Arkansas Baptist College vs. SCU

Deciding between Arkansas Baptist College and Southwestern Christian University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Arkansas Baptist College Little Rock, AR
  • SCU Bethany, OK
  • Setting
  • Arkansas Baptist College Midsize City
  • SCU Large Suburban
  • Total enrollment
  • Arkansas Baptist College 342
  • SCU 399
  • Type
  • Arkansas Baptist College Private 4 Year
  • SCU Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Arkansas Baptist College
  • SCU
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Arkansas Baptist College Baptist
  • SCU Pentecostal Holiness Church
  • Status
  • Arkansas Baptist College Non-profit
  • SCU Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Arkansas Baptist College
  • SCU
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Arkansas Baptist College $8,760
  • SCU $21,900
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Arkansas Baptist College $8,760
  • SCU $21,900
  • Room & Board
  • Arkansas Baptist College $8,826
  • SCU $10,100
  • Average Net Price
  • Arkansas Baptist College $10,627
  • SCU $20,528
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Arkansas Baptist College $12,433
  • SCU $12,784
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Arkansas Baptist College 96%
  • SCU 100%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Arkansas Baptist College -
  • SCU -
  • Admitted
  • Arkansas Baptist College -
  • SCU -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Arkansas Baptist College Open
  • SCU
  • Enrolled
  • Arkansas Baptist College Open
  • SCU
  • Typical SAT score
  • Arkansas Baptist College
  • SCU
  • Typical ACT score
  • Arkansas Baptist College
  • SCU
  • Average High School GPA
  • Arkansas Baptist College 2.6
  • SCU 3.22
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Arkansas Baptist College B-
  • SCU B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • Arkansas Baptist College Unavailable
  • SCU Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • Arkansas Baptist College
  • SCU
  • ACT Range
  • Arkansas Baptist College
  • SCU
  • SAT Range
  • Arkansas Baptist College
  • SCU
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Arkansas Baptist College Open admission
  • SCU Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • Arkansas Baptist College
  • SCU
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Arkansas Baptist College 13:1
  • SCU 13:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Arkansas Baptist College
    • Business (29%)
    • Human Services (23%)
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (15%)
    • Philosophy and Religious Studies (13%)
    • General Studies (12%)
  • SCU
    • Human Services (34%)
    • Business (27%)
    • Philosophy and Religious Studies (16%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (10%)
    • Theology and Religious Vvocations (9%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Arkansas Baptist College 4%
  • SCU 28%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Arkansas Baptist College $24,500
  • SCU $27,400
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Arkansas Baptist College 21%
  • SCU 38%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Arkansas Baptist College $42,281
  • SCU $27,000
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Arkansas Baptist College $437
  • SCU $279
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Arkansas Baptist College 78%
  • SCU 61%
  • % Women
  • Arkansas Baptist College 22%
  • SCU 39%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Arkansas Baptist College Extremely Low
  • SCU High
  • HBCU
  • Arkansas Baptist College Yes
  • SCU No
  • % White
  • Arkansas Baptist College 4%
  • SCU 44%
  • % Asian
  • Arkansas Baptist College 0%
  • SCU 1%
  • % Black
  • Arkansas Baptist College 95%
  • SCU 25%
  • % Hispanic
  • Arkansas Baptist College 1%
  • SCU 8%
  • % Native American
  • Arkansas Baptist College 0%
  • SCU 4%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Arkansas Baptist College 0%
  • SCU 1%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Arkansas Baptist College 0%
  • SCU 3%
  • % International
  • Arkansas Baptist College 1%
  • SCU 10%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Arkansas Baptist College 0%
  • SCU 4%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Arkansas Baptist College 57%
  • SCU 72%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Arkansas Baptist College 43%
  • SCU 15%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Arkansas Baptist College Yes
  • SCU Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Arkansas Baptist College No
  • SCU No
  • Meal Plan
  • Arkansas Baptist College Yes
  • SCU Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Arkansas Baptist College No
  • SCU Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • Arkansas Baptist College No
  • SCU No

Comparable Facts

Compare Arkansas Baptist College in Little Rock, AR with Southwestern Christian University in Bethany, OK on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Southwestern Christian University is larger than Arkansas Baptist College based on total student enrollment (399 students vs. 342 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Arkansas Baptist College is located in Little Rock, AR (Midsize City setting); Southwestern Christian University is in Bethany, OK (Large Suburban setting).
  • Arkansas Baptist College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Southwestern Christian University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Arkansas Baptist College 13:1; Southwestern Christian University 13:1.

Arkansas Baptist College vs. SCU Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Arkansas Baptist College or SCU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Arkansas Baptist College than SCU ($10,627 vs. $20,528).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Arkansas Baptist College are 12.6% lower than at Southwestern Christian University ($8,826 vs. $10,100).
  • Southwestern Christian University is 150% more expensive for in-state tuition than Arkansas Baptist College (about $13,140 more per year; $21,900.00 vs. $8,760.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 150% higher at SCU than at Arkansas Baptist College (about $13,140 more per year; $21,900.00 vs. $8,760.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Southwestern Christian University than at Arkansas Baptist College (100% vs. 96%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Southwestern Christian University students is 2.8% larger than aid received by Arkansas Baptist College students ($12,784 vs. $12,433).

Arkansas Baptist College vs. SCU Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Arkansas Baptist College or SCU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between SCU and Arkansas Baptist College.

  • Arkansas Baptist College reports an open admissions policy.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Arkansas Baptist College - Open admission; SCU - Not reported.
  • Accepted freshman SCU students have a 0.62 point higher average high school GPA (3.22) than students at Arkansas Baptist College (2.6).

Arkansas Baptist College vs. SCU Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Arkansas Baptist College and SCU? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Southwestern Christian University's six-year graduation rate (28%) is higher than Arkansas Baptist College's (4%).
  • Graduates from Southwestern Christian University earn a median of about $2,900 more per year than Arkansas Baptist College graduates about ten years after starting college ($27,400 vs. $24,500), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Southwestern Christian University graduates have a $15,281 lower median loan debt than Arkansas Baptist College graduates ($27,000 vs. $42,281).
  • Among borrowers, SCU graduates have an estimated $158 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Arkansas Baptist College graduates ($279 vs. $437).
  • More SCU graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Arkansas Baptist College students, three years after graduation. (38% vs. 21%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.