Allen College vs. Central College
Deciding between Allen College and Central College? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Allen College
Central College
-
Overview
- Allen College
- Central College
- Location
-
Allen College Waterloo, IA
-
Central College Pella, IA
-
-
- Setting
-
Allen College Rural Fringe
-
Central College Distant Town
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Allen College 483
-
Central College 1,084
-
-
- Type
-
Allen College Private 4 Year
-
Central College Private 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
Allen College
-
Central College #506
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
Allen College -
-
Central College Reformed Church in America
-
-
- Status
-
Allen College Non-profit
-
Central College Non-profit
-
-
- Website
-
Allen College allencollege.edu
-
Central College central.edu
-
-
- Team Colors
-
Allen College
-
Central College
-
-
-
Cost
- Allen College
- Central College
- Tuition (In State)
-
Allen College $19,516
-
Central College $20,988
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
Allen College $19,516
-
Central College $20,988
-
-
- Room & Board
-
Allen College $8,800
-
Central College $12,060
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
Allen College -
-
Central College $23,848
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
Allen College $0
-
Central College $13,925
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
Allen College 0%
-
Central College 100%
-
-
-
Admissions
- Allen College
- Central College
- Applied
-
Allen College -
-
Central College 1,706
-
-
- Admitted
-
Allen College -
-
Central College 1,470
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
Allen College
-
Central College 86.2%
-
-
- Enrolled
-
Allen College
-
Central College 21%
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Allen College
-
Central College 1090
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Allen College
-
Central College 23
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
Allen College -
-
Central College 3.52
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
Allen College -
-
Central College A-
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
Allen College Unavailable
-
Central College Easy
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
Allen College
-
Central College
-
-
- ACT Range
-
Allen College
-
Central College 20/26
-
-
- SAT Range
-
Allen College
-
Central College 1056/1120
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
Allen College Not reported
-
Central College Test optional
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
Allen College Feb 1, 2027
-
Central College
-
-
-
Academics
- Allen College
- Central College
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
Allen College 8:1
-
Central College 11:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
Allen College
- Health Professions (100%)
-
Central College
- Business (17%)
- Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (13%)
- Social Sciences (12%)
- Biology (8%)
- Foreign Languages (7%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Allen College
- Central College
- Graduation Rate
-
Allen College 50%
-
Central College 63%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
Allen College $49,100
-
Central College $48,000
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
Allen College 84%
-
Central College 78%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
Allen College $16,750
-
Central College $27,000
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
Allen College $173
-
Central College $279
-
-
-
Diversity
- Allen College
- Central College
- % Men
-
Allen College 11%
-
Central College 55%
-
-
- % Women
-
Allen College 89%
-
Central College 45%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
Allen College Extremely Low
-
Central College Very Low
-
-
- HBCU
-
Allen College No
-
Central College No
-
-
- % White
-
Allen College 87%
-
Central College 87%
-
-
- % Asian
-
Allen College 1%
-
Central College 1%
-
-
- % Black
-
Allen College 2%
-
Central College 2%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
Allen College 0%
-
Central College 4%
-
-
- % Native American
-
Allen College 0%
-
Central College 0%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
Allen College 0%
-
Central College 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
Allen College 1%
-
Central College 1%
-
-
- % International
-
Allen College 0%
-
Central College 0%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
Allen College 8%
-
Central College 3%
-
-
-
Students
- Allen College
- Central College
- % In-State
-
Allen College 100%
-
Central College 75%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
Allen College 0%
-
Central College 25%
-
-
-
Campus
- Allen College
- Central College
- Campus Housing
-
Allen College Yes
-
Central College Yes
-
-
- Freshman Dorm Required
-
Allen College No
-
Central College No
-
-
- Meal Plan
-
Allen College No
-
Central College Yes
-
-
- Weekend/Evening Classes
-
Allen College Yes
-
Central College No
-
-
- Daycare Facility
-
Allen College No
-
Central College No
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Allen College in Waterloo, IA with Central College in Pella, IA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Central College is larger than Allen College based on total student enrollment (1,084 students vs. 483 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Allen College is located in Waterloo, IA (Rural Fringe setting); Central College is in Pella, IA (Distant Town setting).
- Allen College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Central College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Allen College 8:1; Central College 11:1.
Allen College vs. Central College Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, Allen College or Central College? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Allen College are 27% lower than at Central College ($8,800 vs. $12,060).
- Central College is 7.5% more expensive for in-state tuition than Allen College (about $1,472 more per year; $20,988.00 vs. $19,516.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 7.5% higher at Central College than at Allen College (about $1,472 more per year; $20,988.00 vs. $19,516.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Central College than at Allen College (100% vs. 0%).
Allen College vs. Central College Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, Allen College or Central College? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Central College and Allen College.
- Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsCentral College 1056/1120.
- Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsCentral College 20/26.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Allen College - Not reported; Central College - Test optional.
- Typical fall application deadline: Allen College Feb 1, 2027.
Allen College vs. Central College Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for Allen College and Central College? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Central College's six-year graduation rate (63%) is higher than Allen College's (50%).
- Graduates from Allen College earn a median of about $1,100 more per year than Central College graduates about ten years after starting college ($49,100 vs. $48,000), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Allen College graduates have a $10,250 lower median loan debt than Central College graduates ($16,750 vs. $27,000).
- Among borrowers, Allen College graduates have an estimated $106 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Central College graduates ($173 vs. $279).
- More Allen College graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Central College students, three years after graduation. (84% vs. 78%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.