Assumption University vs. SCU

Deciding between Assumption University and Southwestern Christian University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Assumption University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Assumption University Worcester, MA
  • SCU Bethany, OK
  • Setting
  • Assumption University Midsize City
  • SCU Large Suburban
  • Total enrollment
  • Assumption University 2,037
  • SCU 399
  • Type
  • Assumption University Private 4 Year
  • SCU Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Assumption University
  • SCU
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Assumption University Roman Catholic
  • SCU Pentecostal Holiness Church
  • Status
  • Assumption University Non-profit
  • SCU Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Assumption University
  • SCU
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Assumption University $51,356
  • SCU $21,900
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Assumption University $51,356
  • SCU $21,900
  • Room & Board
  • Assumption University $15,752
  • SCU $10,100
  • Average Net Price
  • Assumption University $29,748
  • SCU $20,528
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Assumption University $35,905
  • SCU $12,784
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Assumption University 100%
  • SCU 100%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Assumption University 5,900
  • SCU -
  • Admitted
  • Assumption University 4,896
  • SCU -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Assumption University 83%
  • SCU
  • Enrolled
  • Assumption University 10.2%
  • SCU
  • Typical SAT score
  • Assumption University
  • SCU
  • Typical ACT score
  • Assumption University
  • SCU
  • Average High School GPA
  • Assumption University 3.45
  • SCU 3.22
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Assumption University B+
  • SCU B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • Assumption University Unavailable
  • SCU Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • Assumption University
  • SCU
  • ACT Range
  • Assumption University
  • SCU
  • SAT Range
  • Assumption University
  • SCU
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Assumption University Test-free
  • SCU Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • Assumption University Feb 15, 2027
  • SCU
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Assumption University 11:1
  • SCU 13:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Assumption University
    • Business (31%)
    • Social Sciences (13%)
    • Psychology (8%)
    • Health Professions (8%)
    • Communication (8%)
  • SCU
    • Human Services (34%)
    • Business (27%)
    • Philosophy and Religious Studies (16%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (10%)
    • Theology and Religious Vvocations (9%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Assumption University 67%
  • SCU 28%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Assumption University $57,800
  • SCU $27,400
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Assumption University 84%
  • SCU 38%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Assumption University $27,000
  • SCU $27,000
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Assumption University $279
  • SCU $279
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Assumption University 42%
  • SCU 61%
  • % Women
  • Assumption University 58%
  • SCU 39%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Assumption University Low
  • SCU High
  • HBCU
  • Assumption University No
  • SCU No
  • % White
  • Assumption University 71%
  • SCU 44%
  • % Asian
  • Assumption University 2%
  • SCU 1%
  • % Black
  • Assumption University 5%
  • SCU 25%
  • % Hispanic
  • Assumption University 7%
  • SCU 8%
  • % Native American
  • Assumption University 0%
  • SCU 4%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Assumption University 0%
  • SCU 1%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Assumption University 2%
  • SCU 3%
  • % International
  • Assumption University 2%
  • SCU 10%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Assumption University 11%
  • SCU 4%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Assumption University 70%
  • SCU 72%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Assumption University 28%
  • SCU 15%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Assumption University Yes
  • SCU Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Assumption University No
  • SCU No
  • Meal Plan
  • Assumption University Yes
  • SCU Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Assumption University No
  • SCU Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • Assumption University No
  • SCU No

Comparable Facts

Compare Assumption University in Worcester, MA with Southwestern Christian University in Bethany, OK on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Assumption University is larger than SCU based on total student enrollment (2,037 students vs. 399 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Assumption University is located in Worcester, MA (Midsize City setting); Southwestern Christian University is in Bethany, OK (Large Suburban setting).
  • Assumption University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Southwestern Christian University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Assumption University 11:1; Southwestern Christian University 13:1.

Assumption University vs. SCU Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Assumption University or SCU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Southwestern Christian University than Assumption University ($20,528 vs. $29,748).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Southwestern Christian University are 35.9% lower than at Assumption University ($10,100 vs. $15,752).
  • Assumption University is 134.5% more expensive for in-state tuition than SCU (about $29,456 more per year; $51,356.00 vs. $21,900.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 134.5% higher at Assumption University than at Southwestern Christian University (about $29,456 more per year; $51,356.00 vs. $21,900.00).
  • The same share of students receive grant aid at Assumption University as at Southwestern Christian University (100% vs. 100%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Assumption University students is 180.9% larger than aid received by Southwestern Christian University students ($35,905 vs. $12,784).

Assumption University vs. SCU Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Assumption University or SCU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between SCU and Assumption University.

  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Assumption University - Test-free; SCU - Not reported.
  • Typical fall application deadline: Assumption University Feb 15, 2027.
  • Accepted freshman Assumption University students have a 0.23 point higher average high school GPA (3.45) than students at SCU (3.22).

Assumption University vs. SCU Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Assumption University and SCU? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Assumption University's six-year graduation rate (67%) is higher than Southwestern Christian University's (28%).
  • Graduates from Assumption University earn a median of about $30,400 more per year than SCU graduates about ten years after starting college ($57,800 vs. $27,400), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Southwestern Christian University and Assumption University graduates have the same median loan debt ($27,000 vs. $27,000).
  • Among borrowers in the federal data, Southwestern Christian University and Assumption University graduates have the same median monthly federal student loan payment ($279 vs. $279).
  • More Assumption University graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former SCU students, three years after graduation. (84% vs. 38%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.