CIIS vs. Alma College

Deciding between California Institute of Integral Studies and Alma College? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Alma College

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • CIIS San Francisco, CA
  • Alma College Alma, MI
  • Setting
  • CIIS Large City
  • Alma College Distant Town
  • Total enrollment
  • CIIS 1,874
  • Alma College 1,197
  • Type
  • CIIS Private 4 Year
  • Alma College Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • CIIS
  • Alma College
  • Religious Affiliation
  • CIIS -
  • Alma College Presbyterian Church (USA)
  • Status
  • CIIS Non-profit
  • Alma College Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • CIIS
  • Alma College
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • CIIS $0
  • Alma College $49,552
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • CIIS $0
  • Alma College $49,552
  • Room & Board
  • CIIS $0
  • Alma College $14,180
  • Average Net Price
  • CIIS -
  • Alma College $22,094
  • Average Grant Aid
  • CIIS $0
  • Alma College $41,618
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • CIIS 0%
  • Alma College 100%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • CIIS -
  • Alma College 5,208
  • Admitted
  • CIIS -
  • Alma College 2,970
  • Acceptance Rate
  • CIIS
  • Alma College 57%
  • Enrolled
  • CIIS
  • Alma College 9.6%
  • Typical SAT score
  • CIIS
  • Alma College
  • Typical ACT score
  • CIIS
  • Alma College
  • Average High School GPA
  • CIIS -
  • Alma College 3.5
  • Typical High School Grades
  • CIIS -
  • Alma College A-
  • Admissions Standards
  • CIIS Unavailable
  • Alma College Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • CIIS
  • Alma College Low
  • ACT Range
  • CIIS
  • Alma College
  • SAT Range
  • CIIS
  • Alma College
  • Submit Test Scores
  • CIIS Not reported
  • Alma College Test-free
  • Application Deadline
  • CIIS
  • Alma College
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • CIIS 15:1
  • Alma College 14:1
  • Popular Majors
  • CIIS
  • Alma College
    • Business (21%)
    • Biology (15%)
    • Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (10%)
    • Visual and Performing Arts (10%)
    • Social Sciences (7%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • CIIS -
  • Alma College 67%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • CIIS N/A
  • Alma College $48,300
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • CIIS 45%
  • Alma College 77%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • CIIS $18,750
  • Alma College $27,000
  • Median Loan Payment
  • CIIS $193
  • Alma College $279
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • CIIS 19%
  • Alma College 47%
  • % Women
  • CIIS 81%
  • Alma College 53%
  • Racial Diversity
  • CIIS High
  • Alma College Very Low
  • HBCU
  • CIIS No
  • Alma College No
  • % White
  • CIIS 47%
  • Alma College 83%
  • % Asian
  • CIIS 5%
  • Alma College 1%
  • % Black
  • CIIS 9%
  • Alma College 4%
  • % Hispanic
  • CIIS 19%
  • Alma College 4%
  • % Native American
  • CIIS 1%
  • Alma College 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • CIIS 1%
  • Alma College 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • CIIS 10%
  • Alma College 2%
  • % International
  • CIIS 4%
  • Alma College 1%
  • % Unknown Race
  • CIIS 3%
  • Alma College 4%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • CIIS -
  • Alma College 81%
  • % Out-of-State
  • CIIS -
  • Alma College 11%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • CIIS No
  • Alma College Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • CIIS
  • Alma College No
  • Meal Plan
  • CIIS No
  • Alma College Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • CIIS Yes
  • Alma College No
  • Daycare Facility
  • CIIS
  • Alma College No

Comparable Facts

Compare California Institute of Integral Studies in San Francisco, CA with Alma College in Alma, MI on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

California Institute of Integral Studies is larger than Alma College based on total student enrollment (1,874 students vs. 1,197 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • California Institute of Integral Studies is located in San Francisco, CA (Large City setting); Alma College is in Alma, MI (Distant Town setting).
  • California Institute of Integral Studies is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Alma College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: California Institute of Integral Studies 15:1; Alma College 14:1.

CIIS vs. Alma College Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, CIIS or Alma College? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • In-state tuition differs between Alma College and CIIS ($49,552.00 vs. $0.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition differs between Alma College and California Institute of Integral Studies ($49,552.00 vs. $0.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Alma College than at California Institute of Integral Studies (100% vs. 0%).

CIIS vs. Alma College Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, CIIS or Alma College? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Alma College and CIIS.

  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: CIIS - Not reported; Alma College - Test-free.

CIIS vs. Alma College Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for CIIS and Alma College? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Among federal student loan borrowers, California Institute of Integral Studies graduates have a $8,250 lower median loan debt than Alma College graduates ($18,750 vs. $27,000).
  • Among borrowers, CIIS graduates have an estimated $86 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Alma College graduates ($193 vs. $279).
  • More Alma College graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former CIIS students, three years after graduation. (77% vs. 45%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.