Bryan College-Dayton vs. AU
Deciding between Bryan College Dayton and Averett University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Bryan College Dayton
Averett University
-
Overview
- Bryan College-Dayton
- AU
- Location
-
Bryan College-Dayton Dayton, TN
-
AU Danville, VA
-
-
- Setting
-
Bryan College-Dayton Distant Town
-
AU Small City
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Bryan College-Dayton 1,701
-
AU 1,476
-
-
- Type
-
Bryan College-Dayton Private 4 Year
-
AU Private 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
Bryan College-Dayton
-
AU #637
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
Bryan College-Dayton Interdenominational
-
AU -
-
-
- Status
-
Bryan College-Dayton Non-profit
-
AU Non-profit
-
-
- Website
-
Bryan College-Dayton bryan.edu
-
AU averett.edu
-
-
- Team Colors
-
Bryan College-Dayton
-
AU
-
-
-
Cost
- Bryan College-Dayton
- AU
- Tuition (In State)
-
Bryan College-Dayton $19,800
-
AU $38,550
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
Bryan College-Dayton $19,800
-
AU $38,550
-
-
- Room & Board
-
Bryan College-Dayton $9,000
-
AU $14,530
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
Bryan College-Dayton $18,159
-
AU $23,471
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
Bryan College-Dayton $13,271
-
AU $29,998
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
Bryan College-Dayton 99%
-
AU 99%
-
-
-
Admissions
- Bryan College-Dayton
- AU
- Applied
-
Bryan College-Dayton -
-
AU 2,573
-
-
- Admitted
-
Bryan College-Dayton -
-
AU 1,456
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
Bryan College-Dayton
-
AU 56.6%
-
-
- Enrolled
-
Bryan College-Dayton
-
AU 18.1%
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Bryan College-Dayton
-
AU 1030
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Bryan College-Dayton
-
AU 21
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
Bryan College-Dayton 3.67
-
AU 3.07
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
Bryan College-Dayton A-
-
AU B
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
Bryan College-Dayton Unavailable
-
AU Moderate
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
Bryan College-Dayton
-
AU Low
-
-
- ACT Range
-
Bryan College-Dayton
-
AU 15/28
-
-
- SAT Range
-
Bryan College-Dayton
-
AU 926/1143
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
Bryan College-Dayton Not reported
-
AU Test optional
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
Bryan College-Dayton
-
AU
-
-
-
Academics
- Bryan College-Dayton
- AU
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
Bryan College-Dayton 14:1
-
AU 16:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
Bryan College-Dayton
- Business (58%)
- Communication (8%)
- Education (7%)
- Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (4%)
- Psychology (4%)
-
AU
- Business (23%)
- Education (10%)
- Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (7%)
- Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (7%)
- Computer and Information Sciences (7%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Bryan College-Dayton
- AU
- Graduation Rate
-
Bryan College-Dayton 56%
-
AU 41%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
Bryan College-Dayton $40,700
-
AU $48,400
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
Bryan College-Dayton 70%
-
AU 51%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
Bryan College-Dayton N/A
-
AU $25,000
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
Bryan College-Dayton N/A
-
AU $258
-
-
-
Diversity
- Bryan College-Dayton
- AU
- % Men
-
Bryan College-Dayton 46%
-
AU 45%
-
-
- % Women
-
Bryan College-Dayton 54%
-
AU 55%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
Bryan College-Dayton Very Low
-
AU Medium
-
-
- HBCU
-
Bryan College-Dayton No
-
AU No
-
-
- % White
-
Bryan College-Dayton 82%
-
AU 58%
-
-
- % Asian
-
Bryan College-Dayton 1%
-
AU 1%
-
-
- % Black
-
Bryan College-Dayton 7%
-
AU 33%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
Bryan College-Dayton 3%
-
AU 4%
-
-
- % Native American
-
Bryan College-Dayton 0%
-
AU 1%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
Bryan College-Dayton 0%
-
AU 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
Bryan College-Dayton 3%
-
AU 0%
-
-
- % International
-
Bryan College-Dayton 3%
-
AU 4%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
Bryan College-Dayton 1%
-
AU 0%
-
-
-
Students
- Bryan College-Dayton
- AU
- % In-State
-
Bryan College-Dayton 65%
-
AU 54%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
Bryan College-Dayton 28%
-
AU 39%
-
-
-
Campus
- Bryan College-Dayton
- AU
- Campus Housing
-
Bryan College-Dayton Yes
-
AU Yes
-
-
- Freshman Dorm Required
-
Bryan College-Dayton No
-
AU No
-
-
- Meal Plan
-
Bryan College-Dayton Yes
-
AU Yes
-
-
- Weekend/Evening Classes
-
Bryan College-Dayton No
-
AU No
-
-
- Daycare Facility
-
Bryan College-Dayton No
-
AU No
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Bryan College Dayton in Dayton, TN with Averett University in Danville, VA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Bryan College Dayton is larger than AU based on total student enrollment (1,701 students vs. 1,476 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Bryan College Dayton is located in Dayton, TN (Distant Town setting); Averett University is in Danville, VA (Small City setting).
- Bryan College Dayton is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Averett University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Bryan College Dayton 14:1; Averett University 16:1.
Bryan College-Dayton vs. AU Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, Bryan College-Dayton or AU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Bryan College Dayton than AU ($18,159 vs. $23,471).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Bryan College Dayton are 38.1% lower than at Averett University ($9,000 vs. $14,530).
- Averett University is 94.7% more expensive for in-state tuition than Bryan College-Dayton (about $18,750 more per year; $38,550.00 vs. $19,800.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 94.7% higher at AU than at Bryan College Dayton (about $18,750 more per year; $38,550.00 vs. $19,800.00).
- The same share of students receive grant aid at Bryan College Dayton as at Averett University (99% vs. 99%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Averett University students is 126% larger than aid received by Bryan College Dayton students ($29,998 vs. $13,271).
Bryan College-Dayton vs. AU Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, Bryan College-Dayton or AU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between AU and Bryan College-Dayton.
- Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsAverett University 926/1143.
- Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsAverett University 15/28.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Bryan College-Dayton - Not reported; AU - Test optional.
- Accepted freshman Bryan College-Dayton students have a 0.6 point higher average high school GPA (3.67) than students at AU (3.07).
Bryan College-Dayton vs. AU Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for Bryan College-Dayton and AU? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Bryan College Dayton's six-year graduation rate (56%) is higher than Averett University's (41%).
- Graduates from Averett University earn a median of about $7,700 more per year than Bryan College-Dayton graduates about ten years after starting college ($48,400 vs. $40,700), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- More Bryan College-Dayton graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former AU students, three years after graduation. (70% vs. 51%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.