Albany State University vs. The University of Tennessee Southern
Deciding between Albany State University and The University of Tennessee Southern? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Albany State University
The University of Tennessee Southern
-
Overview
- Albany State University
- The University of Tennessee Southern
- Location
-
Albany State University Albany, GA
-
The University of Tennessee Southern Pulaski, TN
-
-
- Setting
-
Albany State University Small City
-
The University of Tennessee Southern Distant Town
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Albany State University 6,768
-
The University of Tennessee Southern 1,046
-
-
- Type
-
Albany State University Public 4 Year
-
The University of Tennessee Southern Private 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
Albany State University #1028
-
The University of Tennessee Southern #907
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
Albany State University -
-
The University of Tennessee Southern United Methodist
-
-
- Status
-
Albany State University Non-profit
-
The University of Tennessee Southern Non-profit
-
-
- Website
-
Albany State University asurams.edu
-
The University of Tennessee Southern utsouthern.edu
-
-
- Team Colors
-
Albany State University
-
The University of Tennessee Southern
-
-
-
Cost
- Albany State University
- The University of Tennessee Southern
- Tuition (In State)
-
Albany State University $5,656
-
The University of Tennessee Southern $10,924
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
Albany State University $17,008
-
The University of Tennessee Southern $10,924
-
-
- Room & Board
-
Albany State University $11,899
-
The University of Tennessee Southern $8,300
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
Albany State University $11,484
-
The University of Tennessee Southern $14,546
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
Albany State University $8,503
-
The University of Tennessee Southern $10,358
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
Albany State University 90%
-
The University of Tennessee Southern 99%
-
-
-
Admissions
- Albany State University
- The University of Tennessee Southern
- Applied
-
Albany State University -
-
The University of Tennessee Southern 760
-
-
- Admitted
-
Albany State University -
-
The University of Tennessee Southern 659
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
Albany State University
-
The University of Tennessee Southern 86.7% Open
-
-
- Enrolled
-
Albany State University
-
The University of Tennessee Southern 26.1% Open
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Albany State University 820
-
The University of Tennessee Southern 1010
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Albany State University 16
-
The University of Tennessee Southern 21
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
Albany State University 2.77
-
The University of Tennessee Southern 3.17
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
Albany State University B-
-
The University of Tennessee Southern B+
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
Albany State University Extremely Easy
-
The University of Tennessee Southern Very Easy
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
Albany State University
-
The University of Tennessee Southern
-
-
- ACT Range
-
Albany State University 15/18
-
The University of Tennessee Southern 18/24
-
-
- SAT Range
-
Albany State University 740/900
-
The University of Tennessee Southern 905/1110
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
Albany State University Not reported
-
The University of Tennessee Southern Open admission
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
Albany State University
-
The University of Tennessee Southern Aug 26, 2027
-
-
-
Academics
- Albany State University
- The University of Tennessee Southern
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
Albany State University 21:1
-
The University of Tennessee Southern 14:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
Albany State University
- Education (26%)
- Business (23%)
- Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (10%)
- Biology (7%)
- Psychology (7%)
-
The University of Tennessee Southern
- Business (18%)
- Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (13%)
- Education (10%)
- Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (9%)
- Liberal Arts and Humanities (8%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Albany State University
- The University of Tennessee Southern
- Graduation Rate
-
Albany State University 41%
-
The University of Tennessee Southern 49%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
Albany State University $34,800
-
The University of Tennessee Southern $34,900
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
Albany State University 19%
-
The University of Tennessee Southern 43%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
Albany State University $33,250
-
The University of Tennessee Southern $22,315
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
Albany State University $343
-
The University of Tennessee Southern $230
-
-
-
Diversity
- Albany State University
- The University of Tennessee Southern
- % Men
-
Albany State University 26%
-
The University of Tennessee Southern 39%
-
-
- % Women
-
Albany State University 74%
-
The University of Tennessee Southern 61%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
Albany State University Extremely Low
-
The University of Tennessee Southern Low
-
-
- HBCU
-
Albany State University Yes
-
The University of Tennessee Southern No
-
-
- % White
-
Albany State University 4%
-
The University of Tennessee Southern 73%
-
-
- % Asian
-
Albany State University 0%
-
The University of Tennessee Southern 0%
-
-
- % Black
-
Albany State University 90%
-
The University of Tennessee Southern 11%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
