Amberton University vs. UIW

Deciding between Amberton University and University of the Incarnate Word? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

University of the Incarnate Word

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Amberton University Garland, Texas
  • UIW San Antonio, TX
  • Setting
  • Amberton University Large Suburban
  • UIW Large City
  • Total enrollment
  • Amberton University 892
  • UIW 7,047
  • Type
  • Amberton University Private 4 Year
  • UIW Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Amberton University
  • UIW #776
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Amberton University Undenominational
  • UIW Roman Catholic
  • Status
  • Amberton University Non-profit
  • UIW Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Amberton University
  • UIW
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Amberton University $0
  • UIW $37,090
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Amberton University $0
  • UIW $37,090
  • Room & Board
  • Amberton University $0
  • UIW $14,296
  • Average Net Price
  • Amberton University -
  • UIW $23,363
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Amberton University $0
  • UIW $25,354
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Amberton University 0%
  • UIW 100%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Amberton University -
  • UIW 11,316
  • Admitted
  • Amberton University -
  • UIW 11,105
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Amberton University
  • UIW 98.1%
  • Enrolled
  • Amberton University
  • UIW 9.1%
  • Typical SAT score
  • Amberton University
  • UIW 1020
  • Typical ACT score
  • Amberton University
  • UIW 20
  • Average High School GPA
  • Amberton University -
  • UIW 3.5
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Amberton University -
  • UIW A-
  • Admissions Standards
  • Amberton University Unavailable
  • UIW Very Easy
  • Applicant Competition
  • Amberton University
  • UIW
  • ACT Range
  • Amberton University
  • UIW 17/24
  • SAT Range
  • Amberton University
  • UIW 900/1140
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Amberton University Not reported
  • UIW Test-free
  • Application Deadline
  • Amberton University
  • UIW
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Amberton University 12:1
  • UIW 12:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Amberton University
  • UIW
    • Business (43%)
    • Health Professions (9%)
    • Biology (8%)
    • Education (7%)
    • Visual and Performing Arts (6%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Amberton University -
  • UIW 43%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Amberton University N/A
  • UIW $49,600
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Amberton University -
  • UIW 48%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Amberton University N/A
  • UIW $27,179
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Amberton University N/A
  • UIW $281
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Amberton University 29%
  • UIW 38%
  • % Women
  • Amberton University 71%
  • UIW 62%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Amberton University -
  • UIW Medium
  • HBCU
  • Amberton University No
  • UIW No
  • % White
  • Amberton University 0%
  • UIW 19%
  • % Asian
  • Amberton University 0%
  • UIW 2%
  • % Black
  • Amberton University 0%
  • UIW 7%
  • % Hispanic
  • Amberton University 0%
  • UIW 59%
  • % Native American
  • Amberton University 0%
  • UIW 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Amberton University 0%
  • UIW 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Amberton University 0%
  • UIW 1%
  • % International
  • Amberton University 0%
  • UIW 5%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Amberton University 0%
  • UIW 6%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Amberton University -
  • UIW 97%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Amberton University -
  • UIW 3%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Amberton University No
  • UIW Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Amberton University
  • UIW No
  • Meal Plan
  • Amberton University No
  • UIW Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Amberton University No
  • UIW Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • Amberton University
  • UIW No

Comparable Facts

Compare Amberton University in Garland, Texas with University of the Incarnate Word in San Antonio, TX on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

University of the Incarnate Word is larger than Amberton University based on total student enrollment (7,047 students vs. 892 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Amberton University is located in Garland, Texas (Large Suburban setting); University of the Incarnate Word is in San Antonio, TX (Large City setting).
  • Amberton University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. University of the Incarnate Word is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Amberton University 12:1; University of the Incarnate Word 12:1.

Amberton University vs. UIW Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Amberton University or UIW? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • In-state tuition differs between University of the Incarnate Word and Amberton University ($37,090.00 vs. $0.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition differs between UIW and Amberton University ($37,090.00 vs. $0.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at University of the Incarnate Word than at Amberton University (100% vs. 0%).

Amberton University vs. UIW Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Amberton University or UIW? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between UIW and Amberton University.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsUniversity of the Incarnate Word 900/1140.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsUniversity of the Incarnate Word 17/24.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Amberton University - Not reported; UIW - Test-free.

Amberton University vs. UIW Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Amberton University and UIW? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.