CIIS vs. CSE

Deciding between California Institute of Integral Studies and Saint Elizabeth University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Saint Elizabeth University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • CIIS San Francisco, CA
  • CSE Morristown, NJ
  • Setting
  • CIIS Large City
  • CSE Large Suburban
  • Total enrollment
  • CIIS 1,874
  • CSE 871
  • Type
  • CIIS Private 4 Year
  • CSE Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • CIIS
  • CSE
  • Religious Affiliation
  • CIIS -
  • CSE Roman Catholic
  • Status
  • CIIS Non-profit
  • CSE Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • CIIS
  • CSE
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • CIIS $0
  • CSE $36,741
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • CIIS $0
  • CSE $36,741
  • Room & Board
  • CIIS $0
  • CSE $13,652
  • Average Net Price
  • CIIS -
  • CSE $23,437
  • Average Grant Aid
  • CIIS $0
  • CSE $29,755
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • CIIS 0%
  • CSE 96%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • CIIS -
  • CSE 2,216
  • Admitted
  • CIIS -
  • CSE 1,574
  • Acceptance Rate
  • CIIS
  • CSE 71%
  • Enrolled
  • CIIS
  • CSE 7.6%
  • Typical SAT score
  • CIIS
  • CSE
  • Typical ACT score
  • CIIS
  • CSE
  • Average High School GPA
  • CIIS -
  • CSE 3.12
  • Typical High School Grades
  • CIIS -
  • CSE B
  • Admissions Standards
  • CIIS Unavailable
  • CSE Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • CIIS
  • CSE Low
  • ACT Range
  • CIIS
  • CSE
  • SAT Range
  • CIIS
  • CSE
  • Submit Test Scores
  • CIIS Not reported
  • CSE Test optional
  • Application Deadline
  • CIIS
  • CSE
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • CIIS 15:1
  • CSE 8:1
  • Popular Majors
  • CIIS
  • CSE
    • Health Professions (30%)
    • General Studies (15%)
    • Business (11%)
    • Education (8%)
    • Psychology (7%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • CIIS -
  • CSE 58%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • CIIS N/A
  • CSE $45,500
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • CIIS 45%
  • CSE 57%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • CIIS $18,750
  • CSE $25,000
  • Median Loan Payment
  • CIIS $193
  • CSE $258
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • CIIS 19%
  • CSE 35%
  • % Women
  • CIIS 81%
  • CSE 65%
  • Racial Diversity
  • CIIS High
  • CSE Very High
  • HBCU
  • CIIS No
  • CSE No
  • % White
  • CIIS 47%
  • CSE 32%
  • % Asian
  • CIIS 5%
  • CSE 3%
  • % Black
  • CIIS 9%
  • CSE 28%
  • % Hispanic
  • CIIS 19%
  • CSE 21%
  • % Native American
  • CIIS 1%
  • CSE 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • CIIS 1%
  • CSE 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • CIIS 10%
  • CSE 2%
  • % International
  • CIIS 4%
  • CSE 3%
  • % Unknown Race
  • CIIS 3%
  • CSE 10%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • CIIS -
  • CSE 90%
  • % Out-of-State
  • CIIS -
  • CSE 10%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • CIIS No
  • CSE Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • CIIS
  • CSE No
  • Meal Plan
  • CIIS No
  • CSE Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • CIIS Yes
  • CSE Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • CIIS
  • CSE No

Comparable Facts

Compare California Institute of Integral Studies in San Francisco, CA with Saint Elizabeth University in Morristown, NJ on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

California Institute of Integral Studies is larger than CSE based on total student enrollment (1,874 students vs. 871 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • California Institute of Integral Studies is located in San Francisco, CA (Large City setting); Saint Elizabeth University is in Morristown, NJ (Large Suburban setting).
  • California Institute of Integral Studies is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Saint Elizabeth University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: California Institute of Integral Studies 15:1; Saint Elizabeth University 8:1.

CIIS vs. CSE Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, CIIS or CSE? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • In-state tuition differs between Saint Elizabeth University and CIIS ($36,741.00 vs. $0.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition differs between CSE and California Institute of Integral Studies ($36,741.00 vs. $0.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Saint Elizabeth University than at California Institute of Integral Studies (96% vs. 0%).

CIIS vs. CSE Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, CIIS or CSE? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between CSE and CIIS.

  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: CIIS - Not reported; CSE - Test optional.

CIIS vs. CSE Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for CIIS and CSE? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Among federal student loan borrowers, California Institute of Integral Studies graduates have a $6,250 lower median loan debt than CSE graduates ($18,750 vs. $25,000).
  • Among borrowers, CIIS graduates have an estimated $65 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than CSE graduates ($193 vs. $258).
  • More CSE graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former CIIS students, three years after graduation. (57% vs. 45%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.