Albany State University 2%
-
The University of Tennessee Southern 2%
-
-
- % Native American
-
Albany State University 0%
-
The University of Tennessee Southern 0%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
Albany State University 0%
-
The University of Tennessee Southern 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
Albany State University 1%
-
The University of Tennessee Southern 0%
-
-
- % International
-
Albany State University 0%
-
The University of Tennessee Southern 5%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
Albany State University 2%
-
The University of Tennessee Southern 7%
-
-
-
Students
- Albany State University
- The University of Tennessee Southern
- % In-State
-
Albany State University 87%
-
The University of Tennessee Southern 80%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
Albany State University 13%
-
The University of Tennessee Southern 12%
-
-
-
Campus
- Albany State University
- The University of Tennessee Southern
- Campus Housing
-
Albany State University Yes
-
The University of Tennessee Southern Yes
-
-
- Freshman Dorm Required
-
Albany State University No
-
The University of Tennessee Southern No
-
-
- Meal Plan
-
Albany State University Yes
-
The University of Tennessee Southern Yes
-
-
- Weekend/Evening Classes
-
Albany State University Yes
-
The University of Tennessee Southern Yes
-
-
- Daycare Facility
-
Albany State University No
-
The University of Tennessee Southern No
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Albany State University in Albany, GA with The University of Tennessee Southern in Pulaski, TN on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Albany State University is larger than The University of Tennessee Southern based on total student enrollment (6,768 students vs. 1,046 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Albany State University is located in Albany, GA (Small City setting); The University of Tennessee Southern is in Pulaski, TN (Distant Town setting).
- Albany State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. The University of Tennessee Southern is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Albany State University 21:1; The University of Tennessee Southern 14:1.
Albany State University vs. The University of Tennessee Southern Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, Albany State University or The University of Tennessee Southern? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Albany State University than The University of Tennessee Southern ($11,484 vs. $14,546).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at The University of Tennessee Southern are 30.2% lower than at Albany State University ($8,300 vs. $11,899).
- The University of Tennessee Southern is 93.1% more expensive for in-state tuition than Albany State University (about $5,268 more per year; $10,924.00 vs. $5,656.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 55.7% higher at Albany State University than at The University of Tennessee Southern (about $6,084 more per year; $17,008.00 vs. $10,924.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at The University of Tennessee Southern than at Albany State University (99% vs. 90%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by The University of Tennessee Southern students is 21.8% larger than aid received by Albany State University students ($10,358 vs. $8,503).
Albany State University vs. The University of Tennessee Southern Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, Albany State University or The University of Tennessee Southern? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between The University of Tennessee Southern and Albany State University.
- The University of Tennessee Southern reports an open admissions policy.
- The typical SAT score (median estimate) at The University of Tennessee Southern (1010) is 190 points higher than at Albany State University (820).
- Incoming The University of Tennessee Southern students have a 5 point higher typical ACT composite (median estimate) (21 vs. 16 at Albany State University).
- Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Albany State University 740/900; The University of Tennessee Southern 905/1110.
- Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Albany State University 15/18; The University of Tennessee Southern 18/24.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Albany State University - Not reported; The University of Tennessee Southern - Open admission.
- Typical fall application deadline: The University of Tennessee Southern Aug 26, 2027.
- Accepted freshman The University of Tennessee Southern students have a 0.4 point higher average high school GPA (3.17) than students at Albany State University (2.77).
Albany State University vs. The University of Tennessee Southern Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for Albany State University and The University of Tennessee Southern? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- The University of Tennessee Southern's six-year graduation rate (49%) is higher than Albany State University's (41%).
- Graduates from The University of Tennessee Southern earn a median of about $100 more per year than Albany State University graduates about ten years after starting college ($34,900 vs. $34,800), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, The University of Tennessee Southern graduates have a $10,935 lower median loan debt than Albany State University graduates ($22,315 vs. $33,250).
- Among borrowers, The University of Tennessee Southern graduates have an estimated $113 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Albany State University graduates ($230 vs. $343).
- More The University of Tennessee Southern graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Albany State University students, three years after graduation. (43% vs. 19%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.