Bethesda University vs. Alma College

Deciding between Bethesda University and Alma College? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Alma College

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Bethesda University Anaheim, CA
  • Alma College Alma, MI
  • Setting
  • Bethesda University Large City
  • Alma College Distant Town
  • Total enrollment
  • Bethesda University 263
  • Alma College 1,197
  • Type
  • Bethesda University Private 4 Year
  • Alma College Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Bethesda University
  • Alma College
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Bethesda University Other (none of the above)
  • Alma College Presbyterian Church (USA)
  • Status
  • Bethesda University Non-profit
  • Alma College Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Bethesda University
  • Alma College
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Bethesda University $7,220
  • Alma College $49,552
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Bethesda University $7,220
  • Alma College $49,552
  • Room & Board
  • Bethesda University $14,515
  • Alma College $14,180
  • Average Net Price
  • Bethesda University $20,099
  • Alma College $22,094
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Bethesda University $2,343
  • Alma College $41,618
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Bethesda University 44%
  • Alma College 100%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Bethesda University -
  • Alma College 5,208
  • Admitted
  • Bethesda University -
  • Alma College 2,970
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Bethesda University
  • Alma College 57%
  • Enrolled
  • Bethesda University
  • Alma College 9.6%
  • Typical SAT score
  • Bethesda University
  • Alma College
  • Typical ACT score
  • Bethesda University
  • Alma College
  • Average High School GPA
  • Bethesda University -
  • Alma College 3.5
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Bethesda University -
  • Alma College A-
  • Admissions Standards
  • Bethesda University Unavailable
  • Alma College Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • Bethesda University
  • Alma College Low
  • ACT Range
  • Bethesda University
  • Alma College
  • SAT Range
  • Bethesda University
  • Alma College
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Bethesda University Not reported
  • Alma College Test-free
  • Application Deadline
  • Bethesda University Aug 11, 2027
  • Alma College
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Bethesda University 7:1
  • Alma College 14:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Bethesda University
    • Theology and Religious Vvocations (62%)
    • Visual and Performing Arts (24%)
    • Education (14%)
  • Alma College
    • Business (21%)
    • Biology (15%)
    • Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (10%)
    • Visual and Performing Arts (10%)
    • Social Sciences (7%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Bethesda University 34%
  • Alma College 67%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Bethesda University N/A
  • Alma College $48,300
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Bethesda University 53%
  • Alma College 77%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Bethesda University N/A
  • Alma College $27,000
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Bethesda University N/A
  • Alma College $279
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Bethesda University 71%
  • Alma College 47%
  • % Women
  • Bethesda University 29%
  • Alma College 53%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Bethesda University Very High
  • Alma College Very Low
  • HBCU
  • Bethesda University No
  • Alma College No
  • % White
  • Bethesda University 8%
  • Alma College 83%
  • % Asian
  • Bethesda University 12%
  • Alma College 1%
  • % Black
  • Bethesda University 19%
  • Alma College 4%
  • % Hispanic
  • Bethesda University 18%
  • Alma College 4%
  • % Native American
  • Bethesda University 0%
  • Alma College 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Bethesda University 0%
  • Alma College 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Bethesda University 0%
  • Alma College 2%
  • % International
  • Bethesda University 38%
  • Alma College 1%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Bethesda University 6%
  • Alma College 4%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Bethesda University 24%
  • Alma College 81%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Bethesda University 7%
  • Alma College 11%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Bethesda University No
  • Alma College Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Bethesda University No
  • Alma College No
  • Meal Plan
  • Bethesda University No
  • Alma College Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Bethesda University No
  • Alma College No
  • Daycare Facility
  • Bethesda University No
  • Alma College No

Comparable Facts

Compare Bethesda University in Anaheim, CA with Alma College in Alma, MI on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Alma College is larger than Bethesda University based on total student enrollment (1,197 students vs. 263 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Bethesda University is located in Anaheim, CA (Large City setting); Alma College is in Alma, MI (Distant Town setting).
  • Bethesda University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Alma College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Bethesda University 7:1; Alma College 14:1.

Bethesda University vs. Alma College Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Bethesda University or Alma College? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Bethesda University than Alma College ($20,099 vs. $22,094).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Alma College are 2.3% lower than at Bethesda University ($14,180 vs. $14,515).
  • Alma College is 586.3% more expensive for in-state tuition than Bethesda University (about $42,332 more per year; $49,552.00 vs. $7,220.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 586.3% higher at Alma College than at Bethesda University (about $42,332 more per year; $49,552.00 vs. $7,220.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Alma College than at Bethesda University (100% vs. 44%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Alma College students is 1,676.3% larger than aid received by Bethesda University students ($41,618 vs. $2,343).

Bethesda University vs. Alma College Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Bethesda University or Alma College? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Alma College and Bethesda University.

  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Bethesda University - Not reported; Alma College - Test-free.
  • Typical fall application deadline: Bethesda University Aug 11, 2027.

Bethesda University vs. Alma College Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Bethesda University and Alma College? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Alma College's six-year graduation rate (67%) is higher than Bethesda University's (34%).
  • More Alma College graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Bethesda University students, three years after graduation. (77% vs. 53%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.