Athens State University vs. NWOSU
Deciding between Athens State University and Northwestern Oklahoma State University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Athens State University
Northwestern Oklahoma State University
-
Overview
- Athens State University
- NWOSU
- Location
-
Athens State University Athens, AL
-
NWOSU Alva, OK
-
-
- Setting
-
Athens State University Town Fringe
-
NWOSU Remote Town
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Athens State University 2,986
-
NWOSU 2,079
-
-
- Type
-
Athens State University Public 4 Year
-
NWOSU Public 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
Athens State University
-
NWOSU #845
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
Athens State University -
-
NWOSU -
-
-
- Status
-
Athens State University Non-profit
-
NWOSU Non-profit
-
-
- Website
-
Athens State University athens.edu
-
NWOSU nwosu.edu
-
-
- Team Colors
-
Athens State University
-
NWOSU
-
-
- Admission Chances
-
Athens State University My Chances
-
NWOSU My Chances
-
-
-
Cost
- Athens State University
- NWOSU
- Tuition (In State)
-
Athens State University $0
-
NWOSU $5,970
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
Athens State University $0
-
NWOSU $11,664
-
-
- Room & Board
-
Athens State University $0
-
NWOSU $5,720
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
Athens State University -
-
NWOSU $10,492
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
Athens State University $0
-
NWOSU $9,011
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
Athens State University 0%
-
NWOSU 95%
-
-
-
Admissions
- Athens State University
- NWOSU
- Admission Chances
-
Athens State University My Chances
-
NWOSU My Chances
-
-
- Applied
-
Athens State University -
-
NWOSU 1,375
-
-
- Admitted
-
Athens State University -
-
NWOSU 900
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
Athens State University
-
NWOSU 65.5%
-
-
- Enrolled
-
Athens State University
-
NWOSU 38.7%
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Athens State University
-
NWOSU 920
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Athens State University
-
NWOSU 18
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
Athens State University -
-
NWOSU 3.42
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
Athens State University -
-
NWOSU B+
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
Athens State University Unavailable
-
NWOSU Extremely Easy
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
Athens State University
-
NWOSU Low
-
-
- ACT Range
-
Athens State University
-
NWOSU 16/21
-
-
- SAT Range
-
Athens State University
-
NWOSU 803/1036
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
Athens State University Not reported
-
NWOSU Required
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
Athens State University
-
NWOSU
-
-
-
Academics
- Athens State University
- NWOSU
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
Athens State University 14:1
-
NWOSU 15:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
Athens State University
-
NWOSU
- Education (20%)
- Business (20%)
- Psychology (12%)
- Agriculture (8%)
- Health Professions (6%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Athens State University
- NWOSU
- Graduation Rate
-
Athens State University -
-
NWOSU 37%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
Athens State University $42,200
-
NWOSU $40,400
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
Athens State University 49%
-
NWOSU 55%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
Athens State University $18,534
-
NWOSU $14,315
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
Athens State University $191
-
NWOSU $148
-
-
-
Diversity
- Athens State University
- NWOSU
- % Men
-
Athens State University 29%
-
NWOSU 40%
-
-
- % Women
-
Athens State University 71%
-
NWOSU 60%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
Athens State University Low
-
NWOSU Medium
-
-
- HBCU
-
Athens State University No
-
NWOSU No
-
-
- % White
-
Athens State University 78%
-
NWOSU 63%
-
-
- % Asian
-
Athens State University 1%
-
NWOSU 1%
-
-
- % Black
-
Athens State University 12%
-
NWOSU 7%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
Athens State University 2%
-
NWOSU 8%
-
-
- % Native American
-
Athens State University 2%
-
NWOSU 7%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
Athens State University 0%
-
NWOSU 1%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
Athens State University 2%
-
NWOSU 0%
-
-
- % International
-
Athens State University 1%
-
NWOSU 6%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
Athens State University 3%
-
NWOSU 7%
-
-
-
Students
- Athens State University
- NWOSU
- % In-State
-
Athens State University -
-
NWOSU 73%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
Athens State University -
-
NWOSU 26%
-
-
-
Campus
- Athens State University
- NWOSU
- Campus Housing
-
Athens State University No
-
NWOSU Yes
-
-
- Freshman Dorm Required
-
Athens State University
-
NWOSU No
-
-
- Meal Plan
-
Athens State University No
-
NWOSU Yes
-
-
- Weekend/Evening Classes
-
Athens State University Yes
-
NWOSU Yes
-
-
- Daycare Facility
-
Athens State University
-
NWOSU No
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Athens State University in Athens, AL with Northwestern Oklahoma State University in Alva, OK on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Athens State University is larger than NWOSU based on total student enrollment (2,986 students vs. 2,079 students).
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Athens State University is located in Athens, AL (Town Fringe setting); Northwestern Oklahoma State University is in Alva, OK (Remote Town setting).
- Athens State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. Northwestern Oklahoma State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Athens State University 14:1; Northwestern Oklahoma State University 15:1.
Athens State University vs. NWOSU Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, Athens State University or NWOSU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- In-state tuition differs between Northwestern Oklahoma State University and Athens State University ($5,970.00 vs. $0.00).
- Out-of-state tuition differs between NWOSU and Athens State University ($11,664.00 vs. $0.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Northwestern Oklahoma State University than at Athens State University (95% vs. 0%).
Athens State University vs. NWOSU Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, Athens State University or NWOSU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (midpoint estimates from the mid-50% ranges in the table above), enrolled-tester score ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between NWOSU and Athens State University.
- Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) among enrolled freshmen who submitted scoresNorthwestern Oklahoma State University 803/1036.
- Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) among enrolled freshmen who submitted scoresNorthwestern Oklahoma State University 16/21.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Athens State University - Not reported; NWOSU - Required.
Athens State University vs. NWOSU Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for Athens State University and NWOSU? Where federal data is available for both schools, the bullets below compare graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt using the same College Scorecard / IPEDS fields as the comparison table. If a metric is missing for one school, that school is noted separately.
- Northwestern Oklahoma State University's six-year graduation rate is 37%. Comparable graduation rate data is not available for Athens State University.
- Graduates from Athens State University earn a median of about $1,800 more per year than NWOSU graduates about ten years after starting college ($42,200 vs. $40,400), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Northwestern Oklahoma State University graduates have a $4,219 lower median loan debt than Athens State University graduates ($14,315 vs. $18,534).
- Among borrowers, NWOSU graduates have an estimated $43 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Athens State University graduates ($148 vs. $191).
- More NWOSU graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Athens State University students, three years after graduation. (55% vs. 49%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.