design Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, CIIS or Ringling College of Art and Design? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • In-state tuition differs between Ringling College of Art and Design and CIIS ($57,900.00 vs. $0.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition differs between Ringling College of Art and Design and California Institute of Integral Studies ($57,900.00 vs. $0.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Ringling College of Art and Design than at California Institute of Integral Studies (100% vs. 0%).

CIIS vs. Ringling College of Art and Design Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, CIIS or Ringling College of Art and Design? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Ringling College of Art and Design and CIIS.

  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: CIIS - Not reported; Ringling College of Art and Design - Test-free.

CIIS vs. Ringling College of Art and Design Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for CIIS and Ringling College of Art and Design? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Among federal student loan borrowers, California Institute of Integral Studies graduates have a $8,250 lower median loan debt than Ringling College of Art and Design graduates ($18,750 vs. $27,000).
  • Among borrowers, CIIS graduates have an estimated $86 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Ringling College of Art and Design graduates ($193 vs. $279).
  • More Ringling College of Art and Design graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former CIIS students, three years after graduation. (67% vs. 45%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.