Bethune-Cookman vs. SCU

Deciding between Bethune Cookman University and Southwestern Christian University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Bethune Cookman University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Bethune-Cookman Daytona Beach, FL
  • SCU Bethany, OK
  • Setting
  • Bethune-Cookman Small City
  • SCU Large Suburban
  • Total enrollment
  • Bethune-Cookman 2,853
  • SCU 399
  • Type
  • Bethune-Cookman Private 4 Year
  • SCU Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Bethune-Cookman #1008
  • SCU
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Bethune-Cookman United Methodist
  • SCU Pentecostal Holiness Church
  • Status
  • Bethune-Cookman Non-profit
  • SCU Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Bethune-Cookman
  • SCU
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Bethune-Cookman $14,794
  • SCU $21,900
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Bethune-Cookman $14,794
  • SCU $21,900
  • Room & Board
  • Bethune-Cookman $10,396
  • SCU $10,100
  • Average Net Price
  • Bethune-Cookman $12,476
  • SCU $20,528
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Bethune-Cookman $17,181
  • SCU $12,784
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Bethune-Cookman 98%
  • SCU 100%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Bethune-Cookman 10,994
  • SCU -
  • Admitted
  • Bethune-Cookman 9,701
  • SCU -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Bethune-Cookman 88.2%
  • SCU
  • Enrolled
  • Bethune-Cookman 10.4%
  • SCU
  • Typical SAT score
  • Bethune-Cookman 910
  • SCU
  • Typical ACT score
  • Bethune-Cookman
  • SCU
  • Average High School GPA
  • Bethune-Cookman 3.3
  • SCU 3.22
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Bethune-Cookman B+
  • SCU B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • Bethune-Cookman Extremely Easy
  • SCU Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • Bethune-Cookman
  • SCU
  • ACT Range
  • Bethune-Cookman
  • SCU
  • SAT Range
  • Bethune-Cookman 830/990
  • SCU
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Bethune-Cookman Test optional
  • SCU Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • Bethune-Cookman
  • SCU
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Bethune-Cookman 17:1
  • SCU 13:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Bethune-Cookman
    • Business (21%)
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (14%)
    • Education (12%)
    • Health Professions (11%)
    • Psychology (9%)
  • SCU
    • Human Services (34%)
    • Business (27%)
    • Philosophy and Religious Studies (16%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (10%)
    • Theology and Religious Vvocations (9%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Bethune-Cookman 37%
  • SCU 28%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Bethune-Cookman $31,700
  • SCU $27,400
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Bethune-Cookman 20%
  • SCU 38%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Bethune-Cookman $35,985
  • SCU $27,000
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Bethune-Cookman $372
  • SCU $279
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Bethune-Cookman 37%
  • SCU 61%
  • % Women
  • Bethune-Cookman 63%
  • SCU 39%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Bethune-Cookman Very Low
  • SCU High
  • HBCU
  • Bethune-Cookman Yes
  • SCU No
  • % White
  • Bethune-Cookman 2%
  • SCU 44%
  • % Asian
  • Bethune-Cookman 0%
  • SCU 1%
  • % Black
  • Bethune-Cookman 85%
  • SCU 25%
  • % Hispanic
  • Bethune-Cookman 3%
  • SCU 8%
  • % Native American
  • Bethune-Cookman 0%
  • SCU 4%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Bethune-Cookman 0%
  • SCU 1%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Bethune-Cookman 3%
  • SCU 3%
  • % International
  • Bethune-Cookman 2%
  • SCU 10%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Bethune-Cookman 5%
  • SCU 4%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Bethune-Cookman 84%
  • SCU 72%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Bethune-Cookman 15%
  • SCU 15%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Bethune-Cookman Yes
  • SCU Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Bethune-Cookman No
  • SCU No
  • Meal Plan
  • Bethune-Cookman Yes
  • SCU Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Bethune-Cookman Yes
  • SCU Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • Bethune-Cookman No
  • SCU No

Comparable Facts

Compare Bethune Cookman University in Daytona Beach, FL with Southwestern Christian University in Bethany, OK on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Bethune Cookman University is larger than SCU based on total student enrollment (2,853 students vs. 399 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Bethune Cookman University is located in Daytona Beach, FL (Small City setting); Southwestern Christian University is in Bethany, OK (Large Suburban setting).
  • Bethune Cookman University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Southwestern Christian University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Bethune Cookman University 17:1; Southwestern Christian University 13:1.

Bethune-Cookman vs. SCU Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Bethune-Cookman or SCU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Bethune Cookman University than SCU ($12,476 vs. $20,528).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Southwestern Christian University are 2.8% lower than at Bethune Cookman University ($10,100 vs. $10,396).
  • Southwestern Christian University is 48% more expensive for in-state tuition than Bethune-Cookman (about $7,106 more per year; $21,900.00 vs. $14,794.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 48% higher at SCU than at Bethune Cookman University (about $7,106 more per year; $21,900.00 vs. $14,794.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Southwestern Christian University than at Bethune Cookman University (100% vs. 98%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Bethune Cookman University students is 34.4% larger than aid received by Southwestern Christian University students ($17,181 vs. $12,784).

Bethune-Cookman vs. SCU Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Bethune-Cookman or SCU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between SCU and Bethune-Cookman.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Bethune Cookman University 830/990.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Bethune-Cookman - Test optional; SCU - Not reported.
  • Accepted freshman Bethune-Cookman students have a 0.08 point higher average high school GPA (3.3) than students at SCU (3.22).

Bethune-Cookman vs. SCU Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Bethune-Cookman and SCU? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Bethune Cookman University's six-year graduation rate (37%) is higher than Southwestern Christian University's (28%).
  • Graduates from Bethune Cookman University earn a median of about $4,300 more per year than SCU graduates about ten years after starting college ($31,700 vs. $27,400), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Southwestern Christian University graduates have a $8,985 lower median loan debt than Bethune-Cookman graduates ($27,000 vs. $35,985).
  • Among borrowers, SCU graduates have an estimated $93 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Bethune-Cookman graduates ($279 vs. $372).
  • More SCU graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Bethune-Cookman students, three years after graduation. (38% vs. 20%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.