AJU vs. Juilliard

Deciding between American Jewish University and The Juilliard School? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

The Juilliard School

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • AJU Los Angeles, CA
  • Juilliard New York, NY
  • Setting
  • AJU Large City
  • Juilliard Large City
  • Total enrollment
  • AJU 424
  • Juilliard 1,073
  • Type
  • AJU Private 4 Year
  • Juilliard Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • AJU
  • Juilliard
  • Religious Affiliation
  • AJU Jewish
  • Juilliard -
  • Status
  • AJU Non-profit
  • Juilliard Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • AJU
  • Juilliard
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • AJU $31,394
  • Juilliard $57,950
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • AJU $31,394
  • Juilliard $57,950
  • Room & Board
  • AJU $14,864
  • Juilliard $22,410
  • Average Net Price
  • AJU -
  • Juilliard $45,099
  • Average Grant Aid
  • AJU $0
  • Juilliard $38,793
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • AJU 0%
  • Juilliard 96%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • AJU -
  • Juilliard 2,065
  • Admitted
  • AJU -
  • Juilliard 189
  • Acceptance Rate
  • AJU
  • Juilliard 9.2%
  • Enrolled
  • AJU
  • Juilliard 63.5%
  • Typical SAT score
  • AJU
  • Juilliard
  • Typical ACT score
  • AJU
  • Juilliard
  • Average High School GPA
  • AJU -
  • Juilliard -
  • Typical High School Grades
  • AJU -
  • Juilliard -
  • Admissions Standards
  • AJU Unavailable
  • Juilliard Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • AJU
  • Juilliard Extreme
  • ACT Range
  • AJU
  • Juilliard
  • SAT Range
  • AJU
  • Juilliard
  • Submit Test Scores
  • AJU Not reported
  • Juilliard Test-free
  • Application Deadline
  • AJU
  • Juilliard Dec 1, 2026
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • AJU 10:1
  • Juilliard 4:1
  • Popular Majors
  • AJU
    • Business (27%)
    • Psychology (23%)
    • English and Literature (13%)
    • Philosophy and Religious Studies (13%)
    • Social Sciences (13%)
  • Juilliard
    • Visual and Performing Arts (100%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • AJU 44%
  • Juilliard 93%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • AJU N/A
  • Juilliard $45,200
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • AJU 44%
  • Juilliard 68%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • AJU $18,750
  • Juilliard $27,000
  • Median Loan Payment
  • AJU $193
  • Juilliard $279
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • AJU 27%
  • Juilliard 52%
  • % Women
  • AJU 73%
  • Juilliard 48%
  • Racial Diversity
  • AJU High
  • Juilliard Very High
  • HBCU
  • AJU No
  • Juilliard No
  • % White
  • AJU 19%
  • Juilliard 39%
  • % Asian
  • AJU 1%
  • Juilliard 15%
  • % Black
  • AJU 0%
  • Juilliard 4%
  • % Hispanic
  • AJU 3%
  • Juilliard 7%
  • % Native American
  • AJU 0%
  • Juilliard 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • AJU 0%
  • Juilliard 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • AJU 3%
  • Juilliard 6%
  • % International
  • AJU 4%
  • Juilliard 28%
  • % Unknown Race
  • AJU 70%
  • Juilliard 1%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • AJU 83%
  • Juilliard 8%
  • % Out-of-State
  • AJU 17%
  • Juilliard 58%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • AJU Yes
  • Juilliard Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • AJU No
  • Juilliard No
  • Meal Plan
  • AJU Yes
  • Juilliard Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • AJU No
  • Juilliard No
  • Daycare Facility
  • AJU No
  • Juilliard No

Comparable Facts

Compare American Jewish University in Los Angeles, CA with The Juilliard School in New York, NY on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

The Juilliard School is larger than AJU based on total student enrollment (1,073 students vs. 424 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • American Jewish University is located in Los Angeles, CA (Large City setting); The Juilliard School is in New York, NY (Large City setting).
  • American Jewish University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. The Juilliard School is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: American Jewish University 10:1; The Juilliard School 4:1.

AJU vs. Juilliard Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, AJU or Juilliard? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at American Jewish University are 33.7% lower than at The Juilliard School ($14,864 vs. $22,410).
  • The Juilliard School is 84.6% more expensive for in-state tuition than AJU (about $26,556 more per year; $57,950.00 vs. $31,394.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 84.6% higher at Juilliard than at American Jewish University (about $26,556 more per year; $57,950.00 vs. $31,394.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at The Juilliard School than at American Jewish University (96% vs. 0%).

AJU vs. Juilliard Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, AJU or Juilliard? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Juilliard and AJU.

  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: AJU - Not reported; Juilliard - Test-free.
  • Typical fall application deadline: Juilliard Dec 1, 2026.

AJU vs. Juilliard Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for AJU and Juilliard? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • The Juilliard School's six-year graduation rate (93%) is higher than American Jewish University's (44%).
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, American Jewish University graduates have a $8,250 lower median loan debt than Juilliard graduates ($18,750 vs. $27,000).
  • Among borrowers, AJU graduates have an estimated $86 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Juilliard graduates ($193 vs. $279).
  • More Juilliard graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former AJU students, three years after graduation. (68% vs. 44%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.