AJU vs. Menlo

Deciding between American Jewish University and Menlo College? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • AJU Los Angeles, CA
  • Menlo Atherton, CA
  • Setting
  • AJU Large City
  • Menlo Large Suburban
  • Total enrollment
  • AJU 424
  • Menlo 810
  • Type
  • AJU Private 4 Year
  • Menlo Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • AJU
  • Menlo
  • Religious Affiliation
  • AJU Jewish
  • Menlo -
  • Status
  • AJU Non-profit
  • Menlo Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • AJU
  • Menlo
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • AJU $31,394
  • Menlo $53,630
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • AJU $31,394
  • Menlo $53,630
  • Room & Board
  • AJU $14,864
  • Menlo $18,236
  • Average Net Price
  • AJU -
  • Menlo $32,563
  • Average Grant Aid
  • AJU $0
  • Menlo $39,174
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • AJU 0%
  • Menlo 100%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • AJU -
  • Menlo 4,637
  • Admitted
  • AJU -
  • Menlo 3,175
  • Acceptance Rate
  • AJU
  • Menlo 68.5%
  • Enrolled
  • AJU
  • Menlo 5.3%
  • Typical SAT score
  • AJU
  • Menlo
  • Typical ACT score
  • AJU
  • Menlo
  • Average High School GPA
  • AJU -
  • Menlo 3.3
  • Typical High School Grades
  • AJU -
  • Menlo B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • AJU Unavailable
  • Menlo Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • AJU
  • Menlo Low
  • ACT Range
  • AJU
  • Menlo
  • SAT Range
  • AJU
  • Menlo
  • Submit Test Scores
  • AJU Not reported
  • Menlo Test-free
  • Application Deadline
  • AJU
  • Menlo Apr 1, 2027
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • AJU 10:1
  • Menlo 14:1
  • Popular Majors
  • AJU
    • Business (27%)
    • Psychology (23%)
    • English and Literature (13%)
    • Philosophy and Religious Studies (13%)
    • Social Sciences (13%)
  • Menlo
    • Business (67%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (18%)
    • Communication (15%)
    • Psychology (1%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • AJU 44%
  • Menlo 34%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • AJU N/A
  • Menlo $53,900
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • AJU 44%
  • Menlo 55%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • AJU $18,750
  • Menlo $21,062
  • Median Loan Payment
  • AJU $193
  • Menlo $217
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • AJU 27%
  • Menlo 57%
  • % Women
  • AJU 73%
  • Menlo 43%
  • Racial Diversity
  • AJU High
  • Menlo Very High
  • HBCU
  • AJU No
  • Menlo No
  • % White
  • AJU 19%
  • Menlo 29%
  • % Asian
  • AJU 1%
  • Menlo 10%
  • % Black
  • AJU 0%
  • Menlo 6%
  • % Hispanic
  • AJU 3%
  • Menlo 22%
  • % Native American
  • AJU 0%
  • Menlo 1%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • AJU 0%
  • Menlo 2%
  • % Two or More Races
  • AJU 3%
  • Menlo 8%
  • % International
  • AJU 4%
  • Menlo 14%
  • % Unknown Race
  • AJU 70%
  • Menlo 9%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • AJU 83%
  • Menlo 68%
  • % Out-of-State
  • AJU 17%
  • Menlo 16%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • AJU Yes
  • Menlo Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • AJU No
  • Menlo No
  • Meal Plan
  • AJU Yes
  • Menlo Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • AJU No
  • Menlo Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • AJU No
  • Menlo No

Comparable Facts

Compare American Jewish University in Los Angeles, CA with Menlo College in Atherton, CA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Menlo College is larger than AJU based on total student enrollment (810 students vs. 424 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • American Jewish University is located in Los Angeles, CA (Large City setting); Menlo College is in Atherton, CA (Large Suburban setting).
  • American Jewish University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Menlo College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: American Jewish University 10:1; Menlo College 14:1.

AJU vs. Menlo Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, AJU or Menlo? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at American Jewish University are 18.5% lower than at Menlo College ($14,864 vs. $18,236).
  • Menlo College is 70.8% more expensive for in-state tuition than AJU (about $22,236 more per year; $53,630.00 vs. $31,394.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 70.8% higher at Menlo than at American Jewish University (about $22,236 more per year; $53,630.00 vs. $31,394.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Menlo College than at American Jewish University (100% vs. 0%).

AJU vs. Menlo Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, AJU or Menlo? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Menlo and AJU.

  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: AJU - Not reported; Menlo - Test-free.
  • Typical fall application deadline: Menlo Apr 1, 2027.

AJU vs. Menlo Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for AJU and Menlo? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • American Jewish University's six-year graduation rate (44%) is higher than Menlo College's (34%).
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, American Jewish University graduates have a $2,312 lower median loan debt than Menlo graduates ($18,750 vs. $21,062).
  • Among borrowers, AJU graduates have an estimated $24 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Menlo graduates ($193 vs. $217).
  • More Menlo graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former AJU students, three years after graduation. (55% vs. 44%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.