Mission University vs. SCU
Deciding between Mission University and Southwestern Christian University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Mission University
Southwestern Christian University
-
Overview
- Mission University
- SCU
- Location
-
Mission University Springfield, MO
-
SCU Bethany, OK
-
-
- Setting
-
Mission University Midsize City
-
SCU Large Suburban
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Mission University 434
-
SCU 399
-
-
- Type
-
Mission University Private 4 Year
-
SCU Private 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
Mission University
-
SCU
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
Mission University Baptist
-
SCU Pentecostal Holiness Church
-
-
- Status
-
Mission University Non-profit
-
SCU Non-profit
-
-
- Website
-
Mission University mission.edu
-
SCU swcu.edu
-
-
- Team Colors
-
Mission University
-
SCU
-
-
-
Cost
- Mission University
- SCU
- Tuition (In State)
-
Mission University $16,950
-
SCU $21,900
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
Mission University $16,950
-
SCU $21,900
-
-
- Room & Board
-
Mission University $8,800
-
SCU $10,100
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
Mission University $23,118
-
SCU $20,528
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
Mission University $5,864
-
SCU $12,784
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
Mission University 99%
-
SCU 100%
-
-
-
Admissions
- Mission University
- SCU
- Applied
-
Mission University -
-
SCU -
-
-
- Admitted
-
Mission University -
-
SCU -
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
Mission University Open
-
SCU
-
-
- Enrolled
-
Mission University Open
-
SCU
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Mission University
-
SCU
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Mission University
-
SCU
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
Mission University -
-
SCU 3.22
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
Mission University -
-
SCU B+
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
Mission University Unavailable
-
SCU Unavailable
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
Mission University
-
SCU
-
-
- ACT Range
-
Mission University
-
SCU
-
-
- SAT Range
-
Mission University
-
SCU
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
Mission University Open admission
-
SCU Not reported
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
Mission University
-
SCU
-
-
-
Academics
- Mission University
- SCU
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
Mission University 7:1
-
SCU 13:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
Mission University
- Philosophy and Religious Studies (40%)
- General Studies (15%)
- Theology and Religious Vvocations (14%)
- Education (12%)
- Business (11%)
-
SCU
- Human Services (34%)
- Business (27%)
- Philosophy and Religious Studies (16%)
- Liberal Arts and Humanities (10%)
- Theology and Religious Vvocations (9%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Mission University
- SCU
- Graduation Rate
-
Mission University 26%
-
SCU 28%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
Mission University $33,600
-
SCU $27,400
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
Mission University 59%
-
SCU 38%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
Mission University $22,765
-
SCU $27,000
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
Mission University $235
-
SCU $279
-
-
-
Diversity
- Mission University
- SCU
- % Men
-
Mission University 64%
-
SCU 61%
-
-
- % Women
-
Mission University 36%
-
SCU 39%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
Mission University Very Low
-
SCU High
-
-
- HBCU
-
Mission University No
-
SCU No
-
-
- % White
-
Mission University 86%
-
SCU 44%
-
-
- % Asian
-
Mission University 1%
-
SCU 1%
-
-
- % Black
-
Mission University 4%
-
SCU 25%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
Mission University 4%
-
SCU 8%
-
-
- % Native American
-
Mission University 1%
-
SCU 4%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
Mission University 1%
-
SCU 1%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
Mission University 4%
-
SCU 3%
-
-
- % International
-
Mission University 0%
-
SCU 10%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
Mission University 0%
-
SCU 4%
-
-
-
Students
- Mission University
- SCU
- % In-State
-
Mission University 67%
-
SCU 72%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
Mission University 29%
-
SCU 15%
-
-
-
Campus
- Mission University
- SCU
- Campus Housing
-
Mission University Yes
-
SCU Yes
-
-
- Freshman Dorm Required
-
Mission University No
-
SCU No
-
-
- Meal Plan
-
Mission University Yes
-
SCU Yes
-
-
- Weekend/Evening Classes
-
Mission University Yes
-
SCU Yes
-
-
- Daycare Facility
-
Mission University Yes
-
SCU No
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Mission University in Springfield, MO with Southwestern Christian University in Bethany, OK on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Mission University is larger than SCU based on total student enrollment (434 students vs. 399 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Mission University is located in Springfield, MO (Midsize City setting); Southwestern Christian University is in Bethany, OK (Large Suburban setting).
- Mission University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Southwestern Christian University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Mission University 7:1; Southwestern Christian University 13:1.
Mission University vs. SCU Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, Mission University or SCU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Southwestern Christian University than Mission University ($20,528 vs. $23,118).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Mission University are 12.9% lower than at Southwestern Christian University ($8,800 vs. $10,100).
- Southwestern Christian University is 29.2% more expensive for in-state tuition than Mission University (about $4,950 more per year; $21,900.00 vs. $16,950.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 29.2% higher at SCU than at Mission University (about $4,950 more per year; $21,900.00 vs. $16,950.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Southwestern Christian University than at Mission University (100% vs. 99%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Southwestern Christian University students is 118% larger than aid received by Mission University students ($12,784 vs. $5,864).
Mission University vs. SCU Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, Mission University or SCU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between SCU and Mission University.
- Mission University reports an open admissions policy.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Mission University - Open admission; SCU - Not reported.
Mission University vs. SCU Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for Mission University and SCU? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Southwestern Christian University's six-year graduation rate (28%) is higher than Mission University's (26%).
- Graduates from Mission University earn a median of about $6,200 more per year than SCU graduates about ten years after starting college ($33,600 vs. $27,400), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Mission University graduates have a $4,235 lower median loan debt than SCU graduates ($22,765 vs. $27,000).
- Among borrowers, Mission University graduates have an estimated $44 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than SCU graduates ($235 vs. $279).
- More Mission University graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former SCU students, three years after graduation. (59% vs. 38%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.