ATU vs. RSU

Deciding between Arkansas Tech University and Rogers State University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Arkansas Tech University
Rogers State University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • ATU Russellville, AR
  • RSU Claremore, OK
  • Setting
  • ATU Remote Town
  • RSU Distant Town
  • Total enrollment
  • ATU 8,746
  • RSU 3,272
  • Type
  • ATU Public 4 Year
  • RSU Public 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • ATU #960
  • RSU
  • Religious Affiliation
  • ATU -
  • RSU -
  • Status
  • ATU Non-profit
  • RSU Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • ATU
  • RSU
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • ATU $8,674
  • RSU $7,750
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • ATU $14,668
  • RSU $16,410
  • Room & Board
  • ATU $10,338
  • RSU $9,882
  • Average Net Price
  • ATU $12,626
  • RSU $15,314
  • Average Grant Aid
  • ATU $9,901
  • RSU $7,040
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • ATU 93%
  • RSU 65%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • ATU 3,654
  • RSU -
  • Admitted
  • ATU 3,504
  • RSU -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • ATU 95.9%
  • RSU
  • Enrolled
  • ATU 33.6%
  • RSU
  • Typical SAT score
  • ATU 990
  • RSU
  • Typical ACT score
  • ATU 20
  • RSU
  • Average High School GPA
  • ATU 3.37
  • RSU 3.4
  • Typical High School Grades
  • ATU B+
  • RSU B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • ATU Extremely Easy
  • RSU Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • ATU
  • RSU
  • ACT Range
  • ATU 17/23
  • RSU
  • SAT Range
  • ATU 880/1100
  • RSU
  • Submit Test Scores
  • ATU Required
  • RSU Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • ATU
  • RSU
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • ATU 17:1
  • RSU 18:1
  • Popular Majors
  • ATU
    • Health Professions (23%)
    • Education (12%)
    • Business (12%)
    • General Studies (10%)
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (5%)
  • RSU
    • Business (30%)
    • Health Professions (17%)
    • Education (9%)
    • Biology (8%)
    • Engineering Technology (6%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • ATU 43%
  • RSU 23%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • ATU $37,100
  • RSU $37,300
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • ATU 51%
  • RSU 46%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • ATU $17,750
  • RSU $16,150
  • Median Loan Payment
  • ATU $183
  • RSU $166
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • ATU 42%
  • RSU 39%
  • % Women
  • ATU 58%
  • RSU 61%
  • Racial Diversity
  • ATU Low
  • RSU High
  • HBCU
  • ATU No
  • RSU No
  • % White
  • ATU 76%
  • RSU 58%
  • % Asian
  • ATU 1%
  • RSU 1%
  • % Black
  • ATU 10%
  • RSU 3%
  • % Hispanic
  • ATU 6%
  • RSU 5%
  • % Native American
  • ATU 1%
  • RSU 11%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • ATU 0%
  • RSU 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • ATU 3%
  • RSU 19%
  • % International
  • ATU 4%
  • RSU 2%
  • % Unknown Race
  • ATU 0%
  • RSU 0%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • ATU 94%
  • RSU 89%
  • % Out-of-State
  • ATU 5%
  • RSU 3%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • ATU Yes
  • RSU Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • ATU No
  • RSU No
  • Meal Plan
  • ATU Yes
  • RSU Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • ATU Yes
  • RSU No
  • Daycare Facility
  • ATU No
  • RSU No

Comparable Facts

Compare Arkansas Tech University in Russellville, AR with Rogers State University in Claremore, OK on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Arkansas Tech University is larger than RSU based on total student enrollment (8,746 students vs. 3,272 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Arkansas Tech University is located in Russellville, AR (Remote Town setting); Rogers State University is in Claremore, OK (Distant Town setting).
  • Arkansas Tech University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. Rogers State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Arkansas Tech University 17:1; Rogers State University 18:1.

ATU vs. RSU Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, ATU or RSU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Arkansas Tech University than RSU ($12,626 vs. $15,314).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Rogers State University are 4.4% lower than at Arkansas Tech University ($9,882 vs. $10,338).
  • Arkansas Tech University is 11.9% more expensive for in-state tuition than RSU (about $924 more per year; $8,674.00 vs. $7,750.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 11.9% higher at RSU than at Arkansas Tech University (about $1,742 more per year; $16,410.00 vs. $14,668.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Arkansas Tech University than at Rogers State University (93% vs. 65%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Arkansas Tech University students is 40.6% larger than aid received by Rogers State University students ($9,901 vs. $7,040).

ATU vs. RSU Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, ATU or RSU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between RSU and ATU.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Arkansas Tech University 880/1100.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Arkansas Tech University 17/23.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: ATU - Required; RSU - Not reported.
  • Accepted freshman RSU students have a 0.03 point higher average high school GPA (3.4) than students at ATU (3.37).

ATU vs. RSU Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for ATU and RSU? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Arkansas Tech University's six-year graduation rate (43%) is higher than Rogers State University's (23%).
  • Graduates from Rogers State University earn a median of about $200 more per year than ATU graduates about ten years after starting college ($37,300 vs. $37,100), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Rogers State University graduates have a $1,600 lower median loan debt than ATU graduates ($16,150 vs. $17,750).
  • Among borrowers, RSU graduates have an estimated $17 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than ATU graduates ($166 vs. $183).
  • More ATU graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former RSU students, three years after graduation. (51% vs. 46%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.