Avila University vs. SCU

Deciding between Avila University and Southwestern Christian University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Avila University Kansas City, MO
  • SCU Bethany, OK
  • Setting
  • Avila University Large City
  • SCU Large Suburban
  • Total enrollment
  • Avila University 2,768
  • SCU 399
  • Type
  • Avila University Private 4 Year
  • SCU Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Avila University #985
  • SCU
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Avila University Roman Catholic
  • SCU Pentecostal Holiness Church
  • Status
  • Avila University Non-profit
  • SCU Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Avila University
  • SCU
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Avila University $42,000
  • SCU $21,900
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Avila University $42,000
  • SCU $21,900
  • Room & Board
  • Avila University $9,337
  • SCU $10,100
  • Average Net Price
  • Avila University $17,004
  • SCU $20,528
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Avila University $32,883
  • SCU $12,784
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Avila University 100%
  • SCU 100%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Avila University 3,975
  • SCU -
  • Admitted
  • Avila University 3,490
  • SCU -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Avila University 87.8%
  • SCU
  • Enrolled
  • Avila University 7.2%
  • SCU
  • Typical SAT score
  • Avila University 880
  • SCU
  • Typical ACT score
  • Avila University 18
  • SCU
  • Average High School GPA
  • Avila University 3.24
  • SCU 3.22
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Avila University B+
  • SCU B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • Avila University Extremely Easy
  • SCU Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • Avila University
  • SCU
  • ACT Range
  • Avila University 16/21
  • SCU
  • SAT Range
  • Avila University 800/960
  • SCU
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Avila University Test optional
  • SCU Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • Avila University
  • SCU
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Avila University 19:1
  • SCU 13:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Avila University
    • Health Professions (32%)
    • Business (13%)
    • Psychology (11%)
    • Visual and Performing Arts (7%)
    • Education (6%)
  • SCU
    • Human Services (34%)
    • Business (27%)
    • Philosophy and Religious Studies (16%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (10%)
    • Theology and Religious Vvocations (9%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Avila University 42%
  • SCU 28%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Avila University $45,100
  • SCU $27,400
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Avila University 59%
  • SCU 38%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Avila University $26,000
  • SCU $27,000
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Avila University $268
  • SCU $279
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Avila University 46%
  • SCU 61%
  • % Women
  • Avila University 54%
  • SCU 39%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Avila University High
  • SCU High
  • HBCU
  • Avila University No
  • SCU No
  • % White
  • Avila University 59%
  • SCU 44%
  • % Asian
  • Avila University 2%
  • SCU 1%
  • % Black
  • Avila University 19%
  • SCU 25%
  • % Hispanic
  • Avila University 8%
  • SCU 8%
  • % Native American
  • Avila University 1%
  • SCU 4%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Avila University 0%
  • SCU 1%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Avila University 3%
  • SCU 3%
  • % International
  • Avila University 8%
  • SCU 10%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Avila University 0%
  • SCU 4%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Avila University 65%
  • SCU 72%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Avila University 33%
  • SCU 15%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Avila University Yes
  • SCU Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Avila University No
  • SCU No
  • Meal Plan
  • Avila University Yes
  • SCU Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Avila University Yes
  • SCU Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • Avila University No
  • SCU No

Comparable Facts

Compare Avila University in Kansas City, MO with Southwestern Christian University in Bethany, OK on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Avila University is larger than SCU based on total student enrollment (2,768 students vs. 399 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Avila University is located in Kansas City, MO (Large City setting); Southwestern Christian University is in Bethany, OK (Large Suburban setting).
  • Avila University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Southwestern Christian University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Avila University 19:1; Southwestern Christian University 13:1.

Avila University vs. SCU Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Avila University or SCU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Avila University than SCU ($17,004 vs. $20,528).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Avila University are 7.6% lower than at Southwestern Christian University ($9,337 vs. $10,100).
  • Avila University is 91.8% more expensive for in-state tuition than SCU (about $20,100 more per year; $42,000.00 vs. $21,900.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 91.8% higher at Avila University than at Southwestern Christian University (about $20,100 more per year; $42,000.00 vs. $21,900.00).
  • The same share of students receive grant aid at Avila University as at Southwestern Christian University (100% vs. 100%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Avila University students is 157.2% larger than aid received by Southwestern Christian University students ($32,883 vs. $12,784).

Avila University vs. SCU Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Avila University or SCU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between SCU and Avila University.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Avila University 800/960.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Avila University 16/21.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Avila University - Test optional; SCU - Not reported.
  • Accepted freshman Avila University students have a 0.02 point higher average high school GPA (3.24) than students at SCU (3.22).

Avila University vs. SCU Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Avila University and SCU? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Avila University's six-year graduation rate (42%) is higher than Southwestern Christian University's (28%).
  • Graduates from Avila University earn a median of about $17,700 more per year than SCU graduates about ten years after starting college ($45,100 vs. $27,400), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Avila University graduates have a $1,000 lower median loan debt than SCU graduates ($26,000 vs. $27,000).
  • Among borrowers, Avila University graduates have an estimated $11 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than SCU graduates ($268 vs. $279).
  • More Avila University graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former SCU students, three years after graduation. (59% vs. 38%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.