Franklin Institute of Boston vs. Lane College
Deciding between Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology and Lane College? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology
Lane College
-
Overview
- Franklin Institute of Boston
- Lane College
- Location
-
Franklin Institute of Boston Boston, MA
-
Lane College Jackson, TN
-
-
- Setting
-
Franklin Institute of Boston Large City
-
Lane College Small City
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 744
-
Lane College 738
-
-
- Type
-
Franklin Institute of Boston Private 4 Year
-
Lane College Private 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
Franklin Institute of Boston
-
Lane College
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
Franklin Institute of Boston -
-
Lane College Christian Methodist Episcopal
-
-
- Status
-
Franklin Institute of Boston Non-profit
-
Lane College Non-profit
-
-
- Website
-
Franklin Institute of Boston bfit.edu
-
Lane College lanecollege.edu
-
-
- Team Colors
-
Franklin Institute of Boston
-
Lane College
-
-
-
Cost
- Franklin Institute of Boston
- Lane College
- Tuition (In State)
-
Franklin Institute of Boston $18,906
-
Lane College $11,790
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
Franklin Institute of Boston $18,906
-
Lane College $11,790
-
-
- Room & Board
-
Franklin Institute of Boston $13,500
-
Lane College $7,610
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
Franklin Institute of Boston $14,841
-
Lane College $11,803
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
Franklin Institute of Boston $15,180
-
Lane College $11,689
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 85%
-
Lane College 88%
-
-
-
Admissions
- Franklin Institute of Boston
- Lane College
- Applied
-
Franklin Institute of Boston -
-
Lane College -
-
-
- Admitted
-
Franklin Institute of Boston -
-
Lane College -
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
Franklin Institute of Boston Open
-
Lane College
-
-
- Enrolled
-
Franklin Institute of Boston Open
-
Lane College
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Franklin Institute of Boston
-
Lane College
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Franklin Institute of Boston
-
Lane College
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 2.32
-
Lane College 2.57
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
Franklin Institute of Boston C+
-
Lane College B-
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
Franklin Institute of Boston Unavailable
-
Lane College Unavailable
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
Franklin Institute of Boston
-
Lane College
-
-
- ACT Range
-
Franklin Institute of Boston
-
Lane College
-
-
- SAT Range
-
Franklin Institute of Boston
-
Lane College
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
Franklin Institute of Boston Open admission
-
Lane College Not reported
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
Franklin Institute of Boston
-
Lane College Aug 21, 2027
-
-
-
Academics
- Franklin Institute of Boston
- Lane College
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 10:1
-
Lane College 15:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
Franklin Institute of Boston
- Mechanic and Repair Technologies (36%)
- Engineering Technology (33%)
- Health Professions (19%)
- Construction Trades (11%)
-
Lane College
- Business (18%)
- Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (17%)
- Social Sciences (17%)
- Biology (14%)
- Education (9%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Franklin Institute of Boston
- Lane College
- Graduation Rate
-
Franklin Institute of Boston -
-
Lane College 34%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
Franklin Institute of Boston $41,700
-
Lane College $25,000
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 43%
-
Lane College 12%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
Franklin Institute of Boston $12,000
-
Lane College $36,464
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
Franklin Institute of Boston $124
-
Lane College $377
-
-
-
Diversity
- Franklin Institute of Boston
- Lane College
- % Men
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 78%
-
Lane College 55%
-
-
- % Women
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 22%
-
Lane College 45%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
Franklin Institute of Boston Very High
-
Lane College Extremely Low
-
-
- HBCU
-
Franklin Institute of Boston No
-
Lane College Yes
-
-
- % White
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 30%
-
Lane College 1%
-
-
- % Asian
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 7%
-
Lane College 0%
-
-
- % Black
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 28%
-
Lane College 97%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 23%
-
Lane College 0%
-
-
- % Native American
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 0%
-
Lane College 0%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 1%
-
Lane College 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 4%
-
Lane College 1%
-
-
- % International
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 0%
-
Lane College 0%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 6%
-
Lane College 0%
-
-
-
Students
- Franklin Institute of Boston
- Lane College
- % In-State
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 100%
-
Lane College 58%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 0%
-
Lane College 40%
-
-
-
Campus
- Franklin Institute of Boston
- Lane College
- Campus Housing
-
Franklin Institute of Boston Yes
-
Lane College Yes
-
-
- Freshman Dorm Required
-
Franklin Institute of Boston No
-
Lane College No
-
-
- Meal Plan
-
Franklin Institute of Boston Yes
-
Lane College Yes
-
-
- Weekend/Evening Classes
-
Franklin Institute of Boston Yes
-
Lane College Yes
-
-
- Daycare Facility
-
Franklin Institute of Boston No
-
Lane College No
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology in Boston, MA with Lane College in Jackson, TN on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology is larger than Lane College based on total student enrollment (744 students vs. 738 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology is located in Boston, MA (Large City setting); Lane College is in Jackson, TN (Small City setting).
- Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Lane College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology 10:1; Lane College 15:1.
Franklin Institute of Boston vs. Lane College Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, Franklin Institute of Boston or Lane College? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Lane College than Franklin Institute of Boston ($11,803 vs. $14,841).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Lane College are 43.6% lower than at Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology ($7,610 vs. $13,500).
- Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology is 60.4% more expensive for in-state tuition than Lane College (about $7,116 more per year; $18,906.00 vs. $11,790.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 60.4% higher at Franklin Institute of Boston than at Lane College (about $7,116 more per year; $18,906.00 vs. $11,790.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Lane College than at Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology (88% vs. 85%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology students is 29.9% larger than aid received by Lane College students ($15,180 vs. $11,689).
Franklin Institute of Boston vs. Lane College Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, Franklin Institute of Boston or Lane College? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Lane College and Franklin Institute of Boston.
- Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology reports an open admissions policy.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Franklin Institute of Boston - Open admission; Lane College - Not reported.
- Typical fall application deadline: Lane College Aug 21, 2027.
- Accepted freshman Lane College students have a 0.25 point higher average high school GPA (2.57) than students at Franklin Institute of Boston (2.32).
Franklin Institute of Boston vs. Lane College Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for Franklin Institute of Boston and Lane College? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Graduates from Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology earn a median of about $16,700 more per year than Lane College graduates about ten years after starting college ($41,700 vs. $25,000), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology graduates have a $24,464 lower median loan debt than Lane College graduates ($12,000 vs. $36,464).
- Among borrowers, Franklin Institute of Boston graduates have an estimated $253 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Lane College graduates ($124 vs. $377).
- More Franklin Institute of Boston graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Lane College students, three years after graduation. (43% vs. 12%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.