Adrian College vs. Lake Superior State University

Deciding between Adrian College and Lake Superior State University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Adrian College
Lake Superior State University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Adrian College Adrian, MI
  • Lake Superior State University Sault Ste Marie, MI
  • Setting
  • Adrian College Distant Town
  • Lake Superior State University Remote Town
  • Total enrollment
  • Adrian College 1,765
  • Lake Superior State University 1,567
  • Type
  • Adrian College Private 4 Year
  • Lake Superior State University Public 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Adrian College #800
  • Lake Superior State University #1031
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Adrian College United Methodist
  • Lake Superior State University -
  • Status
  • Adrian College Non-profit
  • Lake Superior State University Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Adrian College
  • Lake Superior State University
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Adrian College $41,684
  • Lake Superior State University $14,890
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Adrian College $41,684
  • Lake Superior State University $14,890
  • Room & Board
  • Adrian College $20,260
  • Lake Superior State University $11,459
  • Average Net Price
  • Adrian College $25,922
  • Lake Superior State University $12,339
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Adrian College $29,966
  • Lake Superior State University $14,632
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Adrian College 99%
  • Lake Superior State University 91%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Adrian College 2,486
  • Lake Superior State University -
  • Admitted
  • Adrian College 1,803
  • Lake Superior State University -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Adrian College 72.5%
  • Lake Superior State University
  • Enrolled
  • Adrian College 26.3%
  • Lake Superior State University
  • Typical SAT score
  • Adrian College 1010
  • Lake Superior State University 1110
  • Typical ACT score
  • Adrian College 24
  • Lake Superior State University 22
  • Average High School GPA
  • Adrian College 3.2
  • Lake Superior State University 3.2
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Adrian College B+
  • Lake Superior State University B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • Adrian College Easy
  • Lake Superior State University Moderate
  • Applicant Competition
  • Adrian College Low
  • Lake Superior State University
  • ACT Range
  • Adrian College 21/27
  • Lake Superior State University 19/26
  • SAT Range
  • Adrian College 873/1140
  • Lake Superior State University 1000/1225
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Adrian College Test optional
  • Lake Superior State University Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • Adrian College Aug 1, 2027
  • Lake Superior State University
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Adrian College 16:1
  • Lake Superior State University 13:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Adrian College
    • Business (21%)
    • Visual and Performing Arts (12%)
    • Education (8%)
    • Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (8%)
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (7%)
  • Lake Superior State University
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (21%)
    • Health Professions (18%)
    • Business (14%)
    • Education (8%)
    • Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (5%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Adrian College 49%
  • Lake Superior State University 35%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Adrian College $39,900
  • Lake Superior State University $40,300
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Adrian College 63%
  • Lake Superior State University 57%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Adrian College $27,000
  • Lake Superior State University $23,250
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Adrian College $279
  • Lake Superior State University $240
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Adrian College 56%
  • Lake Superior State University 45%
  • % Women
  • Adrian College 44%
  • Lake Superior State University 55%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Adrian College Low
  • Lake Superior State University Low
  • HBCU
  • Adrian College No
  • Lake Superior State University No
  • % White
  • Adrian College 72%
  • Lake Superior State University 80%
  • % Asian
  • Adrian College 0%
  • Lake Superior State University 1%
  • % Black
  • Adrian College 9%
  • Lake Superior State University 1%
  • % Hispanic
  • Adrian College 5%
  • Lake Superior State University 2%
  • % Native American
  • Adrian College 0%
  • Lake Superior State University 8%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Adrian College 0%
  • Lake Superior State University 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Adrian College 4%
  • Lake Superior State University 0%
  • % International
  • Adrian College 0%
  • Lake Superior State University 7%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Adrian College 9%
  • Lake Superior State University 1%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Adrian College 71%
  • Lake Superior State University 87%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Adrian College 24%
  • Lake Superior State University 4%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Adrian College Yes
  • Lake Superior State University Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Adrian College No
  • Lake Superior State University No
  • Meal Plan
  • Adrian College Yes
  • Lake Superior State University Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Adrian College No
  • Lake Superior State University No
  • Daycare Facility
  • Adrian College No
  • Lake Superior State University Yes
  • Learn More
  • Adrian College Details
  • Lake Superior State University Details

Comparable Facts

Compare Adrian College in Adrian, MI with Lake Superior State University in Sault Ste Marie, MI on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Adrian College is larger than Lake Superior State University based on total student enrollment (1,765 students vs. 1,567 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Adrian College is located in Adrian, MI (Distant Town setting); Lake Superior State University is in Sault Ste Marie, MI (Remote Town setting).
  • Adrian College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Lake Superior State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Adrian College 16:1; Lake Superior State University 13:1.

Adrian College vs. Lake Superior State University Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Adrian College or Lake Superior State University? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Lake Superior State University than Adrian College ($12,339 vs. $25,922).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Lake Superior State University are 43.4% lower than at Adrian College ($11,459 vs. $20,260).
  • Adrian College is 179.9% more expensive for in-state tuition than Lake Superior State University (about $26,794 more per year; $41,684.00 vs. $14,890.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 179.9% higher at Adrian College than at Lake Superior State University (about $26,794 more per year; $41,684.00 vs. $14,890.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Adrian College than at Lake Superior State University (99% vs. 91%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Adrian College students is 104.8% larger than aid received by Lake Superior State University students ($29,966 vs. $14,632).

Adrian College vs. Lake Superior State University Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Adrian College or Lake Superior State University? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Lake Superior State University and Adrian College.

  • The typical SAT score (median estimate) at Lake Superior State University (1110) is 100 points higher than at Adrian College (1010).
  • Incoming Adrian College students have a 2 point higher typical ACT composite (median estimate) (24 vs. 22 at Lake Superior State University).
  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Adrian College 873/1140; Lake Superior State University 1000/1225.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Adrian College 21/27; Lake Superior State University 19/26.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Adrian College - Test optional; Lake Superior State University - Not reported.
  • Typical fall application deadline: Adrian College Aug 1, 2027.
  • Accepted freshman Adrian College students have the same average high school GPA (3.2) as students at Lake Superior State University (3.2).

Adrian College vs. Lake Superior State University Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Adrian College and Lake Superior State University? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Adrian College's six-year graduation rate (49%) is higher than Lake Superior State University's (35%).
  • Graduates from Lake Superior State University earn a median of about $400 more per year than Adrian College graduates about ten years after starting college ($40,300 vs. $39,900), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Lake Superior State University graduates have a $3,750 lower median loan debt than Adrian College graduates ($23,250 vs. $27,000).
  • Among borrowers, Lake Superior State University graduates have an estimated $39 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Adrian College graduates ($240 vs. $279).
  • More Adrian College graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Lake Superior State University students, three years after graduation. (63% vs. 57%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.